We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less substance than style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

When we arrived at the Frangipani Tree we were really blown away. The grounds and buildings are just beautiful. They had planned to put us in one of the larger upstairs rooms but we requested a change to something with outdoor space to accommodate my smoker husband, and they were quick to assist and gave us a choice of rooms overlooking the sea with our own private terrace. We chose one set off away from other rooms for privacy. We had a stunning outdoor bathroom and very spacious bedroom. However there are a few things that didn't feel lived up to the standard of the accommodation. There are no phones in the room, so if you need anything such as food or drinks you have to go and hunt for someone to provide it. Also there are no curtains or fly screens on the windows so if you want to quickly get changed or something you have to open the windows, close the shutters and then open them all up again. It also means you can't stay in the room with the windows open for fear of bugs. How a hotel of this calibre can fail to provide wi if in rooms I don't know. It's my choice if I choose to 'switch off' from the outside world or not and having to go and sit at the restaurant every time I needed to get online was a pain. Lastly, despite the location of our room I didn't feel we got the privacy we wanted. On our first day the staff weren't busy ( the hotel was almost empty) so they started up a game of cricket. Right next to our room where I was trying to sunbathe. I don't begrudge anyone a break when it's quiet, but why they had to choose to do it right next to where I was lying I don't know and at one stage I got hit by the ball. The quietness of the hotel also meant that we felt we were just being watched by the numerous staff. It didn't feel helpful, it felt nosey. I was also put out that the staff seemed to feel it was ok to go in and out of our room at their own discretion. Having left some sunglasses and a kindle outside the room one day we returned from the pool to find them inside the bedroom. The staff later told us it was because there have been a number of thefts from people passing on the beach which is understandable, but surely they should come and ask before wandering in and out of the rooms? We were considering staying a third night but this issue with the staff made us choose not to and we moved on. It's a shame as when it's busier this probably isn't an issue, but I found it really intrusive. Frangipani Tree is so close to being a great place but it's just not quite there yet.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ManamaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had three nights at this amazing property and did not want to leave. It is about 20 minutes from Galle, right on the beach. We found this area to have the most amazing coastline. Our room was enormous with an outdoor/indoor bathroom, signature concrete everything and a super comfortable bed. Justina the manager is fantastic and makes sure you feel right at home.

There is no mini bar but you don't need it. Anything you need, just ask. I came back from an early morning walk and was asked if i'd like tea or coffee brought to my room - that's the service i love. The pool is right in the middle of the property and is a great place to relax. The food is so good, as are the cocktails.

You can't swim in the sea out the front but walk around the beach about 10 minutes and there is a beautiful little bay you can swim in - just gorgeous. My husband went surfing with some locals right outside the hotel and had a great time. Take a tuk tuk and explore some of the local area - Justina and her team will organise for you.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nessams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at this beautiful propery for 9 nights and had our wedding and honeymood there, and this stay was truly amazing! The hotel is superb, with its minimalistic design, quiet grounds and fabulous ocean view. There are only 9 rooms, and all feels so private, like you are on your own! In the beginning we stayed at the Leatherback villa with outside bathroom - a must try for me, where else you can take shower and watch birds ans see the sky? And on our wedding day we were moved to one of Olive Ridley rooms - and they are spacious! All rooms are beachfront, so really you dont need to ask for that in advance.
The hotel staff had really made everything to make our wedding so perfect, romantic and memorable. I cant thank you guys enough - Shahzad Malik, Justina, Nuwan and Madushani (you got stunning smile, by the way!) - everything was organized, well managed and flawless from the time we started to exchange emails. And the photos and video we got are fantastic. So if anyone is planning a wedding trip or honeymoon - know that these are the right people to come to.
In fact, we hardly ever got out of the hotel, the atmosphere there is so relaxing that we just did not want to ))) Anyway, tuk-tuk guys are always there, just make sure you discuss your trip before you get in ;)))
And have no hesitations about having meals at the hotel, the chef is a master and makes delicios dishes.
We will definitely try to come back there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ольга К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We could unfortunately only stay one night as the hotel was full after that. The room was beautiful and huge, and the outdoor bathroom with the bathtub under a frangipani tree spectacular. The pool is large and very stylish, and the view from it to the ocean amazing. The small beach is nice and unspoilt (can't swim there though). We had dinner in the evening which was delicious. Staff are nice (but the service could be a bit faster at times - we did wait quite a long time for a beer…)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustrianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed with my wife and two sons, aged 13 and 11, for 7 nights from 4th April 2014. I have to say that we all really enjoyed our stay. The room was modern, clean and perfect for us. The hotel environment relaxing, beautiful and a place to look forward to returning to after trips out into Galle or elsewhere. Lovely long and narrow pool and a stunning beach. Shame that swimming in the sea there is not advisable due to rip currents as it looks so enticing. Manchu the Tuk Tuk driver was a star and showed us around everywhere so don't hesitate in using him.
The food was great and I enjoyed the Sri Lankan curries. The only criticism is a tad more variety for children please and some variety for breakfast would have been welcome. It was delicious, but having exactly the same for 7 mornings does wear thin. Be warned also that this is a lovely small hotel so don't expect any entertainment for your kids. You have to organise that yourself.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had our wedding at the Frangipani Tree on the 12th April, it exceeded our expectations in every way. The service, organisation, celebrant, food, setting, photography, fire eaters, drummers, dancers, jazz band and sparrows all made for a magical wedding for us and our guests. We stayed here for two nights and the outdoor bathroom was wonderful particularly to have our full body ayurvedic massages. A massive thankyou to Shahzad, Justyna, Wojciech, Henri and all the staff for giving us such wonderful memories, we will so definitely be back! Jo and Paul Michelmore

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had the warmest welcome from Justyna and our stay was just perfect. We stayed in Hawksbill 1 which had a fabulous, spacious bedroom and the most incredible outdoor bathroom. Having your own outside space with the ocean view was super. We stayed when there were quite a few young families staying and instead of lying by the pool we enjoyed the quieter space at our room. The atmosphere was relaxed but we felt we had luxury accommodation. The food was super, delicious sea food served when you wanted to eat by very friendly staff. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank juandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
945 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
298 reviews
2.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
11.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
2 mi away
KK Beach
KK Beach
#14 of 33 in Unawatuna
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection

Address: 812 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £190 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend Time with Sea Turtles and Sparrows who visit this beautiful property Set on an improbable juxtaposition of simplicity and luxury overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean. The Frangipani Tree is sun, sand, trees, culinary, sensuous and spiritual indulgences among Intimate, Exclusive and Elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Tree Hotel Unawatuna
Frangipani Tree Galle
Frangipani Tree Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing