We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont miss - Excellent food, absolutely stunning views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We discovered this place quite by chance when we were looking for a place to eat along the Galle- Unawatuna road. What we liked best is that they have a private stretch of beach and the restaurant starts right at the edge. The food was the best we had in Sri Lanka. The taste of the salad which we were served along with our grilled chicken is something which we will not foget too soon.

The only complain which we have is of the service. The staff was very inattentive and you have to keep waiting for someone to come and take your order. Also, once they serve you, they disappear- dont know why.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shradhanjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I contacted them for reservations yesterday and I was told that Sri Gemunu will close down for renovations for a few months. They were not sure of when they will be ready, certainly not in May, June and July. The beach 100 meters to the left is fantastic.

The rooms are basic, clean but I would advice those with small children to check out the balconies and railings. Some railings are quite big and a toddler can fall through. Only the ground floor rooms are suitable for families with small children. The floor where thriple rooms are, have very dangerous railings.

I hope the renovations will take care of the un child friendly balconies and railings on stairs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gitane_in_zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pussewala, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sri Gemunu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

This is just a misunderstanding and we did not take any reservation the month May 2014 due to some renovation Project. But our hotel operation is back to normal again.

Thanks .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for relaxation. The view, food, and staff were wonderful. The communal space and view from our room was amazing. We will hopefully be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a great time visiting just last week. The service was good and the views were wonderful. Th staff were pleasant. Be careful with the sun though - we got severely burned!! Will plan to go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for four nights at Sri Gemunu with our 2 children. The staff were smiling and helpful. From the balcony we had a beautiful view of the beach. The buffet was nice, authentic and varied. The sea just outside the hotel is quite rough, but 200 meters down the beach there is a nice lagoon. It´s a nice swimming area for children, but the snorkeling was not the best. We did though see an octopus and some small fish.
It´s a good place from which to explore south Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tureh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I can't say enough good things! We stayed for 6 nights in one of the 2 chalets, which are a stunning ten minute walk up the road from the main hotel. They are situated in their own private garden which is amazing. It's full of wildlife and this is also where the pool and spa facilities are located. We pretty much had the whole thing to our selves as the other chalet was only in use for two nights. This was exactly what we were looking for, as we'd covered a lot of ground in the first week of our trip so really wanted to relax for the second week. The chalets were lovely, with a kitchenette and plenty of other stuff to make you feel at home. They even had proper satellite tv, which was handy for watching the odd late night game of football when my girlfriend had fallen asleep!

Aruna and his staff were nothing short of top class. Their service really is amazing. They helped me out hugely when I hurt my shoulder and needed to go the the hospital in Galle. Even covering my bill and letting me pay them back later as I had no bank card with me. But the service from the first minute to the last was great.

The main hotel is located on a really nice stretch of beach, part of which is protected by an off shore reef which makes it safe for swimming which seems to be an unusual thing in Sri Lanka due to the waves. Sadly due to my injured shoulder I wasn't able to make the most of it, but the injury is a testament to how rough the sea can be, as it happened in the sea in Mirissa.

The food was also great, and for £66 per night half board we couldn't believe our luck at what we'd found, and I was really sad to leave. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had the most perfect stay at Sri Gemunu Beach Resort. We stayed a week over Christmas and have never before experienced such tasteful dinners! Perfect location right on the beach and felt good that there is a life-guard every day. Beach towels provided and we never missed or needed a pool. Very kind, attentative and forthcoming staff. Our rooms in the older original building were basic but comfortable - thanks for the artistic bed-making every day! Pick-up at airport in the midle of the night was no problem. We had perfect communication with Mr. Aruna who always responded straight away to our questions and wishes for our round-trip. If you decide to book a tour - which we did - ask for Ishan to be your driver, we really can recommend him. Be specific about what type of hotel you would like on the tour, most of the hotels are situated beautifully but not in walking distance from the towns, which can be nice after a days driving. All in all a delightfull and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiDanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
943 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
483 reviews
0 mi away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Gemunu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £51 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sri Gemunu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Gemunu Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing