We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a great time visiting just last week. The service was good and the views were wonderful. Th staff were pleasant. Be careful with the sun though - we got severely burned!! Will plan to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    98
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
131
238
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for four nights at Sri Gemunu with our 2 children. The staff were smiling and helpful. From the balcony we had a beautiful view of the beach. The buffet was nice, authentic and varied. The sea just outside the hotel is quite rough, but 200 meters down the beach there is a nice lagoon. It´s a nice swimming area for children, but the snorkeling was not the best. We did though see an octopus and some small fish.
It´s a good place from which to explore south Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tureh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I can't say enough good things! We stayed for 6 nights in one of the 2 chalets, which are a stunning ten minute walk up the road from the main hotel. They are situated in their own private garden which is amazing. It's full of wildlife and this is also where the pool and spa facilities are located. We pretty much had the whole thing to our selves as the other chalet was only in use for two nights. This was exactly what we were looking for, as we'd covered a lot of ground in the first week of our trip so really wanted to relax for the second week. The chalets were lovely, with a kitchenette and plenty of other stuff to make you feel at home. They even had proper satellite tv, which was handy for watching the odd late night game of football when my girlfriend had fallen asleep!

Aruna and his staff were nothing short of top class. Their service really is amazing. They helped me out hugely when I hurt my shoulder and needed to go the the hospital in Galle. Even covering my bill and letting me pay them back later as I had no bank card with me. But the service from the first minute to the last was great.

The main hotel is located on a really nice stretch of beach, part of which is protected by an off shore reef which makes it safe for swimming which seems to be an unusual thing in Sri Lanka due to the waves. Sadly due to my injured shoulder I wasn't able to make the most of it, but the injury is a testament to how rough the sea can be, as it happened in the sea in Mirissa.

The food was also great, and for £66 per night half board we couldn't believe our luck at what we'd found, and I was really sad to leave. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had the most perfect stay at Sri Gemunu Beach Resort. We stayed a week over Christmas and have never before experienced such tasteful dinners! Perfect location right on the beach and felt good that there is a life-guard every day. Beach towels provided and we never missed or needed a pool. Very kind, attentative and forthcoming staff. Our rooms in the older original building were basic but comfortable - thanks for the artistic bed-making every day! Pick-up at airport in the midle of the night was no problem. We had perfect communication with Mr. Aruna who always responded straight away to our questions and wishes for our round-trip. If you decide to book a tour - which we did - ask for Ishan to be your driver, we really can recommend him. Be specific about what type of hotel you would like on the tour, most of the hotels are situated beautifully but not in walking distance from the towns, which can be nice after a days driving. All in all a delightfull and memorable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiDanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We travelled in Sri Lanka for a month and stayed in 11 hotel, varying from terrible to superb. The Sri Gemunu was one of two hotels that I would highly recommend. (Allspice Villa (Colombo) being the other) The location is directly on the beach, all the staff are brilliantly helpful and never expect a tip (but always got one from us). They make you feel like VIP's. The food is excellent as well. Unlike a lot of the hotels we got room service every day where the bed is decorated with flowers and towel sculptures. All these things made our stay a very happy one and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone and we would go straight back there ignoring the rest. On the day of departure our so called friend taxi driver really let us down by simply not turning up to take us to the airport. If it was not for the prompt and efficient action of the Sri Gemunu we would have missed our flight...Bob W (UK)

Room Tip: The ground floor room are cheaper and have better direct access to the grounds/beach, but smaller th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband, three year-old and I stayed for 2 weeks of beach fun and relaxation. Sri Gemunu's location, right on a swimming beach, is excellent and all the more so for the rough seas around most of Sri Lanka. Sri Gemunu also has an idyllic pool, with kiddy pool, which can be reached via a 10 minute walk into the hills. The staff are wonderfully friendly and were very patient with my threenager! The food was very good, and very good value. They had a huge buffet every night with lots of variety and including Sri Lankan and Western fare. Breakfast was nice too with a omelet/pancake/french toast made-to-order table as well as a curry selection and continental breakfast options. Another guest told me the coffee is very good though I did not try it. I was slightly disappointed with the room upon arrival - some of the furniture was a bit old, but I quickly got over it watching monkeys scramble through the trees by the ocean from our balcony.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay in this place. The room was was basic but comfortable. The hotel sits right on the beach, on a good sized plot, which allows a space for a nice shady garden area.
The staff is friendly and attentive.
Shame there is no pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
861 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
800 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
660 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Gemunu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Property: Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Address: Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sri Gemunu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Gemunu Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing