We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here at the end of a very enjoyable holiday travelling around Sri Lanka and found it be a lovely place to unwind. Staying 4 nights allowed us to actually unpack and relax. We stayed in one of the Olive Ridley Upper rooms which must rank as one of the largest rooms we've ever stayed in with windows running full length on three walls with wonderful sea views. The bathroom was equally sizeable with again stunning views of the sea. Justyna was very friendly and helpful as were all the staff and we had no complaints whatsoever. The pool was clean and inviting although you are warned about not swimming in the sea due to the under water currents. Tuk tuks were readily available from outside the hotel and relatively cheap to get around in to Galle and other nearby places. The food was more than acceptable for us, but if you wanted to have dinner there, you had to place your order by mid afternoon. I guess that at least means it was fresh produce. Perhaps a more varied menu would be appreciated if you were to stay any longer. In all, a wonderful few days and certainly a place to recommend.

Room Tip: I would certainly recommend the Olive Ridley Upper rooms if available because of the size and wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveb92_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

If you want to stay behind a busy main road and a railway track you may find this acceptable. The sliver of beach is either covered by water or debris; the sea view is partially obstructed by a high grass bank, and the food and service are below standard. The outside bathroom would have been quite good fun if it had not been almost next to the busy road, adjacent to that of the bathroom adjoined to the next room, and the bath dirty!
The management did it's best to make us happier, even offering an upgrade to a slightly better room but we still left after the first night!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Boris2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelbanker, Owner at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are sorry that we fell short of your expectations. I believe that your travel agent booked the wrong place and the wrong room for your stay. We have two categories of rooms: 7 ocean front rooms and 2 courtyard view rooms which vary in price. Of course the courtyard rooms are less expensive but the same category except for the location. Your travel agent booked you for a courtyard view room when you were expecting an ocean front room. Our staff tried to please you by offer of an ocean front room on a complimentary basis even though you had been booked in a courtyard view room by no fault of ours. As you have rightfully acknowledged that we tried to make your stay pleasant by offering complimentary meals but you had decided to move to a different place and were more worried about the cancellation charges that may arise upon your early departure.
We are located on the Thalpe stretch of beach where most high end villas and boutique hotels in Thalpe are located and at times the road is busy and there is a railway track parallel to the road albeit quite a distance. We are over 2 acres deep to the beach and the ocean front rooms can barely hear any noise from the road and may be a faint noise of the passing of the railway carriages which adds to the charm of the place.
The outdoor bathrooms are frequently cleaned by our staff as they are open to the elements and trees and collect leaves and fallen frangipani tree flowers. I am sorry that you found them unclean for that reason. For us that is the charm of the outdoor bathrooms and we accept that it is not suitable for all guests. Again, your travel agent should have been able to describe better your place of stay. We hope we can serve you better on your next visit in an ocean view room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel manager especially helpful.

Great food but not a huge vegetarian selection although the kitchen staff were very willing to adapt other dishes. The curry was delicious!

Good location, close to beaches for swimming/surfing and Galle.

Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia0987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

After touring Sri Lanka for just over two weeks the Frangipani Tree was an excellent place to stay and relax. The staff were very attentive and the rooms airy, spacious and well appointed. The grounds were tidy and relaxing. The food was excellent and I would recommend staying here for a relaxing time.

Room Tip: Room 1 Large ,first floor, excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Just had a wonderful four nights here. The hotel is lovely: very small so you get a really personal touch. The staff are so friendly and can't do enough for you. I loved our outside bathroom: you really have to see it to get the feel. The thousands (yes, thousands) of little birds (swallows? Martins?) that descended on the palm trees at 6.30 every evening were the most moving sight (we were there in March but were warned they would soon be migrating). Great fun going to the beach at 5ish every evening to watch the turtles popping their heads up above the waves.
A real treat for anyone who appreciates peace, beauty and nature. Oh, and the food was pretty good too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Frangipani hotel for a week prior to our daughter's wedding. I cannot praise Justyna and her team enough, for all the hard work they did to make our daughter's wedding a wonderful and memorable day. We took over the hotel completely, and it was decorated with fairy lights,candles, lanterns in the trees, and the food was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. Having organised another daughters wedding in our own garden...this was by far much easier, and I enjoyed myself immensely! I would recommend anyone to stay here, whether to just relax and enjoy the view, the pool, the food, or to celebrate a special occasion.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank 257CMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We visited Frangipani after two weeks around the country and the service was impeccable. I am a swimmer and the lap pool was amazing. The sound of the waves out side was so calming and the grounds were gorgeous. We were happy with the tuk-tuk driver that the hotel chose for us as he was a surfer and brought us to some of the surf breaks nearby as well as to downtown Galle.
The food was fantastic both here and at the sister hotel in Galle (Fort Printers); fresh Sri Lankan curries and delicious lamb dishes.

Highly recommended for a relaxing luxury. Beach not swim able but surf able and can walk a few minutes to beautiful swimming.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CynBid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
979 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 34 in Unawatuna
318 reviews
2.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 34 in Unawatuna
476 reviews
2 mi away
KK Beach
KK Beach
#10 of 34 in Unawatuna
61 reviews
2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection

Address: 812 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £198 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend Time with Sea Turtles and Sparrows who visit this beautiful property Set on an improbable juxtaposition of simplicity and luxury overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean. The Frangipani Tree is sun, sand, trees, culinary, sensuous and spiritual indulgences among Intimate, Exclusive and Elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Tree Hotel Unawatuna
Frangipani Tree Galle
Frangipani Tree Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing