We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, very clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #5 of 147 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, very clean hotel”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very nice and well-maintained hotel. Beautiful rooms and bathrooms. Nice sitting area. Rooms, restaurant and sitting area are all very clean.
Friendly owner and staff.
Food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) is very tasty!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YR V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
163
33
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My family of four stayed here for 5 days and had a wonderful time. The family owned hotel was supported by a great staff and super cook! Very clean, and a nice location just a 3 minute walk to the beach. Highly recogmend the Nor Lanka Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidjayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My family and I stayed for 3 nights here in mid July this year and was very impressed by the service, friendly staff, clean rooms and relaxed atmosphere. The owners daughter Natasha was looking after things on behalf of her parents and doing a great job keeping things on track. If we were evere back in Sri Lanka we wouldn't hesitate staying here again. It's only a 1-2min walk to the beach as well. Thanks again! They even looked after our son Eli for a few hours whilst we dived. Diving was average though due to time of year.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Spent vacation in Sri Lanka from 26 June to 15 July 2013. We travelled South to North. Nor Lanka is the best :-) I simply love their smiles. I can not ask for more. The food is really good, the hospitality is excellent & it is very clean. I love that! We travelled as backpackers, (though with suitcases because we are over 29) and I must admit, that in times, I needed comfort & Nor Lanka excelled. I highly recommend Nor Lanka. I guarantee that you will have a fantastic stay :-) By the way, the wifi is very good!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EsperanzaN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights begining of april 2013, this was my husbands second visit to the Norlanka & my first ,we have travelled around Sri lanka & stayed in many hotels & this is as good as it gets in a fantastic location just a min from the beach ,were do i start from the moment we arrived Amona , Helge & staff made us feel so very welcome ,we stayed in room 201 with four poster bed with A/C & fan the bed was so comfortable & bed linen so very clean rooms & hotel is extremley clean .Like i say we have visited Sri lanka 12 times & this hotel serves the fineset fresh food we have ever experienced from fresh fish,jumbo prawns ,lobster,sri lankain currys & many other options,for breakfast there is a choice of eggs fresh fruit tea & coffee & as much toast as you wish,which was also a great start to the day,we ate here every evening because the food & relaxed atmosphere was so good ,the food was very well priced for the we had,the gardens are well maintained & very beautifull with lots of wild life,monkeys,& lots of diffrent birds.We wouldnt stay in any other hotel when visiting the galle area .We went on a few trips with Anomas brother in his tuc tuc which is the cleanist on the island he comes to the hotel every day & will take you anywere you need to see which was great,already planning our 13th visit to sri lanka were we will be staying at the Norlanka A MUST,thank you so much to Amona Helge & staff for makeing our holiday a very memerable one also for the beautifull bouqet of flowers for our anniversary that we celebrated with a fantastic jumbo prawn meal.

Room Tip: 201 with the four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DI2PAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

I visited Nor Lanka in March for six nights. I travelled as a single person and I got a good price. I have stayed here five times before and I found it to have the same high standards. Helge and Anoma are a lovely couple who are so helpful. The location is ideal as it is two minutes away from the beach but there is no noise, this can be a problem in other hotels, and the whole ambience is peaceful and serene. The rooms are very comfortable with fridge and AC. Will visit again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Risor, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Made a new visit to Norlanka this weekend and as always very nice. Best place for Devilled Prawns meal in Sri Lanka ! Quiet and good environment short walk to the beach. Before breakfast hike together with Anoma and Helge is the very best start of the day!
Looking forward to come again not before long.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TorKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 147 in Unawatuna
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#6 of 31 in Unawatuna
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Property: Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing