We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“lovely place”
Reviewed 23 March 2011

The villas are in a great position to visit suurounding beaches and Galle. The spot right on the beach is sensational and the design of the villas is stunning. Nice place to spend some down time.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sim126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    90
    20
    5
    9
See reviews for
116
264
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

My boyfriend and I spent 1 night at The Frangipani Tree whilst in Sri Lanka. Arriving by tuk-tuk from Galle train station, we were welcomed into what is simply a stunning hotel. The staff couldn't have been more charming, nothing was too much trouble. The standard of the food was excellent - couldn't fault it.
The room was wonderful (we stayed in Leatherback) - as was the quirky outdoor bathroom.
I wish we'd had the chance to spend more time here.
If looking to for a treat - head into Galle to the gorgeous Amangalla Hotel for afternoon tea (£6 per person).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This is a beautiful holiday destination. The staff are wonderful, the hotel and beaches are like the ones you see on post cards. We will definitely come back and enjoy this piece of paradise. We have travelled extensively around the world and this was one of our highlights, the only thing I was upset about was that we should have extended our stay for an extra week!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2011

When we stumbled upon The Frangipani Tree in August 2010, we knew it was the perfect place to have our dream wedding by the sea. The warm and inviting manner of the owner Shahzad and manager Wojtek won us over as soon as we walked in, and we made our booking the very next day. The sprawling grounds, relaxed sophistication of the decor, the amazing outdoor bathrooms and the stunning natural beauty of the surroundings had us so excited to descend on the venue with friends and family, fill up the villa and enjoy every minute of our special time. We were not disappointed when we arrived for our stay/event 4 months later. The food was excellent and the staff eager to please. Led by the capable and calm Wojtek, the staff went above and beyond and everyone worked so very hard to make our wedding spectacular. They were resourceful, accommodating and good-humored in facing any challenges that came up (and there are many, with any wedding!) and made gave us all wonderful memories to take home and last a lifetime. We wish we could do it again! :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalGal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We spent 5 nights at the Frangipani Tree and absolutely loved the place. We normally eschew the "barefoot luxury" concept, but The Frangipani Tree is really classy in an uncomplicated and utterly relaxed way. From the moment we were greeted by the friendly staff and saw the beautiful aspect of the pool and the view down towards the beach we knew we would enjoy our stay.

The place is very child friendly - as a childless romantic pair we often see that as a negative - but the place is spacious and well equipped to keep all guests happy.

The food was excellent - simple cooking done extremely well and with the chance to ask the chef to get you stuff you fancy and prepare it just how you like. For example, we feasted on crabs one night and jumbo prawns another as a special request.

The staff were simply delightful and just seemed to take great delight in finding ways to look after us. We like to play tennis early and soon found that the itchen staff were delighted to bring us some breakfast juice at a suitable stage in our game. We also played garden cricket with the staff and other guests during the lull between lunch and dinner a couple of afternoons.

And if by chance you are lovers of "tame wildlife", it is the place for you - we got to meet a variety of lizards, monkeys and even soap-stealing squirrels without leaving the resort!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanLHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2011

i truely enjoyed my stay at there. The service was personalized and the food was fresh and amazing!! Great place to relax with just the right amount of privacy. Was part of a larger wedding crowd. Enjoyed every part of the hotel from the villa and common areas to the beach and pool.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rasbeih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This place is very special - Wojtek and the staff took good care of us and did an amazing job of making our stay truly memorable. The rooms are large and the ones we stayed in had an outdoor shower. The architecture of this place is unique - At night the place looks truly magical - lit with candles. We had a candle lit dinner by the pool overlooking the ocean and it was a great experience. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namrata_rao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
2.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
2.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
901 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
607 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
424 reviews
2.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection

Property: The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Address: 812 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend Time with Sea Turtles and Sparrows who visit this beautiful property Set on an improbable juxtaposition of simplicity and luxury overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean. The Frangipani Tree is sun, sand, trees, culinary, sensuous and spiritual indulgences among Intimate, Exclusive and Elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Tree Hotel Unawatuna
Frangipani Tree Galle
Frangipani Tree Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing