We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Pleszew, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good holidays”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife me and 2 small children (2 and 5 years old) stayed at Sri Gemunu 2 weeks. We had wonderful time there. We stayed in bungalows (challe) about 800 meteres far from the hotel. It was in beautiful garden, we feeled like in a jungle. We were there alone so it was like a private villa. There is a swimming pool and also small one for kids. Every morning we had wonderful walk to to main hotel for breakfast. We saw like the jungle was waking up :))) Also we met many village people and see how they live, passing by kids going to school and other things. Thats the value you don't get it in the hotel.
The main hotel is located at the sea from one side and from other side is overcrowded road you have to be fast and cautious to cross it because so many cars passing all day.
The hotel is quite nice, beach good especially one houndred meters on the left its perfect for kids becuse no waves protected by the reef. In other places the sea is rough perfect for surfers.
Food well the dinner was fantastic-perfect typical lankan foods my kids miss much for desserts perfect also. Only the breakfast was i should say weak compare to other hotels we stayed before. Only eggs, tost its good for french people but not for POles. Ok if we wanted sausages or cheese we get it but we had to ask. It should be changed.
I should say a few words about the staff.
THey so friendly and helpful like we never had before. Bala the gardener perfect, also Podi the driver who give as a lift to challe in the evening is the great person. Also the waiters and reception man very helpful. It really increase the value of our stay. Staff is perfect !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakub S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    99
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
133
238
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch, location is superb especially if the stilt fisherman are here. Food is ok but it's not in any way superb as mentioned in other reviews, good service, all in all worth visiting for lunch. A little tip is to pack your swimming costume

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent a great 2 days and 1 night here (May 20, 2014).
The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful.
The hotel is right on the beach with a lovely palm-tree terrace looking out on the sea with some fishermen's stilts right in front. Although by the road, the ony thing you hear once you are in the hotel is the waves and the wind in the palm trees.
As it is a bit (short three-wheeler) drive out of town we chose to have dinner at the hotel and were positively surprised by the tasty Sri Lankan food which our waiter showed us how to eat Sri Lankan style (with our fingers).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tankred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We discovered this place quite by chance when we were looking for a place to eat along the Galle- Unawatuna road. What we liked best is that they have a private stretch of beach and the restaurant starts right at the edge. The food was the best we had in Sri Lanka. The taste of the salad which we were served along with our grilled chicken is something which we will not foget too soon.

The only complain which we have is of the service. The staff was very inattentive and you have to keep waiting for someone to come and take your order. Also, once they serve you, they disappear- dont know why.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shradhanjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I contacted them for reservations yesterday and I was told that Sri Gemunu will close down for renovations for a few months. They were not sure of when they will be ready, certainly not in May, June and July. The beach 100 meters to the left is fantastic.

The rooms are basic, clean but I would advice those with small children to check out the balconies and railings. Some railings are quite big and a toddler can fall through. Only the ground floor rooms are suitable for families with small children. The floor where thriple rooms are, have very dangerous railings.

I hope the renovations will take care of the un child friendly balconies and railings on stairs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gitane_in_zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pussewala, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sri Gemunu Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
This is just a misunderstanding and we did not take any reservation the month May 2014 due to some renovation Project. But our hotel operation is back to normal again.

Thanks .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahboula, Kuwait
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for relaxation. The view, food, and staff were wonderful. The communal space and view from our room was amazing. We will hopefully be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a great time visiting just last week. The service was good and the views were wonderful. Th staff were pleasant. Be careful with the sun though - we got severely burned!! Will plan to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
2.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Gemunu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Property: Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sri Gemunu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Gemunu Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing