We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very likely the best place to stay in the entire southern district”
Review of Ridee Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ridee Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“very likely the best place to stay in the entire southern district”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

It’s a family-run modern luxury hotel-guesthouse. The owners and their staff will do everything to make your stay a pleasant one. And they do. This compensates for the fact that the hotel has no direct access to the beach. But one just crosses the street or even better take a tuktuk to the more remote beaches in the area.

In terms of standard and service I assume this is the best place you can stay in Unawatuna and very likely in the whole Southern District. Of course, all this has its price. One should be the type of persons who enjoys luxury and special care to fully appreciate a stay there.

The breakfast buffet was plenty and just recently they started with a lunch and dinner menu. What we ate - and compared to other places - this will make Ridee Villa soon also to the best place to eat in Unawatuna. If you don’t have the pleasure to stay there, then you should spoil yourself at least one time with the food.

I am convinced that the owners will also soon solve the above mentioned beach issue. They might partner with one of the local beach places. By then you will get your daily fresh beach towels and bottles of water right at the sea.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chmannva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
160
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant Villa with approx 16 rooms. The standard rooms are in the first floor and are quite small. The superior suites are on the second floor. There is good AC in the rooms.
The villa is in a good location over the road from a nice beach. It is also on a busy road. The staff are lovely. There are kitchens on both levels. They could be kept a little cleaner. The staff are wonderful. I would return here!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alisondMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one week in Jan and cannot rate this place high enough the staff,owners and everyone else associated with it made it a excellent place to stay and felt like home from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. All staff were courtesy and very helpful with anything required and knowledge of trips and excursions was excellent . The highlight for me was the tour of Galle they took us in the classic Wolesey 60 year old car which made you feel very special as such a beautiful open top classic car. If anyone is thinking of staying book ASAP because if you cannot get a room you will of missed one of the best places to stay in Sri Lanka. We will definitely be going back next year to Ridee Villa. A big thank you to all the staff and owners for a very special stay in a very special place
Thank you Dave & Cherie
Ps the silver elephant pendant gift you gave my wife is now proudly on her necklace :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank daveggod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We arrived late after a long taxi ride so were very happy to be greeted with a delicious cocktail and nice cup of tea. They also had a welcome note up for us in the hotel reception, which put a smile on our faces.

The room (we were second floor, towards the back) was adequate, not huge, with the bed taking up most of the room, but that was fine. There was a slight smell of damp in the room which was a bit unpleasant. The bathroom was nice enough, a good size and enough hot water, though the water pressure was a bit flimsy.

The breakfast buffet was nice with lots of choice and they weren't too strict on the time, willing to serve a bit later if you'd slept in a bit.

The owners owned a beautiful old convertible and they offered free rides into Columbo Port with the wonderfully friendly driver taking you on a mini driving/ walking tour of the fort, though be prepared to be driven home via the villa owner's gem shop.

The villa itself was modern with nicely tended garden and well maintained. Location-wise it is less than five minutes walk from the beach across the road and down a little lane.

The owners were really wonderful hosts throughout our stay and i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tritlir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kusnacht, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We are a couple from Swtzerland who enjoyed our stay at Ridee Villa in Unawatuna very much. The hotel is very clean and decorated with love for the detail. The management as well as the services staff are very friendly and helpful. They contributed a lot and made our stay unforgettable. We would like to recommend Ridee Villa to everyone...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Pros:
Amazing, friendly, accommodating staff - They really go out of their way to make your stay memorable
Free tour around Galle in in awesome old British convertible
Pleasant rooms with powerful AC
A few minutes walk to the beach
Good value all around

Cons:
Next to a sometimes busy road
Not directly on the beach like some hotels
You won't want to leave!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front half of the hotel... they might have a sunset view. (Unclear as I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZReff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

WOW...attention to the minor details really made this place memorable!!! We were greeted by the owners, two wonderfully friendly people, and welcomed with fresh pineapple juice served in a pineapple!!! There was a welcoming notice at the entrance announcing the arrival of our family. The rooms were beautiful, best we had in Sri Lanka!! The breakfast was amazing and the variety to die for!!! The story of how this hotel came about is amazing and I wish the owners all of the best with their endeavors, but can truly say they have a winning recipe!!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
813 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridee Villa

Property: Ridee Villa
Address: 321 Peelllagoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come as a Guest, Leave as a Friend " Ridee Villa is not a Hotel or Holiday Resort But someone who travel down south or willing to spend a few days on the unawatuna beach, This is the ideal place to lodge.Probably this would be the best Specialty lodging of an extraordinary Unique Boutique Guesthouse in Unawatuna.RV offers you unbelievable serenity & freedom that cannot be experienced in a mainstream hotel. Therefore this becomes Your Home away from Home. It is virtually a second home where you can spend and unwind mainly due to the unique "Home Hotel Concept" practiced by the amiable owners who are at hand, personally, to accede to all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ridee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridee Villa Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing