We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights stay at Tranquilidad hotel, right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Tranquilidad
Ranked #1 of 3 Parrita B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Tranquilidad for 2 nights. We loved it here! Marina was amazing and offered to pick us up from the Parrita Bus station and drive us to the hotel. IT was really nice of her to offer as it saved us some money. We bought grocery before we went to the hotel and really enjoyed making our own meals in the shared kitchen. We stayed in New York Cabin, it was very clean, cozy and comfortable. Kitchen area was also very clean and had a dining table and tv, felt like we were staying at a friends home/cottage. The pool was great to just laze in, tan and enjoy the sun. The black sand beach was awesome and for miles we did not run into anyone so it was like being on your own private beach house with your own beautiful beach. This is the only property in Palo Seco where you don't have to cross the main road to get to the beach. The beach is accessible from the property and is 10 steps away from your room. The hotel had boogie boards that we used and enjoyed, had a pool table. Dennis the caretaker was amazing, he made sure we were looked after well. HE would put on music for us, and took down fresh young coconuts for us to enjoy. My favorite part of the stay was Marina's dogs. They were so cute and accompanied us on our walks. We loved our stay here and would definitely come back. If you are looking for a cozy place to relax and have some privacy, this is the perfect place. We enjoyed the evening walks on the beach and watched the sunset. Marina is also a great cook and made dinner for us 1 night, we really enjoyed it! I give this place a 5/5 rating. - From Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rehling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

great place , had excellent time - definitely will be coming back
Myself and few friends spend 5 days staying at the hotel . This is the best way to travel to the areas like that , where you can relax on the nature , swim in a pool or dip in the ocean

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VladFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Like the other reviews say it seems like you'll never get there and it is a dirt road but when you arrive it really is a gem. We stayed in the house which was excellent. Viktor and Marina were super nice and helpful but the caretaker, Dennis is golden. He was very helpful and accommodating. You have a private black sand beach to yourself or you can take a dip in the pool, they even have a traditional sauna which I highly recommend...over all this place was just amazing...we bought groceries and stayed for 2 nights...I would definitely go back

Room Tip: Take bug repellent , lots of Mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed there 6 nights.
It is a very beautiful location. Being at the beach for the sunset is highly recommended.
My mom stayed with us and it was great for her with not so great knees as there are few stairs on the property (only a couple up to the pool and a ladder in/out of the pool).
Victor, Marina, and Mauricio were all wonderful and made our stay a very nice one. My 6 year old son loved Victor in particular and was always wanting to go talk to him.
The place is small enough you can get to know your neighbor if you wish. We met David M who gave one of the previous reviews.
The outdoor game area and hammocks were great.
The pool is not big, but was always clean and was a good size for my son.
As it was hot while we were there the AC in the room was nice.
We used the outdoor kitchen area several times for breakfast and a couple dinners.

My 6 year old wanted to add:
-you can find many sea shells and sand dollars on the beach. (Note: CR does NOT allow shells or sand dollars out of the country. Found out when they took them at the airport)
-Everyone there was really nice. (Victor and Mauricio would come get us to show our son animals including a very large bird that looked like a vulture and an opossum)

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I have recently returned from a holiday to Costa Rica and stayed 6 nights at the Hotel La Tranquilidad at Playa Palo Seco, 10 km outside Parrita.
Part of the beauty of the hotel is that it is a little bit off the beaten track and therefore it is a very peaceful and relaxing place to stay. Despite this it is still only a 40 min drive to the more built up and commercialised centres of Jaco and Manuel Antonio National Park.
If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind the Hotel La Tanquilidad is the place to stay. Even for families it is still a great location right on the beach at Playa Palo Seco with miles of sandy beach to yourself and great waves for boarding and swimming. You do need to be sensible when in the water as there are strong undercurrents.
If you are wanting to be energetic there are bicycles to ride, a kayak to explore the mangrove swamps, fishing, pool, darts and many excursions that can be organised including zip wiring, white water rafting, horseriding, day trips to Tortuga etc etc.
For those who just want to relax and soak up the sun and maybe read a good book there is the beach as well as a number of hammocks tied between palm trees with the sound of the waves in the background.
The sunsets are quite breathtaking.
The team at La Tranquilidad including Marina, Victor and Dennis are fantastic with nothing being too much trouble to organise and help with. They give their guests space to enjoy the surroundings, but are also there to answer questions or have a chat to.
I had some evening meals and breakfasts at the hotel and the food was always to a very good standard. The fridge was always well stocked with water, cold drinks and more importantly beer.
The room I had was spotless and very spacious.
I had a fantastic time at the Hotel La Tanquilidad, and it was difficult to leave. I would like to return at some stage - you never know.
Thank you once again.

David M - England.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidMurgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

If you are looking for a place that has this "away from civilization " taste, there it is. Once you got there , although it takes a while to drive to the place, you got sensation of a place you would like to stay forever . When you wake up in the morning you will have two friendly dogs and an empty beach for miles just for you. I very, very enjoyed it.
Best days last year. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgars P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

It is the best place I have ever been to! and Marina and Viktor work hard to keep it this way.
We arrived late at night and next morning realized we were in haven! Hotel Tranquilidad is situated right at the beach. Every morning we lounged at the bench with ocean view and in the evening enjoyed spectacular sunsets. There are a swimming pool, around ten hammocks and numerous chaise longues on the territory. You can spend days in pura vida, drinking coconut milk, watching pelicans fishing and listening to birds singing. Fresh food, tasty water, tropical trees, flowers, wild life everywhere and ocean plus tranquility- that is the recipe of a perfect vacation for me.
Another valuable thing about Hotel Tranquilidad is massage! Viktor is a fantastic massage therapist. You can make your trip even more beneficial for your health if you book relevant treatment. Viktor has clients in also New York and is traveling between Costa Rica and USA, so I would suggest asking about his schedule in advance.
If you are casing for adrenalin, your hosts can organise rafting, canopy tour, kayaking and other activities. Besides, I would recommend going to Manuel Antonio and Carrara parks with a guide to see monkeys, raccoons, sloths and other exotic tropical animals. Pacific coast of Costa Rica is obviously one of the best places for ecotourism.
It has been almost three weeks since I am back to Moscow (Russia) and I can’t stop dreaming about coming back to Marina and Viktor’s paradise residency!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daria_Tolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parrita
1.9 mi away
Beso del Viento
Beso del Viento
#1 of 4 in Parrita
267 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clandestino Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palo Seco
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
226 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Delfin Playa Bejuco
Hotel Delfin Playa Bejuco
#1 of 1 in Playa Bejuco
143 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tres Amigos Island Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tranquilidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tranquilidad

Address: Playa Palo Seco, Parrita 60901, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Parrita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Parrita
Price Range: £75 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Tranquilidad 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront hotel with swimming pools, pool table, foosball, hammocks, beach chairs, games, bicycles, boogie boards. Rooms have private tiled baths with hot water, A/C, ceiling fans, covered porch, complete kitchen. Services include maid, security, off-street parking, concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Tranquilidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Tranquilidad Costa Rica/Parrita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing