We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The inconvenient grand hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Convenient Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Bang Phli
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The inconvenient grand hotel”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This is by no means a four star hotel! Litter surrounds the decaying swimming pool and the staff unhelpful. Lady on reception refused continuously to print off our flight boarding pass for us, claiming her boss (who didn't show up) was the only person capable of accessing the emails... Not ideal for peace of mind the night before a long flight.

On the upside, the food was quite good and not too bad price wise, however the place can only call itself convenient in an entirely ironic fashion.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    53
    50
    24
    25
See reviews for
25
79
24
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Service is poor beyond belief. Staff spend time watching TV in the restaurant and you can't print anything off (such as a boarding ppass, which at an airport hotel is beyond belief) without the manager being there. It seems extremely quiet and it's no surprise. Moreover, upon arrival we were given the key to an already occupied room... makes you worry as to your own security.

Hotel itself is not of 4 star standard. TV wouldn't look out of place on Only Fools and Horses. Food a rare highlight, to use the term lightly.

Don't stay here. I'd rather have slept outside under some tarporlin.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JP_Jonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

What a mistake! Never again!! It's gone downhill in every aspect!!! We'd stayed here 2 years ago, and decided to book again in advance for our 2 overnight lay-overs in Bangkok.
a) It used to be nice & quiet... Now they cater to large bus groups of Chinese, who (on both our stays, were loud, obnoxious, and inconsiderate of the other guests in the hotel.
b) The hotel used to have free shuttle service to & from the airport. Now they charge for pick-up from the airport. Even though we didn't need to use the shuttle to go to the airport, they still charged us for coming FROM the airport.
c) Be prepared to be 'nickel and dime'-d to death. There is an extra charge for just about everything. There is a ridiculous hourly charge if you want late check-out. They have an inflated exchange rate for Thai Baht, and there is nowhere nearby to get exchange, so you are at their mercy. Their snack bar charges outrageous prices. The restaurant food is acceptable, but the price for alcoholic beverages is absurd.
d) There was NO wifi or internet service. They said the wifi was 'down temporarily' but they had a permanent sign on the front desk that looked like it had been there for a LONG time. Made me wonder if they just didn't pay their bill. I kept getting conflicting stories from different staff members. I dislike being lied to, and that's what I felt they were doing.
e) The hallways are not air-conditioned and have a dank, musty odour, like mold or mildew.
f) The front lobby was over-run by a hoard of Chinese tourists, so we tried to find another place to wait for our shuttle. The other two lobbies were dark and not air-conditioned. When we asked them to turn on the air-conditioning in the far lobby, such a horrible smell came from the unit, we thought something had crawled up inside and died. The middle lobby had only 3 out of 8 pot-lights lit up. We had to ask three times to have the lights turned on. When we went to the restaurant for some dinner, they turned the lights off again. Makes me wonder if this hotel is having trouble paying their bills???

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed here to be relatively close to the airport the day before I had to arrive. I would have preferred staying in the city center than going here. It is quite a remote area, and still a 15-20 minute drive to the airport. Only option for dining is at the hotel restaurant, as even food delivery is impossible to the hotel (that is how remote it was). Would not even say its good value, as the hotel was a bit dirty (quick clean room feeling....no carpet and not even shower curtain...makes in hard to shower), and not as conveniently near to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here just for a few hours to get some rest before flying out of Bangkok.

It's in a very quiet area, no shops or bars near. Not that we would have ventured out at 1am in that area. There is a very basic shop at reception but be prepared to pay 3 times the prices you'd pay elsewhere! 150 baht for a 50 baht beer!

The hotel was only 15 minutes from the airport which was great. But this was in the early hours with no traffic.

Now for the bad bits. The hotel is shabby and dated and doesn't feel entirely clean. There was a foul smell of sewage in the hallway outside our room which was fairly unpleasant. There was a tray of food on the floor in the hall when we arrived which was still there when we left, despite being walked past by several staff. Our alarm call came an hour early which was upsetting as we only had a few hours sleep. I explained this to the reception but he just hung up on me and didn't bother to call back an hour later. Good job we set alarms. The most baffling thing I found was the huge window from the bedroom into the bathroom! While my husband and I are close there are some things we'd rather keep private!

There were a huge number of Mosquitos outside the hotel and I was covered in bites just from a few minutes outside. I managed to go the entirety of my holiday bite free but this place was infested!

Lastly, when we were waiting outside to leave at 5am someone urinated out of an upstairs window onto the patio area.

We paid less than £10 each for this place so I suppose it's to be expected. I wish I'd read the reviews before I booked though rather than reading them while sitting on the bed of the hotel wondering what I'd done. We slept in our clothes on top of the sheet as I was too scared to look at the sheets!

Never again!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DanKatMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

- Far from city. (Great if you don't wanna hear airplane noise but if you need public transportation, you've got problems)
- Bad car park ever (but good staff to help you to park, especially if you have pick-up, you may have parking problems)
- If you book with the "walk-in" price, you may need to find other hotels.
- Staff looks a little bit cold, anyway if you need help, they help you.
- Room size is ok, but dirty. (6th floor; 26.1.2014 checked-in)
- A/C with mold and smelly!!!
- Not so noisy (We slept next to maid room we had troubled in another hotel with the guests who checked in at night around 2 o'clock talking like fighting so for this hotel we begged to get the room in the most silent floor just to sleep so it's not so noisy.)
- Mini mart at the first floor; in case if you're hungry (yep, if you don't have car, you need to check it)

Room Tip: Better find other choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NARUEMOL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We had no expectations as we came to this hotel. It seemed to locate in the middle of nowhere as the taxidriver tried to find this place in the evening.

Personnel at the hotel spoke English pretty well and our "suite" - it seems families with children need to have a suite always to fit into the room - was pleasant. Bathroom was enough for one night, you got hot water in the shower.

There was some noise in the hallway during the night, so I used earplugs.

Restaurant was good enough to have a dinner and breakfast. Next morning we continued our trip and the taxi, which the hotel arranged, came at time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Phli
2.4 mi away
Novotel Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport
4.0 mi away
Paragon Inn
Paragon Inn
#321 of 858 in Bangkok
648 reviews
4.4 mi away
Miracle Suvarnabhumi Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
#2 of 5 in Racha Thewa
768 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Inn Come Hotel
Grand Inn Come Hotel
#3 of 5 in Racha Thewa
178 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
#286 of 858 in Bangkok
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convenient Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convenient Grand Hotel

Property: Convenient Grand Hotel
Address: 88/8 Srivareenoi Rd. (Ladkrabang 54) | Srisa Jorakae Noi, 10540, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Samut Prakan Province > Bang Phli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Bang Phli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Convenient Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Convenient Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convenient Grand Hotel Thailand/Bang Phli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing