We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable clean oasis close to the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #5 of 140 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean oasis close to the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in late June 2011. Off peak season in Unawatuna and for 2 nights we were the only guests. The staff were all delightful with wide and genuine smiles, the room was clean, the beds comfortable and the air con a life saver. Despite there being many restaurants in the village we ate dinner at the hotel each night because the meals were so good. In fact we asked the chef for a recipe to take back home to Australia. Every day the doorman/security collects fresh flowers and they are floated in little bowls in every room and placed on every table in the dining area. There are mosquito nets over every bed but we didn't use ours because there were very few mozzies, despite being humid and a little rainy. One of the hotel staff [Lal] took us on a ride in his tuk tuk to a beautiful temple and a tea plantation; he drove with the utmost care and was helpful and engaging. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have access to an open air lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineSMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
160
33
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Didn't get a room as the place was fully booked, but came for lunch and a brake from the beach. Tasty food, refreshing beer, reasonable prices and very friendly hosts!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heimland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

The hotel is very nice and is just 50 meters from the beach. It is a bit hidden away, which means that it is a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. The staff at the hotel are fantastic and the breakfast is so good that you are longing for it already when you go to bed. I recommend this warm, it fits everything from groups of friends to the newlyweds.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mylidberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

I really enjoyed this hotel. Run by a norwegian and a Sri lankan lady. The rooms were really bright, with lots of natural light which was what i liked most about this hotel, because in most of the hotels i stayed in in sri lanka, the rooms were quite dark. it was really clean and felt very spacious. The hotel it's self wasn't very large, so it had a persable feel about it, and you felt you were able to chat to other guest. It's about 3 minutes walk to the beach which was nice. Alot of thought had also gone into the design of the room, and the little details were taken care of.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thisisLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

If you ever go to Unawatuna, do stay in Norlanka!! We originally booked to stay there 5 nights but extended our stay for our entire holiday in Sri Lanka. We will definitely stay there again .... hopefully very soon!

All the staff are extremely friendly and pleasant. Anoma and Helge have done an excellent job in creating this hidden gem and were extremely helpful at all times. Marcela who served us breakfast every morning always had a lovely smile on her face and Lal the tuc-tuc driver was a pleasure to chat to and took us un some great tours in his super tuc-tuc (definitely the best in town)..... all the other staff were extremely friendly too (always smiling!).

Location is great, just moments from the beach. The rooms are really nice and spatious with their own balcony from which you can watch monkeys swing from trees. I must also say the place is super well kept, and very clean. Food is also yummy!!! I am craving their rice and curry as I write this!

All in all a great family run business, where you feel at home and never want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoxton-beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Our return trip to the Nor Lanka and every bit as good as the first time. Anoma and Helge are the perfect hosts. The children love the gardens and the proximity to the beach and we loved the peace and tranquility. We took friends with us this time who were equally impressed. Having tried many of the restaurants in Unawatuna the food in Nor Lanka is consistently the best - especially the prawn curry. Can't wait for out next trip!

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rodge68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

I don’t even know where to begin, but let it be said that Nor Lanka will probably give you the best possible settings for your vacation in Sri Lanka.
I travelled nearly 50 countries and have visited many guesthouses and hotel etc., but nothing comes close the atmosphere at Nor Lanka… I would highly recommend it to all.

We pre-booked Nor Lanka primarily because of the many excellent reviews here at Tripadvisor and must say that it exceeds all of our expectations. - It’s rare to find a hotel/guesthouse in Tripadvisor that has a score like Nor Lanka, and I know now the reason for that!

The family-held and very homely hotel is situated just a short walk from the Unawatuna Beach and the hotel and the surrounding garden is a peaceful oasis ideal for vacations with children. My girlfriend and I travelled with our 20-month-old daughter, who loved every single minute of our stay. However, whether travelling as a couple, single or with children, I find this place perfect.

Anoma and Helge (the owners) are amazing and we had a lot of fun with both them and the rest of the staff. They are all very welcoming and caring and will do their best to make you stay as memorable as possible. Anoma, Helge and the tuk-tuk driver Lal knows a lot about the area and will give you valuable input if needed.
The food is fantastic (the curries are exceptionel), the service indescribable, the rooms very clean and from our balcony we could enjoy the playful monkeys in the trees surrounding the hotel… All in all Nor Lanka gives you great value for money!

Thanks, Anoma, Helge and the rest of your guys… you are fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 140 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#3 of 140 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Property: Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Address: Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing