We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #6 of 150 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Didn't get a room as the place was fully booked, but came for lunch and a brake from the beach. Tasty food, refreshing beer, reasonable prices and very friendly hosts!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heimland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

The hotel is very nice and is just 50 meters from the beach. It is a bit hidden away, which means that it is a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. The staff at the hotel are fantastic and the breakfast is so good that you are longing for it already when you go to bed. I recommend this warm, it fits everything from groups of friends to the newlyweds.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylidberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I really enjoyed this hotel. Run by a norwegian and a Sri lankan lady. The rooms were really bright, with lots of natural light which was what i liked most about this hotel, because in most of the hotels i stayed in in sri lanka, the rooms were quite dark. it was really clean and felt very spacious. The hotel it's self wasn't very large, so it had a persable feel about it, and you felt you were able to chat to other guest. It's about 3 minutes walk to the beach which was nice. Alot of thought had also gone into the design of the room, and the little details were taken care of.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thisisLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

If you ever go to Unawatuna, do stay in Norlanka!! We originally booked to stay there 5 nights but extended our stay for our entire holiday in Sri Lanka. We will definitely stay there again .... hopefully very soon!

All the staff are extremely friendly and pleasant. Anoma and Helge have done an excellent job in creating this hidden gem and were extremely helpful at all times. Marcela who served us breakfast every morning always had a lovely smile on her face and Lal the tuc-tuc driver was a pleasure to chat to and took us un some great tours in his super tuc-tuc (definitely the best in town)..... all the other staff were extremely friendly too (always smiling!).

Location is great, just moments from the beach. The rooms are really nice and spatious with their own balcony from which you can watch monkeys swing from trees. I must also say the place is super well kept, and very clean. Food is also yummy!!! I am craving their rice and curry as I write this!

All in all a great family run business, where you feel at home and never want to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoxton-beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Our return trip to the Nor Lanka and every bit as good as the first time. Anoma and Helge are the perfect hosts. The children love the gardens and the proximity to the beach and we loved the peace and tranquility. We took friends with us this time who were equally impressed. Having tried many of the restaurants in Unawatuna the food in Nor Lanka is consistently the best - especially the prawn curry. Can't wait for out next trip!

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
Thank Rodge68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I don’t even know where to begin, but let it be said that Nor Lanka will probably give you the best possible settings for your vacation in Sri Lanka.
I travelled nearly 50 countries and have visited many guesthouses and hotel etc., but nothing comes close the atmosphere at Nor Lanka… I would highly recommend it to all.

We pre-booked Nor Lanka primarily because of the many excellent reviews here at Tripadvisor and must say that it exceeds all of our expectations. - It’s rare to find a hotel/guesthouse in Tripadvisor that has a score like Nor Lanka, and I know now the reason for that!

The family-held and very homely hotel is situated just a short walk from the Unawatuna Beach and the hotel and the surrounding garden is a peaceful oasis ideal for vacations with children. My girlfriend and I travelled with our 20-month-old daughter, who loved every single minute of our stay. However, whether travelling as a couple, single or with children, I find this place perfect.

Anoma and Helge (the owners) are amazing and we had a lot of fun with both them and the rest of the staff. They are all very welcoming and caring and will do their best to make you stay as memorable as possible. Anoma, Helge and the tuk-tuk driver Lal knows a lot about the area and will give you valuable input if needed.
The food is fantastic (the curries are exceptionel), the service indescribable, the rooms very clean and from our balcony we could enjoy the playful monkeys in the trees surrounding the hotel… All in all Nor Lanka gives you great value for money!

Thanks, Anoma, Helge and the rest of your guys… you are fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Myself and a group (15) of fellow fire fighters from Canada invaded the Nor Lanka for a month in Feb/Mar. All I can say is we stayed at probably the best place in Unawatuna. If I had one bad thing to say it would be that the food was so good it stopped me from trying any of the other resaurants in the area :) The owners will make you feel like family. I just hope our next project brings us back to Sri Lanka so we can reunite. Thanks Helge, Anoma Coach & Noah, you are great people!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVS_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
823 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £39 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing