We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
334
103
18
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
103
18
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafe swimmingnatural lagoonbig wavestuk tukday tourroad noisepalm treesfew metersquiet locationcomfortable roomsbeautiful gardengalle fortsea viewstayed nightscurrychaletaruna
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at the Beach Grove Villas, which forms part of the hotel, 700 metres away, but had dinner once, lunch a couple of times, and drinks and beatutiful beach side relaxation many times, within the hotel and the grounds and private beach area.
It was amazing to learn that the hotel was destroyed (along with every other property in Unawatuna), on 26 December 2004 by the sunami but, the rebuild has, once again, provided a wonderful beach side retreat.
The hotel is run by one of the 4 brothers all of whom certainly know how to treat their visitors
A must visit place sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: If the hotel is full try the Beach Grove Villa run by one of the brothers and family
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank philipsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed here with my husband and son in February this year. It was our first trip to Sri Lanka but it will not be our last. The island is amazing. This hotel was no exceotion to that. Great staff, good food, beautiful setting.
Be sure to try the little beach bar next door,Rashna.
We will be back.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms (interconnecting )on the 3rd floor and really liked the view and the balcony.I think they were 310 and 311.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islander008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had a wonderfull holiday at Sri Gemunu. All the positve things people have been writing are just right.
The staff was so helpfull and very caring.The area between the hotel and the beach was just great. Lots of places to sit, lots of sun loungers, great view of the ocean and the cliffs - also from our balcony.
We loved the beach and also loved to bathe just ouside the hotel - in the big waves. You had to watch the current, but as long as you were careful, it was no problem (we are good swimmers and used to currents from sailing)
The beds had the best madrasses I have ever had at a hotel! Our room was quite spacious.. We enjoyed the food very much. We stayed for 10 days and new dished every night! You could choose between very "hot" dishes and dishes without too many spices,- and lots of nice salads. I liked this, (having a a stomach that easily reacts to foreign food)
I celebrated my birthday at the hotel, and the hotel made it a day, I shall never forget.
The hotel had arranged a tour for four days afterwards, and it was excellent.
I just want to go back right now!!
Ulla Denmark

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This is an excellent choice if you are looking for peaceful beautiful location to relax. The staff at the hotel are incredibly well trained and went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant and memorable. The beach that the hotel is located on is perhaps one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen and we have traveled extensively around SE Asia. After reading other reviews on trip advisor, I was initially concerned that road traffic and train noise might be a problem but we found we that any sounds from the road were minimal. We mostly just heard the wonderful sound of waves crashing on the beach.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 4lynnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Overall a bit dated place. But with good service and friendly athmosfare. Beach no good at all. Rooms okay but nothing special. Balcony no good at all since it was impossible to sit down and see any of the ocean, nor the beach. Food very basic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hans h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews