We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply the best !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Unakanda

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
343Kay
Lismore, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply the best ! ”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We recently had the most memorable stay here with our son and daughter in law. The house was great and relaxing after a hectic day of sightseeing, noise and traffic. We would come back and cool off in the pool and be greeted by the wonderful staff who became our friends in such a short time. The food was amazing . Thanks guys for making our holiday so special. We really enjoyed our stay with you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2018
Thank you Kay! Team Unakanda are happy and proud to know you guys enjoyed your stay so much :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing ”
Reviewed 20 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Our time here was truly not long enough. The location away from the hustle and bustle was serene and relaxing but still close enough if that's your thing. The view from the pool, the beautiful main bathroom, the gardens, but most of all the amazing and friendly staff that just make you feel so welcome.
Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2018
Hi Barbie & Shawn, thanks for the lovely words. So glad you guys enjoyed your stay after all our communication :) Welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonLich...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Sometimes words are not enough.......”
Reviewed 8 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

I had exceptionally high expectations of Unakanda having read many of the previous reviews. I was somewhat worried however that a stay of 17 days have been a little long but I was so, so wrong.

I have travelled extensively over many years and tend in the depths of the English winter to opt for a tropical destination so to escape the grey winter. Sri Lanka is a wonderful destination with a diverse landscape, ancient historical sites, beautiful beaches and superb food.

However as I’ve gotten a little older and as the stress and strains of work seem to ever increase I was looking for something that offered total relaxation and after a holiday last year marred by screaming kids, solitude.

It transpired that Unakanda delivered on and exceeded all my requirements and expectations!

The house is beautiful, secluded and being on a hillside affords good views over Unawatuna. The house is light, bright and airy with two good size air conditioned bedrooms. Both bathrooms are great but the semi-outside one is very special.

Outside the terrace offers ample shade from the hot sun but also areas of full sun so you regulate your sun bathing to suit. The pool is larger in reality than it looks in the photos and sitting in there especially under the stars is a real luxury.

You are looked after like royalty and the cooking is excellent. During our stay Chi catered for our every whim conjuring up dishes from both Sri Lankan and Western cuisine. He also performed many errands for us such as fetching beer, laundry as well as organising tuk tuks and booking massages. Nothing was too much trouble.

There really is no need to leave the villa for anything but not to do so would mean missing out on exploring the area including sampling one the many local restaurants.

Unakanda is owned by Shar and Tim and from initial communication through booking and the eventual stay their help, advise and support has been exemplary and although they are not on site ( or even in the country) you have the reassurance of their help and support should you need it.

To appreciate everything that Unakanda has to offer you really have to experience it for yourself. It’s very unlike me to visit the same place twice after all the world has so much to offer. However before my stay was even over I had booked again for next such was my love.

Unakanda is difficult to sum up. It has a magic that gets to you. Sometimes words are not enough......

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2018
Simon, we are delighted and humbled by your wonderful review. Thank you so much for taking so much time over it. Look forward to welcoming you back in a year.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisade
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“You won't find a bad review on Unakanda because it is perfect!”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We read the amazing reviews and Unakanda lived up to all our expectations & was a highlight of our travels in Sri Lanka! Stop reading now and book!
You're set away for the busy beach area, yet not too far to walk to beach or shops. It is so peaceful, private and relaxing. Enjoy your own pool and the outstanding Sri Lankan food cooked for you.Great coffee @ Kat's at the bottom of the hill too.
The service from Manoj & Chi is genuine and heartfelt. Nothing is ever too much trouble.
However long you stay, you'll wish it was longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2018
Cheers Addy! Glad you guys enjoyed yourself and thanks for the photos and help in the garden :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmercanti
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most amazing place ever ”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Unakanda was a dream come true. It is perfect in every way- spacious, modern, clean yet cozy and comfortable. We couldn't imagine staying anywhere in Sri Lanka and almost wish we could have extended our stay. Not only are you perched up on a hill with the MOST incredible views, you have an infinity pool to boot. Chirath and manoj also made our trip 5 stars always answering our questions, arranging us Tuk tuks and best of all creating the most delicious dinner we had in all of Sri Lanka. We are still dreaming of the pumpkin curry! We cannot wait to return. Do yourself a favour and stay here

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thanks so much Marisa! We are flattered you guys chose us for your honeymoon and hope you have a fabulous time in Marrakech :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErangaHad...
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This was an incredible experience. Manoj was very professional and courteous. Contacted me before we arrived to ensure everything is okay and to check what we needed for dinner etc. Greeted us with cold decorated King Coconut when we arrived. Cooked us amazing meals during our stay (so much better than what you get in restaurants in Unawatuna).

The place itself was incredibly well designed. The decor was just right and very well thought through. Amazing view from the swimming pool. Most of all, the atmosphere of the place was so relaxing and felt like you are at home in your private space.

Special thanks to Sujeewa for helping Manoj with everything.

And Morrie! the calmest dog in the world!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Fabulous! We love it when our guests love the things that are most important to us. I think you touched on every one of them Eranga. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan F
Suva, Fiji
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time Out”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Unakanda is a great house, well set up for the climate and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms have an indoor outdoor tropical feel, the bedrooms are cool and comfortable retreats. The kitchen is well set up, and the sitting area is comfortable with books and games which we just didn't have time to enjoy, as the pool with its wonderful view and comfortable bean bags distracted us!
Booking was easy - Tim and Shar were easy to contact and responsive to queries and requests, and they have a great on site team. We felt extremely well looked after, from the house which was beautifully clean for our whole stay, to the very good rice and curry meal waiting for us when we arrived after a long day of travelling, to our choice of breakfast - one day a Sri Lankan breakfast and another, a Sri Lankan omelette breakfast with very good coffee.
We would highly recommend Unakanda as a great place for relaxing and for visiting the beaches of Unawatuna and the history of Galle Fort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good food, lovely bathrooms and the pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thanks so much Jan. The pleasure was ours! All the best from Team Unakanda :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing