We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Roman G

Very nice

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Dec 2022via mobile
great apartments, great location, helpful and friendly staff and a very nice owner. there is everything for a comfortable stay! Close to the sea, there are many cafes nearby. Great beach and ocean. The balcony offers a wonderful view. Living creatures do not bother. Safety is fine too. You can order delicious pizza at the hotel at a nice price =)
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Nor Lanka Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £81
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £21
  • Booking.com
0.2 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £71
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £78
  • Algotels
0.6 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Elephant Pool at the Flower Garden Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £47
  • Booking.com
0.2 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £42
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £162
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £24
  • Booking.com
0.6 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £166
  • Booking.com
1.3 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £70
  • Booking.com
0.7 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Unawatuna
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveller rating
466
143
14
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
466
143
14
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 631 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2022

The Hotel is in the hard of Unavatuna 150 meters from the beach big balconies house keeping every day (fresh towels) the boys deserve a big bravo for the cleanliness
TV full of English Chanel’s every night the pizzeria serve amazing pizza Wi Fi stellar. Generator for power so you never stay in the dark like some other hotelsThe reservation was so helpful he arrange the do the PCR in the hotel with cheep price and he arrange the transfer to the airport with a normal price
We are definitely com back
Petros from Greece

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Petros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2021 via mobile

We visited Gloria Grand Hotel with a bunch of friends which was located right next to the beautiful Unawatuna Beach and this was our weekend getaway! Despite the lack of foreign tourists due to the pandemic, the hotel was functioning as usual with local tourists and the service was excellent. Even though we had a refreshing sea bath, we wanted to enjoy some relaxing time at the pool with friends and Manoj, the manager arranged it for us on our quick request! Right after we came out of the pool we were served with some mouth watering pizzas and I must say those were some of the best I’ve had in Galle! We needed more of course as we were so hungry after long walks across the gorgeous sandy beach in Unawatuna. So we requested chefs special but didn’t want a heavy meal. To our surprise the seafood pasta served with two options, tomato purée or creamy sauce, was on point! While we were enjoying our light, early dinner, we had many requests like, music, tv, photos, etc. and Manoj attend to all our requests with a smile! All in all, we had a great time in Unawatuna and I would highly recommend Gloria Grand Hotel to anyone looking for a refreshing weekend getaway!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank deepesh1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2020 via mobile

We were happy to visit the Gloria Grand hotel. We left with unforgettable impressions, and I want to return. Thank you to the staff for their responsiveness, sincerity, understanding, and effort to make the rest better, and fulfill our wishes. In the kitchen, in the restaurant, everything is fine, the atmosphere is cozy, the food is very tasty, and every day Nalinde helped us with our small requests, making our stay comfortable and memorable. The view from the Windows is just amazing: monkeys, wurumuqi, peacocks and many other beautiful birds of Sri Lanka! The room was cleaned every day. Thank you very much! I recommend the guest to stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Naglazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2020 via mobile

Room,food and service was fantastic. Very friendly staff. Breakfast buffet is really awesome. Mix of English and Sri Lankan meals. Closer to Unawatuna beach and Jungle beach. We will visit again. Thank you.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank upekap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2020

in the city center, it is convenient
we were in the suite....
no paper toilet, you have to ask to the room service.
the tub jacuzzi does not work, it is blocked and there is no hot water.
the laundry service is not good, the clothes are yet dirty and come back in the same bag.
For the breakfast: you should pay charge for having a small bottle of mineral water in order to take medicine..... and no replenishment.
several tiny spiders in the room and lizard dead for several days under the bed...
Do not book the suite and better: avoid such hotel

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank olivier57100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gloria G, Front Office Manager at Gloria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2020

Dear Olivier,

Thank you for sharing your observations. We apologize for not being able to meet and execute the level of service that defines Gloria Grand hotel.

We assure you that this is an anomaly as we pride ourselves in providing flawless sense of service to each and every guest from the check in to check out.

We check all rooms thoroughly before check in to make sure everything is in order and leave even an extra toilet paper roll as usual, but if you need more of course you need to ask and we are always happy to provide them needless to say.

Also the Jacuzzi was working properly and only had slight water flowing from the mixer tap which was replaced immediately.

The laundry we checked and we could not find it was dirty just in front of you but offered discount considering your request, also you have not mentioned about the flexibility of considering your all requests and arranged rational discount for your dinner for not having breakfast merely as a gesture of goodwill

finally you had never informed us about any spiders or dead lizard in your room which we would have removed immediately and never found during room cleaning process, anyway you can find spiders/lizards in this tropical county at anytime at anywhere but we make sure to do necessary pest controlling process every month in order to avoid them to come in.

Our service and our team has set us apart from all other hotels. We have achieved high ranking based on our warm welcome and impeccable good byes, so reading about your review was very surprising

We consider your feedback is an experience that we have learned from and it will help us get better. Having said that, do hope you give us another chance as this is simply not who we are.

With kind regards
Manoj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews