We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise!”
other traveller has booked this property
Infinity Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Infinity Pool
View of the house Pool deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Infinity Pool
View of the house
Pool deck
Pool and house
Jungle and beach views from the house
Beach views from the house
House
Guesthouse casita
Hammock
Open sitting area
Sitting area
Kitchen
Dining
Master Suite
Second Master suite
Bathrooms
Hammock and pool
Rum drink
Tango Mar beach from the cliff
Tango Mar Beach
Tango Mar Beach
Tango Mar Beach
Tango Mar roads
Air view of Tango Mar and house
Cocalito waterfalls besides Tango Mar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margot C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My husband, adult daughter, and I just got back from a week at this property and we're already trying to figure out how we can swing a two-week stay next year. The house is amazing, the location is just incredible, and Javier--who manages the house--is 100% reliable and absolutely delightful to work with.

We wanted a combination of cool new adventures and plenty of time just hanging out , so we structured our stay such that we'd go out on an adventure one day and stay home to chill around the pool or nap in a hammock the next. Javier was flexible and super-easy to work with, making all the arrangements for our outings, which included 1) horseback riding on the beach and in the jungle 2) ATVing to the canopy zipline tour and Montezuma waterfalls and 3) boat trip to snorkel and visit Tortuga (Note: we almost chickened out of the zipline tour, but are SO glad we didn't--it was hands down the best part of the whole trip!)

"Mas Mananas" itself is nothing short of breathtaking. The photos in the listing don't come close to doing it justice. The whole open air living area is much larger than we'd thought it would be, the two bedrooms (each with its own bath) are more attractive than they appear in the photos, the infinity pool is definitely bigger than it looks, and the views from virtually everywhere are absolutely spectacular. All you see is ocean, treetops, parrots, pelicans, and numerous other birds and wildlife. We even saw white-faced monkeys in the trees in the early morning and late afternoon. The sound of the waves breaking against the shore is constant, and the beach is less than a five minute walk away down the hill at the Tango Mar Resort.

We cooked most meals at home, picking up fresh fish at the marina in Tambor (10 minutes away) and grocery shopping in Cobano for chicken, beef, fruits and veggies, etc. (15 minutes away).

We would definitely recommend this property, and are happy to share our photos and videos with anyone who's interested! Thank you, Daniel!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorneBote...
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Amazing views and at one with nature.”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing open concept house bringing nature right into the living room. Amazing ocean views and a stunning infinity pool. Very short walk down to the most beautiful secluded beach.

The owner Daniel responded quickly and the property manager Javier is a great help and guide. He has a tour company and offer many great experiences while in Tambor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Beach and the Pool.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cinnabar0...
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This place is absolutely gorgeous.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This place is absolutely gorgeous. The infinity pool is even better than in the pictures, with generous lounge chairs, an excellent grill, large deck and dining table. The under cover kitchen/living area is well laid out for a group, with many attractive, comfortable places to enjoy the expansive view of the sea and sound of the surf. Palm trees and flowers abound and if relaxing in the hammock here this doesn’t feel like paradise, I don’t know what does.
Even better, guests here are cared for by one of the best customer service experts I have ever encountered. Javier can fix you up with all the adventures you desire, at reasonable prices and to fit your schedule. He seems to know everyone.
We opted for snorkeling at Isla Tortuga, zip-lining at Montezuma and ATV exploration, and recommend all three. There are many others. He can get you fresh seafood off the boat, take you shopping, find take-out food, recommend and take you to restaurants in St. Teresa, and ensure that minor repairs get made almost immediately. He can set up a beautiful dinner for you cooked at your house, and we highly recommend this treat. His local knowledge and expertise turned our nice week into a fantastic one, and if you are considering this rental, double check that he will be available during your visit.
Having said this, please note that I give this five star rating because of how much I enjoyed my stay. We were a family of six adults used to wide variety of accommodations, and I recognize that this beautiful place might not be for everyone. The bedrooms are simply furnished in a sparse beach style and the two smaller ones are in a separate house with no view. Steep drop offs make this unsuitable for those with small children. Internet access works for only two devices at time, so the wifi happy must take turns. The living area is all outdoors, and you sometimes share your space with various other life forms. A dishwasher would have helped that situation. The sea breezes do fail and the overhead fans aren’t always up to the job, especially during midday. A few big room fans would have made a world of difference.
Also note that the this is one of many private homes on the grounds of a hotel that is not friendly. We were prohibited from using their poorly kept and seldom used tennis courts, even when we offered to pay and to book our usage in advance. Guests in private homes also cannot use or rent the hammocks on the beach, visit the hotel’s lookout point, and so on. Our response was to never eat or drink at the hotel either, and we were fine with that.
So why a full five stars? I’ve been blessed to stay at places that were more lavish, and to go on cruises and to resorts that have offered me far more planned entertainment. Yet this gorgeous place, with its amply privacy, time to relax and its many pick and chose local adventures, provided a vacation that left me smiling, and feeling more refreshed and relaxed than any I have ever taken.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephwf
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here with our 5 year old twins and had a fabulous vacation! The house has stunning views, the grounds are beautiful, the Howlers are LOUD - which is really fun- the pool is great, the beach is very nice, but not a swimming beach especially for little ones....I can't think of a negative comment. Judy and Javier who manage/concierge for the property were incredible! They helped us with tours, shopping, rides, called to check on us - such wonderful people! The WiFi worked great - but really who needs it - The outdoor/open air living space was a new experience for our five year olds. We had a blast looking for star constellations - not many places that you can see the Southern Cross and the Big Dipper - here you can! The kitchen has more than adequate items for cooking. Head to the town dock before 11am to get fresh fish. We ate two nights at Vista Hermosa and it was outstanding! Tortuga Island tour was very fun for the girls, goat farm tour, and the ZipLine in Montezuma. You have wonderful people caring for your property!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sb123
Decatur, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful House - Wonderful Pool - Breathtaking Views”
Reviewed 26 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I traveled to Costa Rica in November with my husband and some single friends. We stayed at this beach house for 4 nights during our trip.

The house house was wonderful! We loved the open living area and kitchen, but the infinity pool and pool deck was really the highlight of the trip.

Once we got to the house, the location and the view was so relaxing that we cancelled any plans we had and just stayed at the house at the pool or in the rocking chairs on the living room/deck and relaxed for almost the entire time.

We were met at the airport by Judy the house manager, who took us to the house and made us feel like celebrities arriving!

The Tango Mar resort is just a short walk through the jungle from the house. We walked on the beach each day and took a lovely hike to a waterfall. We ate almost every meal at the house, and had someone come in to cook dinner one night, which we arranged when we got there. It was very affordable and wonderful to have someone cook and clean up!

I had been to Costa Rica around this time of the year before, but we were surprised by how deserted the resort was. It was like a ghost town. The restaurant by the pool was closed, and we hardly saw anyone around at all. We met one couple staying at the restaurant and one woman who lived in another house on the Tango Mar property full-time. But, otherwise, it was deserted.

The only downside of the house was that we just didn't read closely enough to realize that the 3 bathrooms were all en suite in the bedrooms and the person staying in the 4th bedroom would have to walk through someone else's room to get to a bathroom.

That was more difficult since we were a group of adult singles and couples - not a family staying together. It was manageable, but not ideal, and the only reason that I'm not giving the house the full 5 stars.

But, overall, we LOVED the house and had a wonderful trip!! It reminded me of the place we stayed for our honeymoon in the Caribbean, but for only about a fifth of the price.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The infinity pool
Liked least: Someone has to walk through another bedroom to get to a bathroom
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge Ontario Canada
Reviewed 15 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
france
Reviewed 3 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;