We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“idyllic place to relax or surf” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“idyllic place to relax or surf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We wanted to relax a view days at the beach before our trip through Sri Lanka. Therefore the Sri Gemunu Beach Resort was exactly the right choice.

The breakfast (fruit plate, bread and eggs in any form, fruit juice and a hot beverage) was very good. We also had the dinner included. We could choose any 3 courses from the a la carte menu, which I prefere instead of a buffet. (I think that was just because it was off season)

At the dinner one of the owners came to us every day and answered our questions and helped a lot with our trip.
In fact we didnt think every thing through while planing our trip, so he helped to re- organize it. They know a number of drivers with fair prices and have a lot of very useful tipps for tourists.

Just be aware of the jewelry store which one of the brothers ownes- he really trys to make you buy something.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms just have milk glas windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PisangGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    96
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
128
238
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our two babies (ages 5 months and 2 years old) for 6 nights in July and we had a wonderful experience! The staff was the most attentive of any hotel we've ever stayed in. There was always someone there to help watch our babies while we ate, which was so helpful. They even watched our 5 month old in the evenings while we showered after spending time at the beach. The food was excellent. We ended up eating breakfast, lunch, and dinner there everyday and enjoyed all the meals. The chef was always willing to prepare dinner early for our 2 year old since dinner didn't begin till around 7:30. The hotel is well-kept and the location is like you're in paradise. We loved having the grass/sand area that was shaded for our son to play in. The hotel arranged a driver to take us to colombo at the end of our stay who was excellent, and even provided 2 car seats for our little ones. If you're planning on visiting Unawatuna, you should definitely stay at the Sri Gemunu Resort.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smallworldtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Beautiful hotel situated directly at a wonderful beach some kilometers east of Unawatuna.

Very friendly and attentive staff, beautifully decorated rooms and tables. Breakfast buffet was fantastic, dinner buffet was varied and good. Our nice and clean room (without A/C) was on the first floor with a view of the beach.

In summary, the most beautiful place we have ever stayed at. We can't wait to go there again.

Room Tip: Our room (first floor, without A/C) was perfect. We'd choose the same next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weltensprinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleszew, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife me and 2 small children (2 and 5 years old) stayed at Sri Gemunu 2 weeks. We had wonderful time there. We stayed in bungalows (challe) about 800 meteres far from the hotel. It was in beautiful garden, we feeled like in a jungle. We were there alone so it was like a private villa. There is a swimming pool and also small one for kids. Every morning we had wonderful walk to to main hotel for breakfast. We saw like the jungle was waking up :))) Also we met many village people and see how they live, passing by kids going to school and other things. Thats the value you don't get it in the hotel.
The main hotel is located at the sea from one side and from other side is overcrowded road you have to be fast and cautious to cross it because so many cars passing all day.
The hotel is quite nice, beach good especially one houndred meters on the left its perfect for kids becuse no waves protected by the reef. In other places the sea is rough perfect for surfers.
Food well the dinner was fantastic-perfect typical lankan foods my kids miss much for desserts perfect also. Only the breakfast was i should say weak compare to other hotels we stayed before. Only eggs, tost its good for french people but not for POles. Ok if we wanted sausages or cheese we get it but we had to ask. It should be changed.
I should say a few words about the staff.
THey so friendly and helpful like we never had before. Bala the gardener perfect, also Podi the driver who give as a lift to challe in the evening is the great person. Also the waiters and reception man very helpful. It really increase the value of our stay. Staff is perfect !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakub S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch, location is superb especially if the stilt fisherman are here. Food is ok but it's not in any way superb as mentioned in other reviews, good service, all in all worth visiting for lunch. A little tip is to pack your swimming costume

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent a great 2 days and 1 night here (May 20, 2014).
The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful.
The hotel is right on the beach with a lovely palm-tree terrace looking out on the sea with some fishermen's stilts right in front. Although by the road, the ony thing you hear once you are in the hotel is the waves and the wind in the palm trees.
As it is a bit (short three-wheeler) drive out of town we chose to have dinner at the hotel and were positively surprised by the tasty Sri Lankan food which our waiter showed us how to eat Sri Lankan style (with our fingers).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tankred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We discovered this place quite by chance when we were looking for a place to eat along the Galle- Unawatuna road. What we liked best is that they have a private stretch of beach and the restaurant starts right at the edge. The food was the best we had in Sri Lanka. The taste of the salad which we were served along with our grilled chicken is something which we will not foget too soon.

The only complain which we have is of the service. The staff was very inattentive and you have to keep waiting for someone to come and take your order. Also, once they serve you, they disappear- dont know why.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shradhanjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Gemunu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Property: Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Address: Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sri Gemunu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Gemunu Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing