We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #5 of 161 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Really nice Guesthouse/Hotel just a few minutes walk from Unawatuna Beach. The owners are quite friendly and the staff are really nice. The food is very good and really good value. The gardens are also beautiful. Its a great place to chill out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Failey36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

This fabulous small hotel is set back just a little from the beach, about a 3 minute walk, and it's truly the best in the area. The rooms are a great size, beds are comfy, it's exceptionally clean and we had two balconies! The owners and staff are fantastic, so friendly and happy to help with any requests. We got the hotels tuk tuk driver to run us to Galle, so much fun, his tuk tuk is the cleanest in town and he pops on the English radio station for his customers to sing along to. I wouldn't stay anywhere else and was honestly sad to leave, thanks Nor Lanka for a wonderful relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed two nights there.

Although we were not really impressed by Unawatuna Bay, overcrowded, this hotel was a peaceful and quiet environment to rest. The owners are nice and smiling, the rooms perfectly clean and comfortable. for those who need it, we had a fridge in the room.

One thing that was missing, the Wi-fi is not accessible from the restaurant. We like being able to access Internet in front of a fresh juice.

One small detail, we were note really convinced by the restaurant, a bit expensive in regards of what we had for dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This guest-house is run by a Norwegian-Singalese couple taking a sincere interest in their guests, and the whole staff was extremely kind and attentive. The rooms are not luxurious but ok. The food in the restaurant is made by a professional cook, and prices are not excessive. The beach is 5 minutes walk away, and Unawatuna is 10-15 minutes walk away. The beaches and Unawatuna are nice, but too touristic for our taste. You could try Jungle Beach which is 10 minutes away by tuk-tuk. Bring your googles to see all the beautifull fish at the corals, and walk home 30 minutes, if you are reasonably fit.

Room Tip: Our room no. 203 was equipped with a full size mosquito net over our bed - it gives you a nice sense...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMSilfverberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in April 2012 and just recently for 3 nights. The Nor Lanka is a great hotel in Sri Lanka. Rooms are clean and spacious with a balcony, fridge and a/c. The bed and pillows are probably the most comfortable I've stayed in so far. They have an excellent spot, set back from the beach so it's nice and quiet but a 30second walk and you're on the beach.
Helge and his wife are very welcoming, always stopping to chat about your day as well as her brother who drives the tuk tuk. Great family feel and a place I think we will keep returning to.
Breakfast is lovely and we also had dinner here this time, curry which was the best of our trip, nice and spicy (not tourist spicy) with lots of variety. Delicious.
Keep up the good work both, we hope to see you again soon :)

Room Tip: We had room 201 upstairs which gave a great view of the monkeys swinging from the trees before break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2travelCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The hotel is well run and the staff and owners are very nice and professional. Also the food was good. The room had very nice beds, but there was an unpleasant mold smell unfortunately (therefore 3 stars and not 4 from me).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PolarbearFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We arrived with high expectations due to the rave reviews, can only say that they were met or possibly exceeded. Highlights for us:
1. Best mattress in Sri Lanka
2. Best pillows in Sri Lanka
3. Very attentive and just as importantly, happy, staff
4. Watching the monkeys decamp in the morning from the balcony.
5. Lal and his tuk tuk / mobile disco :-)
Will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
839 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 34 in Unawatuna
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 34 in Unawatuna
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 34 in Unawatuna
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £51 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing