We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2010

The Frangipani Tree is fantastic and it is perfect for relaxation.

We booked - room and transfer from Colombo airport - directly with the hotel - and the response was prompt and courteous. We used PayPal to deposit the 25% of the total amount, the procedure was very simple.

Our bedroom was clean, spacious and modern, with four poster bed (with mosquito net) and a big sofa.
The bathroom was enormous, closed (because I dont' like open air bathroom) and clean.

Food was delicious, a special mention to the tuna sandwich (with salad and chips), it was very tasty!!
Lunches and dinners at the hotel were perfect: romantic setting and fantastic food, we ate specialties of Sri Lanka and a lot of fish (such as tuna, white fish, lobster).

In front of the hotel the beach was beautiful,with many coconut palm trees.
We walked on the beach and we were the only people on it...what a wonderful feeling!
Make sure you are near the beach around 5 pm to watch turtles swimming in the sea, it was amazing!

The sea - we were there at the end of march - was very rough and it was not safe for swimming.

Outside the hotel it was very easy to catch a tuk tuk, we visited the turtles hatchery in Habaraduwa and Handunugoda tea factory (a 140-year old white tea plantation) in Tittagalla.

The Staff was very friendly and helpful, thanks to everybody!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritafant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

We selected the frangipani tree to host our wedding abroad in February and we are so pleased that we did. We hired out the complete resort for 3 amazing days. All our family remarked how great it was so I feel I must post a review.
The planning for the wedding started way back last year with Shahzad, who I believe is the owner. His quick, detailed responses, together with his excellent communication skills convinced us to select them. We looked at various options but non could compare with the unique, personalised proposal that The Frangipani Tree had to offer.

Accommodation:
9 rooms, all very spacious, some with semi-outdoor bathrooms, some within the main house which are huge, both bedroom and bathroom. The design is amazing, very contemporary and beds very comfortable and large.

Complex:
Very spacious, excellently presented grounds, complete with tennis court, heated lap pool all facing out to the beautiful Thalpe beach. To the right, just a short walk away you will find the famous stilt fishermen! Make sure you are around at sun up, sun down to watch hundreds of thousands of the birds (bee eaters or humming birds I believe) coming home to roost. Very spectacular!

Staff:
All very professional, they seem to blend but are always there when you need them, which works great. A special mention for Nico who basically took over all the wedding organising on our arrival. He took all the stress away and contributed many of his ideas.

Food:
Didn’t have a bad meal, ate there each night. We were able to offer our wedding guests a choice of 3 meals on the wedding day and pretty much all our guests commented how nice they were.

Conclusion:
Would not hesitate in recommending The Frangipani Tree as a quick, chilled out holiday destination. Also, as a wedding venue. We had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dantheman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We had an amazing honeymoon. Nico and the staff treated us like old friends. The grounds were spacious so even when there were more guests we still had a lot of privacy. The food was delicious and excellent value and we could eat in the communal area or outside our room on the patio.

The outdoor bathroom in our room (Leatherback II) was great added to the experience.

We would also recommend the massage two doors down (can't remember the name sorry) and the turtle hatchery in Koggala (about 5 mins away by tuk-tuk) where we released turtles into the sea.

We had a very special trip and would definitely go back and recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiJoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

My friend and I heard many great things about the Frangipani Tree from others who had visited, and so decided to have a look when we visited Galle. From the outset, the staff was warm, friendly and very attentive - we were spoilt rotten while we lazed by the beautiful pool and private beach. The peace and serenity of the hotel was manifested in its simple yet tasteful decor (with all the right touches!), architecture and its small capacity - every guest had ample personal space. It was perfect for relaxation- before we knew it, we had spent 5 hours by the water doing nothing but enjoying the breeze, and simply being there- surely the best kind of holiday!

Worth mentioning is also the food - the management at Fort Printers and Frangipani Tree has put together an amazing menu with a delectable mix of traditional Sri Lankan food mixed with other fusion dishes. The freshness of the produce was unmistakable, but the chef's ability to bring out the best tastes in each of the ingredients is to be lauded. The tuna cerviche, 7-vegetable couscous, fish burrito, curries (that come with a delicious spread of vegetables, sambol and other small dishes) and lamb tagine were prepared with the utmost care and pride, and were all so yummy that the memory of our meals there always brings a smile to our faces and staunch resolution to return in the near future.

Despite leaving with a few mosquito bites on our legs (it's the tropics! we wouldn't have expected anything less), we left with full, satisfied bellies and warm hearts. Thank you for the most amazing time!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We were looking forward to our stay at the Frangipani as it looks even better in reality than it does on their website photos. We had pre-booked and paid a deposit to stay at the boutique hotel for five nights over New Year, along with our two young children. We’d confirmed a room with a sea view and indoor bathroom for the duration of our stay.
We visited the hotel a few days before check-in to have a look around and were more than happy as the hotel and grounds looked stunning. The hotel is on the water’s edge with nine rooms situated around a long swimming pool and well kept gardens. The atmosphere was tranquil and friendly. We were told everything was fine and check in was between 12-1pm.
When we arrived on our check-in date, we had to wait until 2.30pm for our room to be vacated, and then cleaned which was mildly annoying seeing as we’d enquired about check-in time. When being shown to our room we were led away from the block with the sea view to a courtyard room downstairs. When we asked why, we were told we were staying in this room for the night and would move once the other guests had vacated “our room” in the morning. We expressed our concern, especially as this room had an outside bathroom (the bathroom itself was beautiful, but with two young children susceptible to mosquito bites it wasn’t acceptable.)
The assistant manager, although trying to be helpful, was unsure how to deal with our concerns so left to call the manager. She returned with the guest, a gentleman from the room we were supposed to be in and urged him to look around our room in the hope he’d agree to swap. It was left to us to ‘negotiate’ with the man as the Asst Manager waited outside. Obviously we explained that we wouldn’t expect him to swap, and that it was the fault of the hotel but the situation was awkward for both parties nonetheless. After voicing our dissatisfaction at the service with the manager he agreed to let us have the room at half the rate. He made a point of later coming to see us to make sure things were ok. However, I later found out from another resident that the same thing had happened to their family, so this is obviously a tactic the hotel employ.
The hotel doesn’t come cheap. Usually you get what you pay for but sadly at the Frangipani that’s just not the case and it’s a shame as it could be fantastic here. The children loved the fresh water pool and there are tennis courts (if you can bear it in the heat) and a variety of games to keep you busy. There’s a lovely, communal lounge with all mod cons. Breakfast and dinner were a laid back affair where you could just sit and take in the lovely surroundings. Food was ok, although not the best we had in Unawatuna. Rooms were huge, relaxing (no TVs) and minimal in design - and the sea view if you get one, impressive. Apart from the rocky start, we did enjoy our stay here but service was extremely poor. The Asst Manageress tried to be as helpful as possible but in general it wasn’t up to scratch (breakfast could take up to two hours, and when that’s just fruit and toast it’s quite staggering. We also had to wait 50 minutes for starters as the hotel were serving “important guests the manager had sent from the Fort Printers”) The management of this hotel need to spend less time at their sister hotel, The Fort Printers and invest some time and money on their staff here so the expectation and standards are raised – especially if they continue to charge these rates. You can’t put it down to Sri-Lankan charm as it was just plain annoying. We stayed in a much cheaper hotel down the road (The Flower Garden) where the staff and service were impeccable. In fact, we checked out of the Frangipani and moved back there it was so much better. We also stayed at the Wallawwa in Columbo, another expensive boutique hotel which was fantastic and service wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHolidayBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Our four night stay here was heaven. The location couldn't be better:- on the beach, within easy reach [readily available tuk-tuks] of Galle,Unawatuna and the beautiful beaches a little further South which are more suited to swimming and surfing. The beach outside was lovely, turtle spotting at dusk and stilt fisherman on the doorstep!
The hotel:-
The rooms were lovely, spotlessly clean and superb bathrooms. The food was amazing, anything we ordered was provided, with a little notice, fish, prawns and lobster to die for. Picking coconuts from the trees and the staff preparing the coconut water. Bliss.
The service was impeccable with a real personal and individual touch.
The infinity pool seemingly stretching out into the Indian ocean, the tennis court and the cricket all kept the family happily entertained.
We all loved it, the out of town location was perfect for us, preferring the sound of the waves, the noise of the humming birds for half an hour each evening as they roosted to the sound of traffic anyday.

I've read the other reviews, yes there are mosquitos, as there always are in the tropics, so we use repellant and anti mossie mats are in the rooms as well as well maintained nets round the beds. The beach is not an ideal swimming out to sea beach but other beaches are easily accessible and a walk at dawn or dusk along this quiet often deserted beach more than compensated.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatsindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

How the people that created the wonderful Galle Fort Printers managed to muster this drab, cluster of shabby, style-free rooms I'll never know. Drapes and sheets grubby, holes in mossie nets that you could fly a 747 through and trash washed up on the beach. We were meant to stay three nights but bailed out after one. The manager is based at the Galle Fort Printers and he is a pretty cool guy. He sorted us a meal at the Fort Printers, which turned out to be one of the best I've ever had. It beggars belief that they could get the Printers so right and this so wrong. They really just need to bulldoze this gaff and start again. Please don't take offence, Mr manager, if you are reading. We really liked you and all you did to help, but this place just ain't working. It's overpriced for what it is - astonishing, given the good value on offer at the GFP - and leaves me feel cold and slightly depressed.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chachidaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warnathilaka, Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2009

These guests stayed at The Frangipani Tree in january 2009 and since then we have received nothing but favorable guest reviews some of which are listed on this website and which makes us believe that either we have sorted out the issues raised by this guest or that this guests experience at The Frangipani Tree may have been spoilt by his/her extreme dislike of the style of the place.

We are sorry that this guest did not have a positive experience at The Frangipani Tree. However, we feel that the comparison of The Frangipani Tree to Butlins (we have not been to Butlins but judging by their website representation) is not appropriate.

The Frangipani Tree is a small boutique hotel with 10 rooms in 4 villas, located on a secluded bay in Thalpe where most of the high end villas such as Apa Villa are located. We do not claim to provide a mass resort experience. Most of our rooms are directly facing the beach with garden bathrooms and individual sitting and dining areas. The rooms are furnished with custom designed furniture including some original Bawa design chairs. We use only fresh seafood and local to produce individually ordered meals and have received rave reviews about both the quality and individuality of cuisine.

We recognise that style is very personal and we cant hope to please everyone. This particular guest appears to appreciate only colonial renovations whereas The FrangipanI Tree is a modern interpretation of Bawa architecture design. It was designed by the heir apparent of Bawa, the leading Sri Lankan architect and has received glowing reviews from other guests some of which are listed on this website.

As the guests stayed at The FrangipanI Tree in January of 2009 and only now have posted this review, we wonder if they may have mixed up his/her reviews. We do not have drapes in rooms.
With regard to grubby sheets, as we are located directly on beach and exposed to see breeze, all our sheets and blankets are freshly laundered and stored in a dry room until used for guest rooms. So I am a bit surprised to hear this comment as none of our other guests has ever complained about it. We take the freshness of sheets and pillows very seriously and are rigorous in keeping them dry.

Similarly, it is possible that sometimes there may be a tear in mosquito net that does not get noticed. We regularly replace our mosquito nets as they do get tears from use. Again, all these guests had to do was ask for replacement or a change of room.

Again, it is possible that sometimes trash washes up on beaches or the beach is littered for various seasonal reasons but we have dedicated staff to clean and maintain the beach on a daily basis. Incidentally, it is the same beach as Apa Villa which has also been reviewed by this guest. In any event, we take note of the concerns raised by these guests and hope we can make them see the place in a different light on their next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
2.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
2.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
923 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
11.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection

Address: 812 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £164 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend Time with Sea Turtles and Sparrows who visit this beautiful property Set on an improbable juxtaposition of simplicity and luxury overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean. The Frangipani Tree is sun, sand, trees, culinary, sensuous and spiritual indulgences among Intimate, Exclusive and Elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Tree Hotel Unawatuna
Frangipani Tree Galle
Frangipani Tree Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing