We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nor Lanka… Without question the best place ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #4 of 140 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Nor Lanka… Without question the best place ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

I don’t even know where to begin, but let it be said that Nor Lanka will probably give you the best possible settings for your vacation in Sri Lanka.
I travelled nearly 50 countries and have visited many guesthouses and hotel etc., but nothing comes close the atmosphere at Nor Lanka… I would highly recommend it to all.

We pre-booked Nor Lanka primarily because of the many excellent reviews here at Tripadvisor and must say that it exceeds all of our expectations. - It’s rare to find a hotel/guesthouse in Tripadvisor that has a score like Nor Lanka, and I know now the reason for that!

The family-held and very homely hotel is situated just a short walk from the Unawatuna Beach and the hotel and the surrounding garden is a peaceful oasis ideal for vacations with children. My girlfriend and I travelled with our 20-month-old daughter, who loved every single minute of our stay. However, whether travelling as a couple, single or with children, I find this place perfect.

Anoma and Helge (the owners) are amazing and we had a lot of fun with both them and the rest of the staff. They are all very welcoming and caring and will do their best to make you stay as memorable as possible. Anoma, Helge and the tuk-tuk driver Lal knows a lot about the area and will give you valuable input if needed.
The food is fantastic (the curries are exceptionel), the service indescribable, the rooms very clean and from our balcony we could enjoy the playful monkeys in the trees surrounding the hotel… All in all Nor Lanka gives you great value for money!

Thanks, Anoma, Helge and the rest of your guys… you are fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
160
33
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Myself and a group (15) of fellow fire fighters from Canada invaded the Nor Lanka for a month in Feb/Mar. All I can say is we stayed at probably the best place in Unawatuna. If I had one bad thing to say it would be that the food was so good it stopped me from trying any of the other resaurants in the area :) The owners will make you feel like family. I just hope our next project brings us back to Sri Lanka so we can reunite. Thanks Helge, Anoma Coach & Noah, you are great people!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DVS_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stayed at the Nor Lanka on the recommendation of a friend who said, "I can't say enough good about this place!" Turns out, he was exactly right. We stayed for a week and can't wait to go back. The accomodations, the food, the location, the people, the staff, everything was GREAT! We have 2 young girls, ages 9 and 6, and this was an ideal holiday. The Nor Lanka is a very peaceful and relaxed place and yet there was much fun to be had. The open dining area creates a cozy community atmosphere and the food is simply to die for! They have a variery of dishes (Sri Lankan and western) on the menu and can accomodate anybody...my picky eater had toast and french fries just about every meal. The milkshakes are great too. The hotel is situated behind a wall and the grounds are inviting making it ideal for the kids to play. The beach is about a 2 minute walk and there are plenty of fun excursions to take that are within a 30 minute tuk-tuk drive. We will definitely go back to the Nor Lanka a would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skwilson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed at Nor Lanka hotel in Unawatuna from 26 march - 2 april.

The hotel is owned and managed by a norwegian, Helge and his Sri Lankan wife Naoma. Both are working in the hotel and Naomas brother Lal is a Tuk tuk driver that servs Norlanka hotel guests. The food is also very good

The hotel is quite small but has nice and clean rooms, nice staff and a familial feeling.

They do not have a pool but the beach is only 100-150 m away and on the beach it is a lot of nice restaurants.

Personally I definetly prefer this hotel over the bigger neighbour Unawatuna beach resort - but I guess it is a matter of opinion.

If you go to Unawatuna/Norlanka hotel then you should also visit Djungle beach for snorkeling, Vijaya beach for safe swimming (it is a reef in front of the beach and on the inside there is very calm)

We really liked to sit at the hotel in the evening having a drink or some food and talking to the owners and Lal.
Lal is also a good guide who knows a lot about the area. He showed us the fort and the museum in Galle where they still make jewlery by hand and also the temple where gigant bats are living nearby.

We only spent a week in Unawatuna but I sure hope that we come back soon and explore more of all the things Unawatuna has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joakim_Edenborgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Having spent a year volunteering in Sri Lanka, and having stayed at many places around Sri Lanka, I chose to spend my last week in my all time favourite place - Nor Lanka.
The staff are wonderful, so friendly and they create a very welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The food is brilliant - the curries are full of flavour and so tasty. The location is perfect - close enough to be just a 2 min walk to the beach, but far enough back to be away from the noise of the clubs/restaurants at night. And the rooms are immaculate in cleanliness and very very comfortable, with very powerful/hot showers.
Thanks to Helge and his family for several wonderful stays - I'll definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Date: 6 April 2011
We stayed two nights in this great little hotel and wished it had been longer. The family-friendly atmosphere was just right, including a place to leave our sandy flip flops outside in the garden and a couple of curious monkeys climbing about on trees nearby. The breakfast was simple, but hearty and good, which always makes a difference in the day. We also ordered one lunch there and it was very good. My husband had the traditional Sri Lankan fish curry and was very happy with it--which is not easy to accomplish because he's from a family of Indian food critics.
No TV in the room. I expected our teenager to balk, but a day at the beach and visiting with other guests was enough for her, so no problem.
The room and bathroom were simple but very clean.
The staff were friendly and gracious.
The only surprise was the lack of credit card facility at check-out. Luckily we had enough Sri Lankan rupees to cover it, but I'm sure we could have changed money nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelhiLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

I had a great time here. The owners were very kind and understanding. The fresh food was delicious and the restaurant is very clean. I slept very well here and it was nice having a room away from the crowded Unawatuna beach to come back to.
I unfortunately had to leave early due to an illness in my family. The owners were very accommodating and helpful regarding this. The power in the area went out and the owners made sure there was power so i could use the internet to arrange my way home.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem great. I preferred a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chasgo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 140 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#3 of 140 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Property: Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Address: Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing