We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great great place - suits us perfectly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #5 of 147 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great great place - suits us perfectly”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Nor Lanka is such a perfect guesthouse. As soon as we arrived for our second stay (Early April 2014) we all immediately relaxed. The location is perfect just behind the beach and only a short walk to the beach road. The house is perfect, very well maintained, very very clean and tidy. Love the new lounges which have been built on each level.

Most of all the owners, staff and Lal the tuk tuk driver make the stay so good. They are so friendly and go out of their way to help out - especially with the kids. It feels more like a home than a hotel.

We're already confirmed our return for 2015. See you next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rentonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
163
33
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our group of 4 stayed here for 3 nights, having previously stayed in far cheaper accommodation for the rest of the trip. Well, we all agreed it was well worth the extra money to stay at Nor Lanka. The Norwegian owners welcomed us from the get-go. The staff were all extremely friendly, the hotel is located in a safe compound with a security guard at the gate 24 hours a day, and there is a general feeling of relaxation throughout. The whole place is decorated immaculately, with plenty of attention to detail. The food may be fairly pricey compared to local restaurants nearby, but again it was definitely worth it. Probably the best rice and curry we had on the trip.

Thanks guys, we love Nor Lanka!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonderLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I strongly reccomend this hotel to all Unawatuna visitors. VERY tidy and clean. VERY nice people and personnel: will be happy to help you. Tasty meals (though not so wide assortment as in other restaurants on the seaside). Hotel is located apart from beach road so there is no noise. Short way to the beach (hotel holders Helge and his wife Anoma will kindly show it to you) takes 7 minutes.

Hotel can organize transfer from\to airport and roundtrips (cheaper than in tour kiosks in Unawatuna).

Nice cozy place where we want to come back.

Special attention should be paid to hotel tuk tuk drivers (Anoma's brothers) - very nice and merry men, reasonable prices, interesting to talk to them. Ask them to show you Unawatuna surroundings - they will take you to the tea factory, spice garden, Koggala lake and turtle farm. Also they can drive you to good souvenir shops. Take their mobile numbers and they will pick you up from wherever you need, for example Wijaya beach (10 minutes by tuk tuk) or Jungle beach (15 minutes by tuc tuc) or Galle city (15 minutes by tuc tuc).

Room Tip: All rooms are located well - choose any =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antarctica
Level Contributor
225 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for 7 nights in a ground floor air-con room.

Pros:

- clean property and rooms (mosquito net, comfortable pillows and mattress, one sheet, adequate bathroom, good air-con)

- good quiet mid-range choice away from beach (walking distance)

- nice family environment

- good in house tuk tuk driver (more expensive than outside)

- hardworking staff

- free WIFI

Cons:

- most guests are Norwegian and can get cliquey

- our room had a view of a wall and was noisy at times as next to eating area

- way, way overpriced mediocre food (twice as expensive as seaside restaurants) with items available but not mentioned on menu leading to some confusion with choice and pricing, Sri Lankan breakfast option often not available

- eerie short cut to main strip at night

- information not forthcoming unless one asks (no information booklet)

Room Tip: avoid ground floor room next to eating area, opt for higher floor (less noise, a view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The Nor Lanka owners are a warm, kind, welcoming couple.

The staff are gracious and well trained.

The rooms are clean and bright.

The food is superb. Also, I peeked in the kitchen and it's spotless.

We travelled Sri Lanka for many days. This is the only hotel that I can enthusiastically endorse.

The Nor Lanka is a great value for all it offers.



Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from the 22nd December for eleven nights, it was a fantastic hotel, the hotel owners where great they do anything they can do to make your stay happy,and for you to have a great holiday,

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I visited this hotel back in 2011 and loved it so when me and my boyfriend decided to visit Sri Lanka, Nor Lanka was my top choice. The staff is really nice and friendly! We booked the room through internet and payed 30% in advance, we were picked up at the airport by a really good driver. The hotel is not right on the beach but it takes less then two minutes to walk there. The breakfast is delicious! Our room is large, cleans and with a comfortable bed. Only thing we miss is blankets, only sheets in the bed but we haven't asked for any either so don't know it possible to get any. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Unawatuna, it doesn't get better!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mylidberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 147 in Unawatuna
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#6 of 31 in Unawatuna
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Property: Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing