We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #5 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Westminster, B.C.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Two groups of us stayed there for 2 weeks each last February and March. Helge and Anoma run a spectacular establishment that is a 2 minute walk from the beach. It has its own private courtyard that is immaculately kept with exotic flowers everywhere. Early risers will be treated to a monkey show in the mornings.

The rooms are immaculately kept and the staff will accommodate just about any request. Some of us had standing orders for the seafood catch of the day that would be delivered every afternoon that it was available. All I can say is that when you are offered king prawns just say yes. If I was forced to eat off of their menu for the rest of my life I would be completely fine with that. I wish there was a place like the Norlanka in every place that we travel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPNewWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
162
33
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at Norlanka for the second time this october.We stayed there for one week,2 adults and one baby 1year.The rooms are so clean,the food is great,and the staff is the best in whole of Sri lanka,so what else can a tourist ask for?
I recomend Nor Lanka for everyone who wants to live in a clean,cozy,and laidback place.
Henning
Norway

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hennings1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We were so sorry to leave this place after one night.

The rooms are perfect. Spotlessly clean, not damp or musty in the slightest, fresh white linen and nets. All you need for a stay at the beach comfortably.

The staff were all really helpful and eager to please.. We didn't get to eat in, but we hope to for sure next time. The atmosphere at the beach was too tempting, BBQd fish at Lucky Tuna was divine.

Location is perfect as you are away from the crowds but a 2 minute walk to the beach...

Can't wait till next time. Thanks for looking after us Helge!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nelidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

“Wonderful stay in magnificent location”


My husband and I recently had the good fortune to spend 4 nights at the Nor Lanka as the finale to a relaxing trip to Sri Lanka. From the moment we arrived, we realised this was a special place. The staff were all extremely warm, helpful, gracious and we appreciated the attention to detail everywhere in the hotel. Reading lights in the bedroom were a real plus. I eapecially liked the 4 poster bed and the beautiful white mossie net surrounding it. The Internet was reliable and a comfortable area was provided for its use.
The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. A very short walk to the beach and beach towels were-provided.
Helge, the owner was most helpful and creates a warm and inviting enviornment for travelers to meet and mix.








  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitzila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Norlanka is well situated in Unawatuna, close to the beach, parking available. The rooms are clean and tidy and service is efficient and clinical. Did not eat in here, instead ate at the bar/restaurant west end of the beach, excellent meal, great young chef.

Room Tip: Have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We know Nor Lanka is an excellent place to stay, friendly spotlessy clean, and nothing is any trouble. The food as usual was SUPERB, try asking the chef for King Prawns in garlic. Out of this world. The staff are for ever cleaning and never stop smiling. Fourth time we have visited.
Will be back again next year, so relaxed when we leave.
Phil & Kim

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster bed, overlooks the front garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

For the price that we paid, Nor Lanka blew our expectations away! The place is serene, safe, and absolutely immaculate. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, and the food downstairs was pretty good for the price. It is not beachfront, but it is only a 2 minute walk away. The Unawatuna beach has to be seen to be believed... absolutely beautiful. We loved Nor Lanka, and we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sajtaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 145 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#6 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Property: Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing