We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic villa!”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool with a view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool with a view
Chilli room 1 View from veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Pool with a view
Chilli room 1
View from veranda
The mighty palm
Pool and rear of villa
Christmas sunset in front of the pool
Unawatuna festival seen from the veranda
Saffron room 1
Garden sunbeds
Saffron room 2
Veranda seating
Saffron room antique doors
Ginger room ensuite
Rice & curry tonight
Dining area
View from dining area
Chilli room ensuite
Chilli room 2
Landing & sesath
Cardamom room
Cinnamon room
Cinnamon room ensuite
Lounge
November sunset
A head for heights
View across balcony
Sunset lighting
Dusk over Unawatuna
Villa seen from the beach
Wedding outfits
Wedding party by the pool
Garden
Garden by pool
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Sara W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic villa!”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time during our stay at the Far Horizons Villa and could not have asked for more. We were two families travelling together with four small children 1 and 4 years old and all of us loved to live in the villa.
The Villa has a beautiful and a very relaxing setting with the great view, both day and night, with no Villas or Hotels nearby. The only neighbors you have are the monkeys, swinging in the trees during day and after sunset the fire flies and bats flying outside the veranda.
The Villa is newly build and all rooms are very clean and fresh. Hanging around at the pool and in the house is so nice that you almost don’t want to leave for the beach, however if you will it is very convenient to take the Tuk Tuk down to the beach. I would recommend the Wiaja bech the most, it takes about 10 minutes to get down there by tuk tuk. That beach is so beautiful and if you bring a snorkel you can watch and swim with the sea turtles that lives there.
We are all very interesting in working out, and there is a great Yoga place close by called Sri Yoga Shala offering drop in classes every morning. Also you could have a great morning run down the jungle path and then do some swimming down at the beach.
The staff, Upul and his wife Piumi are both very nice and service minded. They really want you to have a great stay at the Villa helping out with any special needs and suggest nice things to do and eat during your stay. The food is just delicious, especially the grilled white fish and the dhal curry. Also Lesley is very helpful, answering questions prior the stay and she also helped out with transportation to the airport, a really nice van with baby seats that we really appreciated.
We are so grateful that we had the opportunity to stay at the Far Horizons Villa and I am sure that you will enjoy your stay as much as we did!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJamiec
1 review
“Amazing Holiday”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

From the moment we arrived, we couldn't have asked for any more. The villa is perfectly beautiful, the pool and surrounding trees alow you to submerge into tropical tranquility. We are a family of 5 with the youngest being 10 years. Never was anything too much trouble for Upul and his lovely wife. They cooked the most amazing food and made us all feel very special. They organised transport for our surf trips and arranged our visit to the safari. It is a holiday we will all remember for a long time. Thank you to Lesley for making it all happen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niklas B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing villa at top location on the hill”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed our whole family 6 nights. We were 10 people plus my 1 1/2 year daughter.

- Staff is very friendly and helpful
- The villa is perfekt for a big family. Large common areas. It was easy to have a small child also.
- Everything was clean, villa, rooms, pool.
- Upul and his wife (staff) made incredible barbecues and dinners for us every night.
- We got lots of good info about Unawatuna and Sri Lanka from the staff. A local person point of view.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
365Robert
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant villa with glorious views and excellent staff”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Far Horizons is a new villa with an infinity pool overlooking the bay of Unawatuna near Galle. There is a resident manager/cook, Upul, who with his wife look after the house, providing excellent and interesting food, and organising transport and visit arrangements. They were excellent and made sure that we had a wonderful and relaxing holiday. There is a walk path down to the town of Unawatuna, and good birdwatching near the villa. Purple face leaf monkeys are in the trees behind the villa Unawatuna is a nice small town with good snorkling and diving facilities along with a long sandy beach with bars, restaurants shops etc. It was not overcrowded. Further afield Galle is a larger town to visit with interesting sites, churches, hotels, museums, cricket pitch etc. We had a great day whale watching which Upul had organised for us.
Many thanks to Lesley Ken Upul and Piumi

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littc19
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing Villa - Can't wait to return.”
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most amazing time at the Far Horizons villa and wish we could have stayed longer. We were a group of 7 and all said that we would return to the villa in the future.

The villa is set on top of the hill overlooking Unawatuna and it is so relaxing to spend time in the Villa relaxing and enjoying the wonderful pool. Indeed, you almost have to force yourself to leave the villa to enjoy the rest of the activities which Unawatuna has on offer.

The villa kindly provides daily Tuk Tuks down to the beach which is appreciated although once we belatedly made the trek on foot to the beach we found that the beach is much closer on the foot than you may otherwise think. It takes about 5-10 minutes to walk down to the beach using a passage way and steps located near to the villa.

The food which was provided when we ate at the villa was amazing and we can't thank Upal enough for his kind work and cooking skills.

The pictures say it all really but if you want anywhere to stay in Unawatuna then I would suggest you look no further than Far Horizons.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flyingsno...
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Far Horizons Villa: The place to stay in Unawatuna”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Comfortable and relax villa overlooking the Indian Ocean with an infinity pool. Awesome bbq by Upul and Pumi. Suitable for a company of 7 or more. Comfortable and definitely worth visiting again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing villa with great staff”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were staying with a group of friends at the villa and rented the whole place for 10 days.

What can I say, we had a amazing time. I can warmly recommend this accomodation.

The building itself is quite new and in perfect condition. Everything is very clean and tidy, the bedrooms, bathrooms, the common places especially the terrace, garden and the pool, which is maintained by the very friendly gardner. (Everything as nice as in the pictures)
One thing to think about if you plan on sharing rooms with friends, the rooms are all ensuite but some do not have a bathroom door.
The view over the infinity pool and the Unawatuna beach is quite something, yet at the same time you can walk down to the beach in less than 15 min or be lazy and take a tuk tuk.

Before our trip the two owners Lesley and Ken were helpful with organizing transfers from the airport and open for any questions.
During our stay we were perfectly taken care of by the very kind and friendly on site staff Upul and his wife Piumi.
They were there for us at all times, were great cooks and in general organized anything that we needed or wanted (shopping, trips, laundry, and recommendations for restaurants, spas or anything else in Unawatuna). Upul speaks perfect english and we had a really good time with him and his wife.

We can definitely recommend this villa. The building, the surrounding, the location and of course the staff were all pretty much perfect.
We will surely come back again some other time...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big infinity pool and the friendly staff
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing