We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Okay stay”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed here 2 nights and it was okay I would not say amazing. To room was okay, the staff where mostly nice. I have been a female travelling solo around Sri Lanka for 3 weeks, and I did not feel 100% comfortable with the younger male staff members here. I got stared at a lot, a lot more than any place I have been in Sri Lanka, which I guess is expected to a degree. But on the first night when I went up to my room on the 1st floor there were about 6/7 young Sri Lanka men hanging around on the balcony. I know they where not staying here, as there was only me and one other female on the floor and I am not sure if they were staff. Either way I did not feel that comfortable as I am not sure why they were on the 1st floor balcony?!?!

The food was average but it was nice being close to the beach. A bit further out from the main beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KRI001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    99
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
133
238
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good beach location, nice room
Duration of stay: 2 nights (16-18 August)

Booking process and check-in/check-out: We booked directly by e-mail with owner and corresponded with Aruna in Germany, which was convenient because there was no time difference. Drinks offered at check in. Check out went without a hitch.

Room: We were allocated the corner room on the first floor, at the end of the corridor. This was quite nice. as we had no people walking past the bathroom window. Air con worked perfectly, bathroom was nice. No safe in the room, but you can store your valuables in a safe near the reception.

Facilities:. We went to the pool (got offered transport there and back). We were the only ones there, it is set in a nice “jungle” atmosphere. The sea was too rough to swim in, except for an area protected by a reef some minutes walk away.

Restaurant/meals: We had half board and twice had a buffet dinner. Breakfast was served at the table one day and as a buffet the next. Pity that they do not serve the excellent rolls they have in the evening (to go with the soup) at breakfast. Staff were attentive and the chef was clearly proud of his work, eager to explain what the dishes were and to urge his clients to try them.

Other remarks/Conclusion: A good mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had 4 good nights in the chalet, which proved a good choice. A very spacious room, and quiet location that proved a really relaxing start to our time in SL. The pool was a highlight, which we mostly had to ourselves. Transport to and from the hotel for meals was always available. Staff were all very friendly. Management were keen to know of future plans, and anxious to help out with transport/hotel arrangements – like a lot of places we stayed, they seemed a little over keen to benefit from offering their version of these. Food was ok but in the 4 nights we had repeat options and certainly was lacklustre in comparison to food offered in Sri Lanka – do not judge the Sri Lanka food from your meals here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshirePezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Nice stay directly at the beach, very good service, also in the restaurant, the sea can be very rough and may be very depending on the season you go, room nice but old fasioned, tv very old :-) food average

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stays at the hotel only a night due to time constraints. Instantly we regretted not dedicating enough time to the place. The room we had had amazing views over the sea and a great balcony and 4 poster bed whilst the food and staff were of a great standard an very welcoming. We even saw turtles in the sea!! The sea itself could be rather choppy and requires an element of caution as to where you swim. Although this was the only possible flaw in the hotel. Overall a really good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sashalom, Pest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I spent a week in Sri Gemunu Beach Resort with my girlfriend. It is a beautiful hotel at Unawatuna Beach near to Galle owned by friendly Sri Lankan brothers. Not only the owners but also the staff is very hospitable. The food in the restaurant is great, especially seafood. The room rate includes both breakfast and dinner. They also organize different tours and excursions all over the country.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ambrusbalazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin NZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We prebooked this hotel for 3 nights through Aruna, one of the owners but based in Germany.
He arranged a driver to pick us up from The Pearl Grande in Colombo who arrived early so that was a plus. Aruna had advised us by email that the hotel was booked out for the third night so we stayed up the road in the hotels chalet .
Upon our arrival ( taxi fare about $USD 75.00) we were greeted by Asoka, Arunas brother and another brother who runs a gem shop in the hotel. Now came our first unusual experience- the building is 3 floors high but has no lift. We found nearly all the hotels that we stayed in were all 3 story with no lifts, except in Kandy - Not too sure if its a cost saving concept or what but most people would baulk at having to climb any higher. Our room was on the first floor in the centre and had A/C , a good view and plenty of room.Another feature was the bathroom, also very roomy as most of the hotels that we stayed in were.

We had a good ocean view and could see turtles about 100 meters off shore.Fishermen on their poles turned up and we saw them catching a few fish.The food was good, service great and our room was clean.
Only two negatives were
1 Only one TV channel- we had to ring reception to get another channel and were given a choice but still only one channel at a time. Weird to say the least
2 No internet in the room so down to reception to send /receive emails etc. This is another annoying trait that we found all around SL.
Both these issues need addressing.
Our third night was staying at the chalet, about 900 meters from the hotel and set in amongst native bush. Very roomy, quiet and peaceful. We had an excellent swimming pool to ourselves
and tea coffee facilities in our room . A phone call to the hotel had a van come and pick us up to have our meals although the walk to the hotel would be ok if not for the intense heat.
Again no internet and the Tv dish was dead so no TV- Still no big deal but you would expect these issues to be resolved.
Cost for two nights at the hotel around $ USD 100.00 a night plus food and drinks $USD 22.00 a night plus 10 % F & B service charge. The chalet $USD 120.00 for the night

The other plus for us was that Asoka organised a 10 day tour with driver for us around southern and central SL. Our driver Upale was superb- courteous,obliging and drove at a sedate speed throughout our tour. All up, a good experience so well done guys!!

Room Tip: Down stairs dont have A/C apparently. Better view upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDRennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
2.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Gemunu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Property: Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sri Gemunu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Gemunu Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing