We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel manager especially helpful.

Great food but not a huge vegetarian selection although the kitchen staff were very willing to adapt other dishes. The curry was delicious!

Good location, close to beaches for swimming/surfing and Galle.

Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia0987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    88
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
115
262
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
home
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

After touring Sri Lanka for just over two weeks the Frangipani Tree was an excellent place to stay and relax. The staff were very attentive and the rooms airy, spacious and well appointed. The grounds were tidy and relaxing. The food was excellent and I would recommend staying here for a relaxing time.

Room Tip: Room 1 Large ,first floor, excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Just had a wonderful four nights here. The hotel is lovely: very small so you get a really personal touch. The staff are so friendly and can't do enough for you. I loved our outside bathroom: you really have to see it to get the feel. The thousands (yes, thousands) of little birds (swallows? Martins?) that descended on the palm trees at 6.30 every evening were the most moving sight (we were there in March but were warned they would soon be migrating). Great fun going to the beach at 5ish every evening to watch the turtles popping their heads up above the waves.
A real treat for anyone who appreciates peace, beauty and nature. Oh, and the food was pretty good too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Frangipani hotel for a week prior to our daughter's wedding. I cannot praise Justyna and her team enough, for all the hard work they did to make our daughter's wedding a wonderful and memorable day. We took over the hotel completely, and it was decorated with fairy lights,candles, lanterns in the trees, and the food was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. Having organised another daughters wedding in our own garden...this was by far much easier, and I enjoyed myself immensely! I would recommend anyone to stay here, whether to just relax and enjoy the view, the pool, the food, or to celebrate a special occasion.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 257CMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We visited Frangipani after two weeks around the country and the service was impeccable. I am a swimmer and the lap pool was amazing. The sound of the waves out side was so calming and the grounds were gorgeous. We were happy with the tuk-tuk driver that the hotel chose for us as he was a surfer and brought us to some of the surf breaks nearby as well as to downtown Galle.
The food was fantastic both here and at the sister hotel in Galle (Fort Printers); fresh Sri Lankan curries and delicious lamb dishes.

Highly recommended for a relaxing luxury. Beach not swim able but surf able and can walk a few minutes to beautiful swimming.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynBid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful boutique hotel in a wonderful country. Just a small tuk tuk ride away from Galle. Wonderfully spacious and well appointed rooms overlooking the ocean where turtles seem to appear on request. Food exquisite and staff very attentive.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Petrolhead65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We saved this hotel for the end of our two week trip to Sri Lanka. What a treat! The grounds were lush and beautiful. The pool sparkling and refreshing. Justyna the host was lovely and she showed us our immaculate room and amazing bathroom complete with an outdoor shower! Breakfast was absolutely delicious and plentiful. The whole experience was peaceful and relaxing. Would love to be back there now. This was by far the best hotel in all of Sri Lanka!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TolaMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
2.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
683 reviews
2.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
889 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
413 reviews
11.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection

Property: The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Address: 812 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend Time with Sea Turtles and Sparrows who visit this beautiful property Set on an improbable juxtaposition of simplicity and luxury overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean. The Frangipani Tree is sun, sand, trees, culinary, sensuous and spiritual indulgences among Intimate, Exclusive and Elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Tree Hotel Unawatuna
Frangipani Tree Galle
Frangipani Tree Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing