We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning beach wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This is an excellent choice if you are looking for peaceful beautiful location to relax. The staff at the hotel are incredibly well trained and went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant and memorable. The beach that the hotel is located on is perhaps one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen and we have traveled extensively around SE Asia. After reading other reviews on trip advisor, I was initially concerned that road traffic and train noise might be a problem but we found we that any sounds from the road were minimal. We mostly just heard the wonderful sound of waves crashing on the beach.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 4lynnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

Overall a bit dated place. But with good service and friendly athmosfare. Beach no good at all. Rooms okay but nothing special. Balcony no good at all since it was impossible to sit down and see any of the ocean, nor the beach. Food very basic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hans h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed at Sri Gemunu for 10 days in July. We stayed in one of the hotel rooms the first night, but then moved into one of the chalets. The chalets are about 10 minutes walk away. You can either walk (Nice walk!) or the hotel provides pick-up and drop-off for free.
Overall, we had an amazing time! The staff is truly customer-focused, from preparing extra food for our little one (who was 10 months at the time) to delivering dinner to the chalet to the friendly smile everytime you meet somebody.
We were a bit worried about travelling with a baby to a country we'd never been to, but the staff at Sri Gemunu made it a truly relaxing and unforgettable holiday for us.
Special thanks goes to Padmini who clearly looks after the place well. We love you all and miss you!

Room Tip: We prefered the chalets with our baby. The baby monitor reached to the swimming pool. So we could ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrymorganuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

If you travel to supergreen Sri Lanka, I couldnt recommend better place to stay. Easy, endless warm and charming.
All staff are very nice and gentle people, caring about your stay and your time in Sri Lanka.
We felt like at home, we could turn to them with any wish we had. I cant wait to get back again.
Padmini and Aruna organized our wedding ceremony , flowers, photographer, and candle light dinner.It was more smooth then we ever could imagine. The photographer´- studio Pro eye has a funny personality so we enjoyed even making photos.
Ocean is lovely, often had a feeling it belongs only to us. Nice snorkling possibilities. Food is very nice and tasty. Take trip to Yatagalla temple with a nice driver that hotel recommends.
The same driver can do shopping tour with you in Galle.
The first impression we had was the transport from Waikal with a very very nice driver. He took us to Pinawalla elephant orphanige, gave us good tips, drove safely. We requested him also for transport back to the airport.
Prices for all the services are very fair, rooms ar clean
If I compare Maldives taj exotica and hilton maldives that I have visited before 2006,I have enjoyed Sri Lanka Sri Gemunu much better because nature, people and culture.
Thank you Aruna for giving us such an amazing time.
I will add some photos later

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonafreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed at Sri Gemunu for 4 nights. I can't criticise this hotel but it just was'nt right for us. If you read the reviews everybody loves this place. The hotel rooms need a bit of TLC, the food is ok but needs a bit of Sri Lankan influence. The terrace has a great view but loses the sun just after mid day due to the many trees But these are not criticisms, the staff and management are great and can't do enough for you, the hotel never feels crowded, it was just the hotel cateers for a particular type of tourist maybe a bit older who all seem to be having a great time. We used the spa facilities on two occasions, while I was having treatments my husband could use the deserted pool all to himself.We spent two whole days here in this beautiful relaxing setting just listening to the sounds of nature. The treatments were brilliant and very good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbyblot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 12 days at Sri Gemenu and have had a wonderful relaxing time. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. You could easily pay three times as much to stay in a plush resort which we have done in the past but it would be money wasted. This is a small resort with just 20 comfortable rooms and an abundance of loungers in a beautiful setting on a great beach. The place speaks for itself when there are so many repaeat guests, some staying for a month or more. If I must have a grumble the food could be better .

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamuelsGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Perfect location, breathtaking view from terrace,clean rooms and a management and staff who genuinely seen to care.
We stayed for a week and were well looked after. Plenty of sun loungers and the resort never seemed crowded.
Food was OK.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnUKAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
979 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 34 in Unawatuna
476 reviews
2.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#12 of 34 in Unawatuna
129 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 34 in Unawatuna
318 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Gemunu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £70 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sri Gemunu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Gemunu Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing