We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2008

If you are looking for a slice of paradise, The Frangipani Tree, in Galle is the place to come. After 4 days here we felt truly relaxed and re-energised. The villas are spacious and tastefully decorated ;set in beautiful grounds with a stunning view of the ocean. Each room has a courtyard bathroom in which one can have a bath in the shade of a frangipani tree!
The food was delicious - the chef is a real find. All the food was freshly prepared and he accommodated all the tastes of our family of fussy eaters. The chocolate cake was to die for! There is no need to go and eat anywhere else. The kids were content to swim in the beautiful infinity pool or walk along the beach. If you want to leave your sun lounger, then the fortress town of Galle is 10 mins away by tuk - tuk (three- wheeled taxi) but otherwise we could have easily just stayed put at The Frangipani Tree for 2 weeks and forgotten about the outside world.
The Hull family

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Duniaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2008

We booked for 5 nights beach and fort stay at Fort Printers and Frangipani. Both the places are beautiful. Fort Printers is an exotic mansion with a lot of old world charm. We stayed there for 1 night in Prefect's as we wanted to be bythe pool. The room is beautiful with an old cast iron bath tub in the bathroom. The pool is small and has an interesting faded look but it is great for a cool down after the walk from Galle town.

We really enjoyed our stay at Frangipani and was easily one of our best holidays ever. We had a huge room facing the beach on one side and the frangipani courtyard on the back. The place is beautiful with a long lap pool overlooking the ocean and a tennis court which is unusual for a small boutique place and is probably the only tennis court in the area. The staff are charming and very attentive, the food is fabulous with everything bought fresh every day. You feel like you are staying at a friend's villa where you are an important guest. We will recommend it whole heartedly to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Y_H_ALWAYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We had a wonderful time at The Frangipani Tree. The location is beautiful on a secluded beach, the architecture outstanding and the staff very attentive. We think the place has the best food of our stay in Sri Lanka as well - the jumbo prawns were fantastic. All in all a superb retreat. We cant wait to come back another time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DubaiWorld_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We had a wonderful time at Frangipani with excellent food and delightful service.

The Swimming pool was Fabulous...Kid and we really enjoy it.

Raul and Family from London

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank raulvillacrusis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We initially tried to book the Fort Printers and then saw the promotion for The Frangipani Tree and decided to take the promotion package for 5 nights. The hotel arranged for airport pick up and even sent pillows and blankets and cold dinks. We arrived in the early hours of the morning at the Fort Printers. Despite the late hour, the manager was there to show us to our room, the headmasters' room which is beatifully done with a mix of Chinese and contemporay furniture and has a hip copper -lined shower room. I loved the raised platform bed and views of the lighthouse and the street leading to the harbour. The breakfast at the Fort Printers was divine. Fresh fruits, passion fruit juice, fresh curd, eggs cooked to order and home made breads.

We thought that the Fort Printers was beautiful and almost decided to change our entire stay at the place. Little did we know. We were urged to check out The Frangipani Tree for lunch and then decide. Wow. What an amazing place The Frangipani Tree turned out to be. Now, we dicided to change our booking to The Frangipani Tree instead of spending another night at the Fort Printers.

We had the most wonderful stay in Sri Lanka at the Frangipani. The place is right on the beach and has 4 villas (really 3 villas) and an office suite. We stayed in Leatherback which has direct ocean views and its own verandah with dining table and sofa bed and is right next to the beautiful azure lap pool. The room is done up in contemporary style with a four poster bed, built in sofa and an open garden bathroom with both shower and a bath tub in the garden. As we were lucky to have mostly sunny weather, we lounged around and swam and played on the beach. There is a long stretch of beach in front of the place and a swimming spot (we were told) although the sea looked too rough to swim. It did not matter much as we used the pool to stay in shape with all the delicious food. Speaking of which, the chef is really talented and made wonderful Sri Lankan and Australian pacific rim specilaities such as ceviche with passion fruit and coconut, grilled fish, tuna tataki, and chili crabs on our last night. Absolutely fabulous. Nothing more to say. The food could easily be from some of the more expensive Melbourne restaurants at a modest price (USD25 for three courses). The staff were helpful and became friends at the end of our trip. We would highly recommend it to anyone we can send to The Frangipani. This is what boutique places should be like!!!

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank sarah_george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Vicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank inessa-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
946 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
300 reviews
2.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
455 reviews
11.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
2 mi away
KK Beach
KK Beach
#13 of 33 in Unawatuna
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection

Address: 812 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £191 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend Time with Sea Turtles and Sparrows who visit this beautiful property Set on an improbable juxtaposition of simplicity and luxury overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean. The Frangipani Tree is sun, sand, trees, culinary, sensuous and spiritual indulgences among Intimate, Exclusive and Elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Tree Hotel Unawatuna
Frangipani Tree Galle
Frangipani Tree Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing