We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice location, average rooms, overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peacock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peacock Hotel
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice location, average rooms, overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Peakok is right on the Beach, with about 10 rooms rooms dived over two floors (and the restaurant down below) and have shared balconies with amazing views. The Indian Ozean is only 5m from the house. Most rooms are quite simple, ours was very big but did not have hot water nor A/C. For those of us that like to see our face when we shave, the light in the bathroom also left something to wish for. When we were there beginning of January they asked for 50-60 U$ a night (Double incl. BF) depending on the room and were not willing to negotiate. Which is a lot for the low standard you get.... (we quickly understood why as it seems that around Christmas/New Years there are so many backpackers around that all good lower priced rooms in Unawatuna are gone by noon time - supply & demand) Overall an average guesthouse at a great location and if you avoid the high season you can probably also negotiate a rate better fitting to what you get.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    55
    39
    19
    34
See reviews for
17
75
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

located directly at the beach and quite close to the steet with the busstations the location is actually perfect / the crew of the Peacock is very friendly, ignore their boss!
for the evening: if you're going back to the street and then a few metres to the right you find a very authentic place for good rotty (be careful about the price)
for the day: don't go to this "jungle beach", it's on the other side of Galle bay and very dirty!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tstru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Well, what do you expect for 3750 rupees a night? You get an excellent, magnificent view over Unawatuna Beach. We had AC and a fridge, and even hot water.

Still, you have to accept that - yes - the credit card machine was still broken. They did not clean the room if you didn't ask for it - towels, linens etc was very old. The bed... well, the bed was crap and the pillow was a joke of a pillow.

The staff was nice and friendly, except the owner, and the food was average. Dinner/lunch OK, breakfast bad.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Legendinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

The place is beautiful and the staff are friendly. The owner on the other hand was quite ill-behaved. The staff and the owner definitely dont want you to pay by credit card. The first day we had lunch with them, they said the power was not there and hence they could not process my card. At dinner, after taking my card to process the payment (and keeping it for nearly 10-15 mins) the manager comes back to say that the machine is not working. The owner and manager insist in a menacing way that I pay cash and not use credit card

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Raghurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Surrey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Hmmmm, we stayed there in July 2010, was telling friends about it and saw these reviews, very surprised!
Location is fantastic, Unawatuna is a must in Sri Lanka..
Room was basic, but had a great view, hot flowing water, as expected, paid about £18/night, ate there once, but had a great night with the owner, came back and he was drinking alone, we got chatting and he plied us with drinks (which we were never charged for), talked about the Tsunami and life....
At the end of the day, I'd go back.....

Room Tip: Obviously as for a sea view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burrga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Arrived on a sunny afternoon, greeted by a shirtless money hungry, receipt book in hand, rude manager.

Was shown to a room hidden around a corner with no light, no bedding, no power, moudly, smelly, bug infested room.

Wanted to shower but had no hot water. Shower, read, dribble of freezing water.

By the time we wanted to retire to sleep, the bed didn't surprise. It was concave, matteress was thin and the bed slats uncomfortable. The bedding was damp, smelly and moldy. The pillows were unusable.

We checked out at 7am, not after arguing with the now pull on pants manager whom had decided that breakfast was no longer included in the rate. We showed him his receipt to which he reluctantly agreed to serve us our meal, not before shouting at his staff for reasons unknown.

Stay away, far, far, FAR, away!

Better yes, stay in Mirissa, for the same price, if not better. No need tom see any other places. The Paradise hotel is amazing there...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We had dinner at Peacocks today and were astonished by the hygiene applied in the kitched. They used glasses directly collected from the table for a new drink and served this directly to other guests. We stopped them, but they were supprised we did and did not make any any excuse. In the kitchen they lauched about this. So looks like this is normal practise. Very bad!
The food we had was dominated by ketchup. The grilled tuna was ketchep and so were the vegitable pizza's.
We will not eat here once more.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YvonneFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#14 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Hotel

Property: Peacock Hotel
Address: Peellegoda, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peacock Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Peacock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacock Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing