We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK Place to Stay in Unawatuna”
Review of Peacock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peacock Hotel
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“An OK Place to Stay in Unawatuna”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This place is an OK place to stay. We had a decent room, with a good fan and lots of space. We got this after a fair amount of negotiation, and felt it was a decent price. The room was in good condition for Sri Lanka, and we had a great view out on the ocean. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we had the room cleaned regularly. We ate at the restaurant once, and felt this was enough as the food was overpriced for the quality. There was a bit of pressure to eat there, but we never found any real pressure or bad attitude from the staff. Wi-fi was good, and we had no issues with our bill. A decent stay, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liane_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    63
    44
    23
    37
See reviews for
19
88
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My friends and I were brought to the hotel by our driver and we agreed to room rate of LKR 5000 per room with AC, thinking we would not be grossly overcharged. We then went for a stroll in the town and found that newer places were asking between LKR 2500 to LKR 3500. We told the Peacock's manager and expressed our disbelief we were grossly overcharged. The Peacock's rooms were old and the bathroom door jammed when closed. My friend's room AC was not working and on this basis rejected the room and moved into a newer resort at much lower cost. I should have done my homework but hotel management should also have basic business ethics. Overcharging by nearly 50 percent is not acceptable especially in service industry where reputation is everything. Please look around before you decide. You will find nicer hotels/resorts than Peacock at much reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Myself and two friends stayed in Thalpe for 5 days in an amazing villa. One evening we went to Unawatuna and randomly chose the Peacock Hotel for dinner as the bbq looked decent. The boss (please see all previous comments) convinced my girlfriend and her friend to take a trip on the Peacock boat the next morning to 'Jungle Beach' for about $60 for snorkelling. True, we should've done our homework, however, on the spare of the moment we trusted this guy. Trip was a disaster - they had to swim through rubbish floating in the sea, saw no fish, and had 2 guys on the boat who didnt care and didnt bother to help them on and off the boat etc. They came back in an hour. I called the boss the next day to complain and ask for compensation and he laughed saying no one gets their money back. I threatened to call the police and he laughed louder. Avoid this *****

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WilliamH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heilbronn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

The hotel and the rooms were quite good and clean. The staff is working hard every day and they are always very friendly and likeable. But the owner of this hotel threatened his waiter with dealing out blows in front of all the customers. Pretty sad situation! I would not recommend to stay at this hotel - just because of this fact!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oli55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Stayed here for ten days the staff work really hard and their service is great, nothing is to much trouble for them, shame they have such a miserable boss who moans all the time. The rooms are shabby, tatty bed sheets, old towels, holey mosquito nets and raggy curtains, Ate here a few times and then went else where as the food was not very good at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bisciut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Lovely staff, aside from a disgruntled owner, who instructs staff to say the card machine is broken in an attempt to avoid payig tax. Sadly he would have you take a round trip to galle in the heat at your expense and inconvenience to make a few extra dollars. The card machine works perfectly.

The staff are fun and pleasant aside.

The food however is very very average.

Would recommend staying and eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amartin2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Superb view; and staff (apart from owner are all very friendly). Sheets are dirty, towels are changed every 3 days or so, air con, which if you pay 3.500 for never works, fans in rooms work but turn about once every two minutes so no sleep. The owner is a horor who is only interested in getting an extortionate amount of money from you na d he will use force if necessary. One Australian family booked rooms beside me with 3 kids and two elderly parents. No air con working for 3 days, no refund, owner basically laughed at them because there is nothing they could really do. If you move 5 minutes from beach you will find abundance of places at 600-100 per night that are clean and well run. Stay clear of this hotel or your holiday in paradise will be ruined.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#16 of 32 in Unawatuna
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Neptune Bay Hotel
Neptune Bay Hotel
#30 of 32 in Unawatuna
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prime Time Hotel
Prime Time Hotel
#22 of 32 in Unawatuna
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
#24 of 32 in Unawatuna
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Hotel

Property: Peacock Hotel
Address: Peellegoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peacock Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Peacock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacock Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing