We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay at Norlanka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #6 of 149 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Made a new visit to Norlanka this weekend and as always very nice. Best place for Devilled Prawns meal in Sri Lanka ! Quiet and good environment short walk to the beach. Before breakfast hike together with Anoma and Helge is the very best start of the day!
Looking forward to come again not before long.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank TorKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed in Norlanka from 29/3-5/4. My wife,my daughter and myself enjoyed the hospitality and friendly atmosphere in Norlanka.The hostes,Helge and Anoma is so friendly and helpful.All the crew is taking care of you all the time.Everyone in the hotel loves children.Good advises,clean rooms,great food,GREAT location!
Norlanka is probably the best value for money in the whole of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hennings1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Nor Lanka is a lovely hotel. We stayed there for ten days in April 2013. The owners are friendly and knowledgeable without being 'in your face'.
The whole hotel is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean.
We had the room with the four poster bed overlooking the trees at the back. As others have said on here, it is a prime viewing spot for the wild monkeys who pass through the trees. It is fascinating watching them and their amusing antics. The room is reasonably spacious with enough storage for your belongings and a pleasant balcony outside. The bathroom is very basic with little storage space but adequate. Having read other reviews about accommodation in Sri Lanka we were grateful to have hot water every day. Additionally, the room was cleaned to a high standard and towels renewed every day.
There is a choice of breakfast: Western or Sri Lankan. Again, it was adequate but a little irritating that cereal was charged as extras should you want some. We had lunch there a couple of times and the food tastes good and is well presented.
Lal, the owner's brother, provides a very good tuc-tuc service at a reasonable price. He is very knowledgeable and we had a great day when he took us to Hikkaduwa and showed us all the interesting places to visit there and en-route.
The hotel is situated away from the beach but is only a very short walk away.
Overall, this a delightful and very peaceful, well-kept hotel. All the staff are friendly and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

Room Tip: Ask for room 203 if you want the four poster bed and a view of the trees with the monkeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tizzyelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed at this guesthouse with my partner Hilary for 16 nights and had a wonderful stay. The owners Anoma and Helge can't do enough for you. The rooms are the cleanest we've ever stayed in, and plenty of towels are provided - even towels for the beach ( no one else does this). All of the food is superb, and breakfast is included in the price. We met all the staff and they are just lovely - always smiling and looking after us. This is indeed a fantastic place to stay. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

After reading all the great reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to book 6 nights at the Nor Lanka. We were expecting a really nice stay but it didn't quite live up to our expectations. The rooms are nice and clean but quite simple and overpriced for what they offer. If you plan to book a room without aircon this hotel is not a good option as the rooms are very hot and have little ventilation. The fan was very loud. In any case, there is the option of getting air conditioning for an extra $11 a night (a little ridiculous given the already high room price). After talking to other people staying in Unawatuna we came to the conclusion that the Nor Lanka is on the expensive side of places to stay. If you're looking for a budget option that offers good value for money this place is not it. The staff are very nice and the breakfast is exceptional. The owners however didn't seem very nice or accommodating during our stay. Maybe this was because we came at the end of what must have been a very busy peak season but nevertheless we were not given the same level of treatment as other reviewers of this hotel. Also, this hotel does not have credit card facilities and there is no ATM in Unawatuna. The hotel has a PayPal account however, but this was not working when we checked out. We did not know this and were not told so we had to catch a tuk tuk to Galle to get money to pay for the hotel. The owners offered to pay "half" of the tuk tuk ride to Galle in order to pay them. Generally, it is much easier to take the bus to Galle as it costs only 20 rupees and runs every 2 mins. In the end we just had the feeling that we paid too much for average rooms and slightly above average service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steffip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at this family run small hotel within its pretty gardens. Giving great value for money the owners made us feel so very welcome. Their staff were also friendly and courteous. Our room was on the ground floor with hot water, A/C and a small patio. Only a short walk to the south end of the beach, however accessing the north end its best done by road (quick tuktuk ride). A favourite of our holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Really nice Guesthouse/Hotel just a few minutes walk from Unawatuna Beach. The owners are quite friendly and the staff are really nice. The food is very good and really good value. The gardens are also beautiful. Its a great place to chill out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Failey36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £38 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing