We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our dream come true”
Review of Ridee Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ridee Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We spent almost a fortnight in this wonderful villa in Unawatuna. Sumith with his staff were excellent hosts, the place was perfect and the hospitality also. We must come back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perochsusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumith-ubesiri, Owner at Ridee Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful comments of our hotel .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2011

My wife and I had an opportunity to stay a few days at Ridee Villa at the end of December while attending a friend's wedding. The villa was beautiful, with wonderful rooms. The morning breakfast was always a delicious feast. The best part of the stay though was the warmth, generosity, and sincerity of Sumith (the owner) and his staff. Listen to their stories of the rebuilding after the tsunami. The kindness and genuineness of Sumith and the staff was unparalleled in our travel experiences, they made our stay most memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed at Ridee Villa for 4 nights and had a lovely stay. The villa was beautiful, and we saw some local newly weds came and stayed there for their wedding day. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and were also great with our 3 yr old son and he had a great time there thanks to them. Breakfast was always plenty, and home-made Sri Lankan dinner (we had it once) was very nice & enjoyable. Unawatuna beach was just accoss the street and took only a min or two. The only thing we were dissapointed was the road in front of the villa, which was busier and noiser than we thought, altho it didn't bother us during the night time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

The owner and stuff are very friendly, we had very good time toghether. The house are very interesting, with old furniture and statues. They serve breakfast, the food is very good and tasty. Room was incredible, something special. The bathroom is also unike and everything are very clean. I enyoy every moment, staying here, and I hardly wait to came back and see friends. I miss you all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knjiznica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We were staying in this hotel for the couple of days. This was a wondeful time. Clean rooms, polite stuff, pleasant atmosphere, beautiful and unusual design, delisious breakfasts with very big portions and flaxible schedules, wonderful beaches without waves and purple clean ocean water made our vocation awesome and unforgetable.
hugs and kisses to owners, waiting for comeback soon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickolaus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I just returned from a trip to Sri Lanka for a friend's wedding and stayed at the lovely Ridee Villa. This small boutique hotel is lovely! The staff is wonderful - warm, friendly, incredible helpful, and just really KIND people - was nice to spend time chatting with them. The rooms are great -- nice, clean, cool beach feel -- classic south asian style hard beds (which i love since), clean bathrooms, simple but modern and clean. The location is incredible -- while not on the beach, it is literally right across the street from the beautiful warm watered unawatuna beach (where there are tons of restaurants). Next door are little fruit stalls and stores -- so it was easy to pick up some fruit and drinks to eat on the beach. Finally, the price was GREAT for the quality of rooms and the lovely people who worked there. Oh - and we had breakfast there one morning - WHAT A SPREAD! Fresh fruit, bread, eggs, cake, juice, french fries - it went on and on and was fun to try local foods! HIGHLY recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mreddy10003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

I can't praise this hotel highly enough. From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIPs by manager Sumith Ubesiri and his staff. They went out of their way to help us, giving advice, organising excursions and generally catering to our every whim. The rooms were well-furnished and breakfast each day was an experience itself - tropical fruits, toast, sausages, eggs, Sri Lankan specialities, tea, coffee,smoothies . . . far more than we could manage. The hotel is located just across the road from the beautiful beach - near enough to be there in seconds but far enough away to avoid any evening disco noise. I wouldn't hesitate to visit this hotel again and would recommend it as a child-friendly, happy place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKvisitorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
946 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
720 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridee Villa

Address: 321 Peelllagoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: £77 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come as a Guest, Leave as a Friend " Ridee Villa is not a Hotel or Holiday Resort But someone who travel down south or willing to spend a few days on the unawatuna beach, This is the ideal place to lodge.Probably this would be the best Specialty lodging of an extraordinary Unique Boutique Guesthouse in Unawatuna.RV offers you unbelievable serenity & freedom that cannot be experienced in a mainstream hotel. Therefore this becomes Your Home away from Home. It is virtually a second home where you can spend and unwind mainly due to the unique "Home Hotel Concept" practiced by the amiable owners who are at hand, personally, to accede to all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ridee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridee Villa Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing