We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
134
13
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
13
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread doors and windows local attractions large bathroom breakfast was delicious great stories home cooked horse riding costa rica tambor beach scarlet macaws brigitte leon cows hosts dutch accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We stayed 5 nights in the large house and got a personal tour around the farm! Clean and spacious room. Nice hacienda, playful dogs. We found it priceworthy. Would retrn if we travelled in Costa Rica again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank magnus n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it.
The cabinas are definitely value for money and the hosts are very helpful.
Good breakfast.

If you visit here, be sure to do the half day snorkling/beach tour from the Curu park. (Brigitte and Leon can arrange that for you)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Our room had a full outdoor kitchen. We enjoyed the hosts collection of African art from their world travels. We chose the location for access to boat trips to swim at night in the bioluminescent waters, which was the highlight of our time, and for a visit to nearby Montezuma. We attempted a hike to the falls from the Butterfly Garden but didn’t make it, and regretted not taking advantage of the horseback ride up the riverbed that ends in Playa Tambor, which would have brought us in contact with a lot of wildlife and birds instead. Outside our cabin was a tree that attracts the scarlet macaw and we got to watch it breaking off seed pods and feeding just overhead. It could be a challenge to see the signage at night, but once you get it down, it’s a quick trip down into Playa Tambor to Henry’s Pizza. 4 if us got our boat from the tour desk at the fancy Tambor hotel across from Henry’s. Just $50 pp. What a deal. We left at 4:30 toured mangroves till the sun set then hung out on a private beach till it was really dark and we were under a dome of a million stars, the slender new moon, and then dove into water that exploded with light. It was perfect freedom in the warmest ocean water.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Maryam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

We stumbled across Bridgette and Leon’s ranch by accident , after we had trouble driving to our destination due to river crossings and had to change our route. What a beautiful accidental find , we were welcomed by Bridgette who showed us to our accommodation, we were a group of 5 and so were in a lodge, it was dark when we arrived with only the sound of nature around us ! Our lodge was very large, clean and with African inspired decor, making it feel like we were in the Serengeti! In the morning we awoke to stunning colourful views of the Ranch and only the sound of birds and the nature around us ! It felt like untouched Costa Rica ! Breakfast was home cooked by Bridgette and to what time suited us ( amazing !) it was continental style with homemade breads and jams ( yum!) eggs were also cooked to order ! We only stayed one night as we needed to get back on the road but cannot express how welcome we were made to feel, Bridgette and Leon have had amazing travels and were able to share travel stories with the group and one on one , find out about how they got to Costa Rica and the work they have carried out over the years to their ranch ( or farm as the land is huge ! ) we felt more than just a guest and it felt very homely ! What’s more they have a gorgeous dog and puppy that just wanted to play and super friendly ! Had a brilliant stay here albeit short but would highly recommend it !

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Fleetwood80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

We decided to do a quick google map scan during the evening for a place to stay as we'd got lost in our hire car & wouldn't make it to our destination that night and so glad we did. Bridgette & Leon were so welcoming and their ranch is beautiful. Breakfast was delicious and a quick walk around in the morning provided some great wildlife spots. Would have been lovely to see more of the farm but we didn't have enough time. Wish we'd found this place before so we could have had more time there rather than a stop over on our way up the peninsular. Thank you Bridgette for the breakfast & Leon for the great stories!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank clarence81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews