We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What more can be said” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #4 of 140 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What more can be said”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We arrived with high expectations due to the rave reviews, can only say that they were met or possibly exceeded. Highlights for us:
1. Best mattress in Sri Lanka
2. Best pillows in Sri Lanka
3. Very attentive and just as importantly, happy, staff
4. Watching the monkeys decamp in the morning from the balcony.
5. Lal and his tuk tuk / mobile disco :-)
Will definitely be returning

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
160
33
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Very high standard of rooms and common areas, excellent service and food, great location... Nicest rooms we stayed in during all our time in Sri Lanka! Thank you so much Helge and Anoma for our lovely (and too short) stay with you. We would definitely come back, and will recommend Nor Lanka to friends!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1or2YoungSwedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
876 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 895 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Really happy we booked earlier enough to stay here. Welcomed on arrival and was shown to a huge, comfortable and interconnecting family room, which was clean and serviced.
It is a bright, open and well designed property in a quiet location just a short stroll from the beach.
The staff were incredibly attentive, well trained, anticipated needs without imposing and most of all great with the children. The choice of Sri Lankan and western breakfast made a pleasant change and the kitchen proudced very tasty lunhes and dinner.

Thankyou for adding to our Sri Lankan experience

Room Tip: Book early during peak periods
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nilintentum_reliquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

A big Thank you to Helge, Anoma & their staff for making our stay such an enjoyable one. A truly relaxing, great atmosphere, nothing was too much trouble. The whole place was very well kept with clean rooms, plenty of hot water, superb food & always a smiley face to greet you. A short walk to the beach, tuk tuks readily available if you wanted to explore further & Helge helped to organise various trips to see the beautiful country. As a party of 6, we were encouraged to treat the place like home & we did. The only very minor niggle was no hanging space for coat hangers (which were supplied). We highly recommend it and will book again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hills000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We picked this hotel after reading TA reviews. Booked via telephone as a last minute selection for 2 nights but ended up staying 7 nights so impressed was we with the place.
The key to this place is the people - the owners and the staff were to a person fantastic at providing quality service. They made our stay so welcoming and we thank them for that. The food was very good, the hotel and rooms spotless - Highly recommended if you are looking for excellent value accomodation in Unawatuna

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms give you the opportunty to view the monkeys battle it out for territorial advantag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FozzyEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Such an amazing stay in NorLanka!! Thanks SO much Anoma and Helge for everything. Hotel is so relaxing and beautiful, amazing food and superb service! Gardens are beautiful and rooms are very comfortable. Will miss Unawatuna and all it had to offer. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maevedunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed here as the reviews were so good, and when you stay, it's obvious why it's so highly rated. Spotless rooms, hot showers, great food, wifi, nice communal spaces, and friendly atmosphere, all very good value for what you get. Close to the beach, but not on it. Nothing bad to say, although be warned the amazing curries are not available at lunchtime, which I was sad about as they were one of the best I had the whole holiday!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yemisi_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 140 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#3 of 140 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Property: Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Address: Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing