We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm just 3 minutes from the beach.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #4 of 140 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wivenhoe
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm just 3 minutes from the beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

This is by far the best place to stay in Unawatuna. Was tempted to book a place right on the beach but have now seen that its too busy there. Coming back to the cool rooms at the Nor Lanka after a day in the sun was fabulous. The hotel has a really nice family atmosphere and is set in a big garden with purple faced monkeys on the overlooking trees. There's loads of space with a shady reading area, excellent food and very friendly hosts. I recommend a trip or two out with family member Lal in his tuktuk - he speaks good English, has an excellent knowledge of the local area and is not pushy like many of the other drivers. One of the nicest places I have stayed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
160
33
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

The best place to stay in Unawatuna by a mile :

Staff extremely helpful and friendly
Location perfect.
Food certainly the best in Unawatuna (no compromise on quality).

All in all the cherry on top of a perfect holiday !

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrogRosbifLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unawatuna
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

This is my second stay at the Nor Lanka Hotel by the wonderful Unawatuna Beach. This time we chose only to stay at Nor Lanka as the staff is very helpful, food is good. Most important for us is also clean rooms and hygenic kitcen with service minded staff.

Can easy recommend this hotel to other familys that are looking for a stay just by the beach (only 1 minute walking).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stor-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

Thanks to Helge and Anoma, We had a very good stay at Nor Lanka. The dinner and the breakfasts were more than very good. We should try to go back.
Near the beach, near Galle Fort and Jungle Beach.
All in all, go and visit them for the money nothing better.
thanks again Nor :Lanka

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

We stayed a night in Unawatuna after I heard about it from Norwegians living in Sri Lanka. We were traveling around the island and only had one night here. The nice owners Helge and her Sri Lankan wife were very friendly and helpful, and served us excellent drinks and food. We will probably go back to Sri Lanka, and then we will stay for a longer time in Unawatuna and of course on NorLanka. We missed the monkeys in the forest in the back of the house, hope to see that the next time.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1NorwegianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed at the Nor Lanka from 19th to 26th February, having based our choice on the TripAdvisor reviews - which were spot on. We had two interconnecting rooms with shared bathroom for ourselves and 2 children which was perfect. The rooms were light, airy and quiet. The staff were friendly, helpful but not intrusive. The owners, Anoma and Helge, really cared that we enjoyed our stay in their hotel and in Sri Lanka. Anoma's brother Lal was an excellent tour guide and the food we had in the hotel restaurant was wonderful. I am looking forward to our return trip already.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rodge68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

What can I say, all the reviews were right! We spent nine nights at the Nor Lanka and loved it.

The two outstanding things about this small hotel is that the owners and all the staff are outstanding. They are so happy and friendly and make you feel so at home. The other thing is that it is so clean.

The food they serve is very tasty and very reasonably priced, we ate their most nights.

The rooms are very clean. They are basic but have a fridge which comes in handy.

It is only 2 mins from the beach and only a short tuk tuk ride away from other beautiful beaches and from Galle. This makes it an ideal base to explore the south.

We are already planning on returning next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 140 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#3 of 140 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Property: Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Address: Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing