We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last stop before Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #5 of 147 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Risor, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Last stop before Christmas”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

After a good night's sleep, morning hike and a tasteful breakfast, it is time to start peparing for going home to Christmas. Would have loved staying here, but then I would have had to book early! Here it is simply fully booked :). Popular place and very friendly environment.

Room Tip: Book early in the high season, which is december to march. Alll rooms are good. They also have a fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
163
33
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
E. Sussex England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

From the moment we arrived the service was absolutely exceptional.All the hotel staff are so friendly. The room was everything we needed and all very functional. The cuisine was truly exceptional and very good value. The real plus point of this hotel is that it is such a peaceful place to return to after travelling, seeing the sights or even a hard day on the beach. Beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: 205 seemed very good, but all appeared the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessheim, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A wonderful place. Stayed for 10 nights. Anoma and Helge made our stay perfect. A home away from home. I highly recommend it, I will defenately come back. Miss Unawatuna and the people at NorLanka very much.Lovely place and lovely people.

Room Tip: Second floor recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne170367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had a great experience in Unawatuna thanks to Nor Lanka hotel.
Very friendly people, great service, very nice and clean room, and fair price.
The Hotel is not on the beach, but not too far, and on the other hand it is very quite and pastoral.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Nor Lanka is the perfect place if you are looking for a place to stay which is clean, fantastic food, great hospitality and close to the beach. Anoma and Helge always do their absolute best to make their guests feel special! Nice clean room, terrace to relax and a small cosy bar! Try it out!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekke-66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel/guest house in August 2013 and we have been very delighted by the excellent service we got. The place is very clean, personal is caring about everything. The site in well located in a quiet place. We've been lucky to see many animals from the balcony of the room. Like peacock, monkeys, mongoose and a large variety of beautiful birds. Both owners are very nice people, of course the price is a bit more expensive than average Sri Lanka guest house, but this is normal as the service and quality is well above de average. The food was delicious and the price cheap for such as quality. We can warmly recommend this place and we've no doubt if we return on day to Unawatuna we will back to the same place.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good, but we stayed at the top and we paid a little bit more for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumu110462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

It was the last our place to stay in Sri Lanka, we spent 4 nights here. Hotel was perfect to spend our last days. Very nice and spacious, you could choose from several spaces to sit outside. Lovely garden. Sri Lankan owner lady was very friendly as all remaining staff. In general all atmosphere was of relaxation and friedliness. We chatted with them during every breakfast and received quite a lot useful information. Place is extremely quite, you do not here any noise.
They have tuk-tuk which can take you to Galle for 400 rupees. They also organised us trip to Sinharaja for 13000 rupees (all inclusive, different agencies in the village asked 12000-16000 for that).
They can arrange you Ayurveda massage. We tried it in different place in Unawatuna and were a bit dissapointed, don't know how good is lady which they offer.
The view from the room made me to frown at first - a little swamp behind the hotel wall. Later I used to that and even enjoyed observing birds there. One day a group of monkeys came from tree to tree to our hotel. Was fun to oberve them. They gather on the hotel roof but are quite shy, so do not enter the rooms - different than in Kandy :).
The only drawback was distance to the beach. They have some small beach with very rough ocean 200m away but if you want to swim you must go to the main Unawatuna beach - ~1 km walk as there is no direct acces from one beach to another. The shorcut to beach road goes through the neighbour's teritorry, we did not feel very confortable passing it especially when dark. And this path also passes by above mentioned swamp and was flooded during our stay - we had to remove shoes to cross some 15m.
And, yes, they accept cards now.

Room Tip: Take non A/C room only if you are alredy used to Sri Lankan climate :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvydas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 147 in Unawatuna
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#6 of 31 in Unawatuna
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#2 of 147 in Unawatuna
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Property: Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing