We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Ultimate Hideaway at Skinny Beach House Sri...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Skinny Beach House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Prerna M
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Hideaway at Skinny Beach House Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in September 2017

How enticing it is for your eyes and blissful for your soul to have found a place away from home but just like home with the most exotic locations, super-comfortable accommodation and excellent hospitality at tow! Yes, I just talked about the Skinny Beach resort in Galle, Sri Lanka.

Waking up to slide the curtains and feel ample of light, treat the eyes with white sandy beaches and calm blue sky can be a feeling that is difficult to express in words! Our exotic holiday in Sri Lanka and the stay with Skinny was one of its kind.

Warm welcome and excellent hospitality by our dear host – Cecilia Jensen. She is the owner of this resort but is so down-to-earth and amicable. She welcomed us with so much love and affection, that it feels like home away from home!

This resort was a perfect nest to spend lazy afternoon and pamper oneself in the relaxed evenings. With all the facilities by your side – from free WiFi connection to quick home-services, from boastful bathroom units to warm-cosy mattresses it has to be your ultimate hideaway in Sri Lanka. I am so glad that we chose this place for our stay! Absolutely contended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2018
It was a delight to have you stay
Come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronique...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Waves on your door step”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Wow, what an amazing villa. A modern simplistic feel, with all the necessities that are needed including a great Nespresso Cappuccino machine. With the Indian Ocean at your doorstep and amazing food cooked for you by their friendly staff, how can you go wrong. Galla is a very convenient 10 min Tak Tak ride away, with lots of other beach restaurants around, one 2 doors away. The owner will check in with you and make sure your stay is going well and suggest things to do and events that are happening in-and-around! Lie on the loungers with the ocean 30 m away and watch the resident turtles play in the water daily. What more can you ask, especially if you want a relaxing holiday with cultural excursions near by.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to meet you next time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crispin20...
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A skinny slice of paradise”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Skinny Beach House is pretty much the perfect place for a beach holiday for a couple, a small group of friends, or a family with older children. True to its name, the house is narrow and on a relatively small plot, but what it lacks in size it more than makes up for in character.

The house backs directly onto the beach. There's a deck with sun chairs, a splash pool, and a place to lounge on bean bags and watch the ocean. There are two bedrooms upstairs, including a master with a balcony that faces the sea.

The beach is small, but also very well appointed - with crashing waves (good for surfers), and an area where the reef forms a natural swimming pool. Watching the resident turtles dive and surf is a perfect way to breakfast or a sundowner.

Shashi and Prabhot, look after you during your stay. They prepare breakfast, can cook supper, and keep the house spic and span.

My only word of caution would be to parents of toddlers..maybe not the best of places to stay given the splash pool and the immediate access to the beach.

For everyone else this really is a wonderful house in a picture perfect spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
Thank you! It was a pleasure to have you stay
We look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitri K
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Private Getaway”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Had a wonderful holiday at this lovely place... Its everything you wish for and more.. Private but just a hop away from one of the best restaurants in the area.. The place might be names Skinny beach house but its extremely spacious and well equipped and clean... the beach has a natural pool made by a reef... The rooms were specious well equipped... The main bedroom has a great view of the beach and a lovely balcony.. perfect place to getaway for a few days!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Thank you for your visit to Skinny Beach House
We look forward to a return visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaltInOur...
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Your home on one of the best places on earth”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in September 2016

The location is just outside of the busy town and in surrounded by all the beautiful beaches. I would recommend every single person to stay at this house! Make sure to check the restaurant next to it as well!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Thank you
Look forward to seeing you back on your return Sri Lanka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie-La...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location with fabulous ocean views”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Skinny Beach in Jan 2017 and absolutely loved it. The master bedroom has fabulous views directly over the ocean with a private veranda to sit and drink tea or cocktails while you watch the beautiful sunset over the ocean. Air-conditioning and ceiling fans keep you cool and there's a cute private plunge pool on the back deck. Stairs lead directly from the deck on to the sandy beach with sun lounges for those who want to lie around working on their tan. Wijaya beach is very protected so it's a great spot for calm ocean swimming which my husband and I did every day we were there. The fairy lights and night time pool lights make for a lovely romantic atmosphere on the back deck and the tropical weather's so warm that swimming in the plunge pool at night is wonderfully refreshing.

Even though the Skinny Beach property is right on the main Galle/Matara road it was surprisingly quiet inside the house. Both bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms with great water pressure. The mattress and linens in the master bedroom were super soft and comfortable, like sleeping in puffy clouds. Heavy curtains in the bedroom help keep out the morning light for those of us who prefer to sleep late.

There's a fully equipped kitchen if you want to prepare your own food (or have the chef do it for you) and It's only a few steps down to Wijaya restaurant which does really delicious food in a casual beach-side atmosphere if you want to go out - the mushroom and bacon risotto I ate there was fantastic.

It's only a short tuk-tuk ride down to Galle if you want to visit the historic Galle Fort area. There's lots of other great restaurants and bars only a short tuk-tuk ride away too. Sudda and CJ and warm, friendly and welcoming hosts who will help you out with anything you need. We had a wonderful time, only wish we could have stayed longer. Very happy to recommend them.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you visit Skinny - come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkandma...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect little paradise”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I were blessed to stay at Skinny Beach, one of the best experiences during our time together in Sri Lanka.
So beautifully designed: stylish and luxurious, private and spacious. Amazing fully equipped kitchen, plunge pool, huge bedrooms.
Great location overlooking my favourite Wijaya beach, also heaps of places surrounding for tourist and local food.
The stay was only made better by hosts CJ and Sudda and their beautiful family. The team is super knowledgable about places to check out.
Perfect for a couple, family or a few friends- I can guarantee you won't want to leave your perfect little paradise :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for your visit and beautiful words
Come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing