We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Villa in a Village with So Much Character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Secret Garden Villa
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2010

The villa is a beautiful property located in a cute village with a very ancient history. It's the little details about this place that really attracted me. The colorful decor, the fresh flowers all around the property, the unique design. The place gave me a very comfortable and homey feeling.There is also a really cool meditation dome which is perfect for yoga. The villa is a hop from the beach which is alive and breath taking. There are several restaurants on the beach so you can enjoy a fresh meal after swimming. There is also a temple on the beach as well that is worth a visit. Secret Garden rests at the foot of the Rumassala mountain, which according to ancient Indian mythology is a small fragment of the Himalayan mountains. If you are traveling to Sri Lanka you have to visit Galle and Unwatuna bay and stay at Secret Garden.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheelav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Secret Garden Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2010

We stayed at the hotel at the end of last year and I would think carefully if you are going to stay there. The suite we stayed in was dark, damp and depressing. However the grounds an old style villa is beautiful. Shame about the service. The mangeress used to argue openly about with her staff and then the staff would complain to us about us. It was like being in a sitcom. It really got us down in the end. The mangeress is extremely tempermental so be warned! And she doesnt even have a crad machine to pay with. No a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frogface_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

The Secret Garden is a little paradise. There are some things to point out though. If you dont stay in one of the suites and just take the double room as we did, the bathroom is just a little down the hall and is half outside so showering in the evening is hard with all the mossies! Also the rooms are very hot and even with the fan if its a particularly hot night it can be a bit much! Saying that though, despite it being mossie central, this is due to it being so green and lush with a beautiful massive garden... we even saw monkeys swinging down one morning. They also have a beautiful pavillion where you can do yoga and have massages. The staff are the friendliest and loveliest we met in Sri Lanka - especially the nightwatchman Mr Singhe, a diamond! We felt so relaxed hre, like it was staying in a friend's house and thats exactly what we were looking for. Also as there are only 3 rooms (and 2 bungalows) its never crowded. We met 3 other lovely couples when we were there and the staff arranged a big dinner (they dont normally provide evening meals) one night for a fee and we all sat round the huge table and ate the best meal we had in Sri Lanka. Amazing. The breakfasts are great too - best scrambled eggs ever! So I would say, dont expect luxury, air con etc but if you want beautiful location, gorgeous old furniture and a peaceful time then you sould dtay here - JUST BEWARE THE MOSSIES!!!

Stayed: August 2008
Thank charlisays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We stayed in the Secret Garden for about 9 nights in total at the beginning and end of our holiday and really enjoyed our stay! We booked a double room which wasn't great value as it didn't have an ensuit bathroom. So we changed rooms into one of the 'suites' which was very nice.

Our room had two big double four-poster beds, an open air living room and very big open-air shower room. It was expensive for Unawatuna but the staff were very friendly, the rooms had some antique furniture and the garden lovely. The only real down side was that the rooms were dark and there were mosquitoes everywhere.

Would definitely recommend it for couples wanting a quiet break!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ms_kanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

It was a brief visit to Secret Garden - 10min. I booked it after reading about it on the net. The website didn't have photos of the rooms/ toilets, therefore I requested the owner to send me some. This was not possible since she was aboad.

The lady who took down my booking never called to confirm my visit, nor did they inquire as to why I did not check in!

We arrived In Unawatuna past 7pm. Secret Garden is located in the bustling street - Walle Devale Road (which means - road to the temple on the beach).

We entered through a dimly lit entrance just to find a security guard at the desk. There was no one else to check in with and no dining facilities. (However, there are many a place to dine just outside it's gates).

The cottage which I had booked looked dark and gloomy. It had a musty smell. There was no airconditioner - which was a minus point, as it was a humid day.

The toilet looked presentable, but a little dirty, as it had fallen leaves from the open to sky concept.

We were not too pleased to stay since there was minimum security, since we would HAVE TO sleep with the windows open, becuase it was too hot otherwise.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1LifeStand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reneclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
909 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
820 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Villa

Address: Beach Access Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £43 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Secret Garden Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is an oasis within the lively coastal village of Unawatuna, just 20m walking distance from the beach. It boasts a 19th century Dutch-Sri Lankan Colonial Villa with bungalows and suites and a 4000sqm tropical garden. In the middle of the garden rests a large dome, offering 2 daily yoga classes, an on call Ayurvedic therapist for massage and wellness therapy as well as free space for dance, meditation and music. Our staff is courteous and warm. A large tropical breakfast is available daily at all times, and our two chefs are lovingly prepared to cook a great eastern or western meal for you on pre-order. Secret Garden provides relaxation and serenity alongside the opportunity to dive into the blue ocean of one of the country's most popular bays, experience the myth of the Rumassala Mountain and dance away at Unawatuna's many beach bars. May all be Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Secret Garden Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Villa Hotel Unawatuna
Secret Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing