We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Superb Service”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Our group of 30 family and friends gathered at Sri Gemunu in Dec 2013 for a week of wedding celebrations and were delighted by the amazing value and service provided by owner Aruna and function manager Padmini and their staff.

So many good things, large and small: friendly, smiling, attentive staff, personal table decorations, wonderful abundant buffet food with great variety and custom egg dishes in the mornings, thoughtful live music selections, personal room decorations each morning, graceful architecture with large shared balconies overlooking the surf, perfectly maintained beach side dining areas, monkeys in the trees and dolphins in the water, calm swimming lagoon nearby, long beach walks.

The wedding arrangements were a wonderful surprise - lots of local colour, culture and custom blended with world class catering and organisation standards.

Sri Gemunu gave our family and friends the precious gift of a perfect happy memory from a very special time in our lives.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    99
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
133
238
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Just returned from an excellent 9 days chilling in Chalet 1 approx 900m from the Hotel. Airport pick up was efficient and when we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The Chalet was lovely and quiet, it is remote and surrounded by Wildlife, exactly what we wanted. Only had to share the pool one day. Menu at hotel was adequate but we had no "tummy" problems. Bill was itemised and explained. It is not 5 Star but you are not paying for it. Would definitely come back again. Thankyou

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I thank Mr. Aruna, Mr. Gamini, Mrs. Padmini and all staff of the hotel Sri Gemunu for giving me and my mom famous Lankan hospitality and genuine customer care. The level of service at hotel Sri Gemunu is commendable. I will recommend wonderful country Sri Lanka and this worthy hotel with pleasure.
Best regards,
Yulia Ershova

Room Tip: Renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yulia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Cons

- The food, while adequate, is not amazing. The table service is good, and there is nothing "wrong" with the food, it's just not very exciting.

- The bathrooms all seem to have the nice square "rainfall" shower heads, but they don't work and you have to use the hand held appliance. This is not such a big deal, except that when they show you the room you tend to assume the installed appliances work. (They didn't work in any of the two rooms I stayed in, nor in my neighbour's).

- They are VERY insistent that you should bring your valuables to the safe room. It's very likely that they're only doing it for the guests' safety and I don't question their honesty, but it got to a point where the staff were asking me about it whenever they saw me and I ended up just bringing a few things to make them stop.

- There are times when it's impossible to find somebody who speaks English to help you (and they will not go find someone who does, they will just shrug).


Pros

- The location might not be great if you want beach chairs, boats and music, or if you want to have a proper swim, but if you want a quiet, secluded, spotless stretch of beach, it's perfect.

- On the last night of my stay I was moved to one of the bigger, air conditioned rooms (with TV, minifridge and private balcony) at no extra cost (I didn't get the exact reason, but it had to do with a wedding that was being celebrated on the resort). Being asked to move all your things in five minutes early in the morning is inconvenient, so it's good that they acknowledged this by upgrading me.

- Other reviews talk about buffets or "dish of the day" menus, but apparently that only happens in high season or when there are enough guests. When I was there (September), I was allowed to have anything I wanted from the menu (and I was even encouraged to order starters and desert when I didn't). When I went to settle my drinks bill there was a glass of wine that I hadn't ordered and that was promptly taken off.

- The rooms were spotlessly clean and well ventilated.

- The taxi service to Colombo airport was punctual and very comfortable. It's 1000 rupees more than hiring a service in Unawatuna town, but to me it was worth it.

Tip: if you intend to stay here, be prepared to argue with tuktuk/taxi drivers A LOT. Apparently the resort doesn't pay commission to touts, which is a good thing, but it means that everyone will try very hard to get you to stay somewhere else, and they will lie to you if they have to (it's closed! it's 100 dollars for a bad room! you will get food poisoning!).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singtheendsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I spent three nights with a friend with here in August and we had an absolutely fantastic time. Although we had heard quite negative things about the overcrowded beach in Unawatuna Bay, we were delighted to see that this hotel was placed directly on a white sandy beach with palm trees, which was very clean and secluded. At this time of year the sea is very rough, which means on this side of the island you are usually not able to swim, but the hotel had the added benefit that due to a natural reef barrier, there was an area we could access and swim in safely. The staff was great and the food was some of the best we experienced during our whole stay in Sri Lanka. In addition, one of the hotel managers is a jewellery expert with a goldsmith working for him who is able to create custom made master pieces in a very short period of time. All in all I can greatly recommend a stay at this lovely family run hotel and I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karoline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,445 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 846 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

No black out curtains so morning light comes in. Water pressure not great. Sometimes hot water not hot. Towels old, faded and stiff. Pillows yellow, dirty and extremely old with broken foam inside. Pillow cases stained and smells musky. Sheets also smell musky.They make the bed and decorate the sheet in a pattern but you have to then make the bed up before sleeping to tuck in the sheets. Door latch broken. No safe in room but at reception. Can’t swim out front – no deck chairs on sand but to the left, they advise you to swim in sheltered reef as the rest of the beach has big surfs so dangerous. Lovely grounds and view with rocks and boulders out front. Fisherman’s stick in front of property but did not see any fishermen on it. Room basic but clean with fan and a/c. Private balcony concrete wall too high to see out to enjoy the view. Deck chairs in balcony permanently reclined - most uncomfortable. Room cleaned but towels not changed or shampoo/soap not replaced.

Breakfast and dinner included in price but pay for drinks. Ayurveda massages at inland property with pool - 10 mins walk in heat or driver will take you there and back - not the cheapest for Sri Lanka’s standards US$30. I’ve paid $21 - $25 in other places. They did not even clean my feet but used their hands to wipe down 1-2 times before the massage, followed by face without washing hands from body before proceeding with the face. Laid on a big banana leaf but had ants which makes it very unpleasant. Not much else to do around here, you feel stuck unless you get a tuk tuk and wander – plus with dinner thrown in, you stay in the property.

Beach area not the best – Mirissa is better (Paradise Club where we had lunch is the best in this area). Not my idea of a beach holiday, if you want to just sit and watch the ocean, this is fine but if you want a real beach holiday, this place is not for you. Buffet dinner spread Sunday night good and plenty. Other nights ala carte from menu – choose soup, salad, main and dessert. Food pretty good.

They ask if you would pay 1,000rps a night for your driver, all other places provide driver accommodation for free (at no extra expense to the tourist) – this makes us feel very obligated and BAD, as if it is now OUR problem. The working staff are very nice. Breakfast OK. Property set back from beach front which makes it a little unattractive. Next door to the left is Ratna’s Guesthouse with beach front – lovely. We had lunch and a drink here. There’s a few more properties to the left of the beach with beach front restaurants.

Room Tip: Might as well stay somewhere else - like Chaaya Tranz in Hikkaduwa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

On one hand, the beach was lovely and we very much enjoyed lying on the beach chairs at night to marvel at the starry sky. On the other hand, the breakfast was quite poor in choice and the rooms were not as special as we would have expected, although we did appreciate the balcony looking towards the water. Also, despite previous reviews suggesting that the stick fishermen were often perching in front of the hotel, we found out that it no longer is so.
It is not the greatest and next time I will find another place to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _xKeu_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
889 reviews
2.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
452 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
413 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Gemunu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Property: Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sri Gemunu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Gemunu Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing