We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Royal Villa at Tango Mar !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love the Royal Villa at Tango Mar !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We arrived at Tango Mar, (which was our 2nd stop in the area, 1rst being Montezuma) and were delighted to see the attractive open reception area and restaurant / bar area. Jessie at the front desk was really kind to us ( we needed some TLC after our bug-infested experience at the first place we stayed) and got us situated in our rooms in the Royal Villa. Loved the beach front room, it was surprisingly spacious, spotlessly clean, and had a modern bathroom with a big shower. My room had the full amenities of AC, ceiling fans, a safe, TV ( mostly Spanish, but it did have 3 English channels) Upstairs there was a full terrace with chaises and market umbrellas and a little private pool to cool down. I couldn't have been happier with the accommodations.... ( one minor suggestion is that the bed in 1602 needs to be replaced)

We'd already done some of the tours at the first place, so for the 4 days we were here, we vegged out and explored the grounds... Make sure to walk to the lookout, it's amazing! I had the BEST lymphatic massage by Lucinda that I've ever had in my life!!! Other staff there were kind, friendly and accommodating, especially Royland and Dory. These folks are super nice!

It's hard to swim at the beach there, seemed to be lots of logs being tossed around by a powerful surf, but the beach is lovely anyway, and good for walking. There are plenty of interesting tours to book at the front desk; they offer a great variety. Definitely go to the Curu Wildlife Refuge while you're there if you want to get up close with the monkeys!

I was very happy and satisfied with my stay at Tango Mar and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I think the Royal Villa or the Deluxe Beach front rooms are best. Royal Villa is right next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aloha8420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    140
    61
    18
    13
See reviews for
174
428
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Well positioned by a lovely beach. The Tikki Suite we stayed in was quiet and comfortable but needed a little attention. We had to hold the shower control on the wall when we adjusted it as it was so loose and having a frosted glass toilet door is not a good idea! It was strange having a fridge/mini bar in the room but with no drinks in it. But if we wanted anything we were able to ring reception and they were happy enough to bring it to our room. However these were minor irritations and didn't spoil the stay.
The thing that lifted this hotel above good was the excellent food in the restaurants both at lunch and dinner. Good choice, superb food and the owner walked around the restaurant every evening talking to the people at each table. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
The pools were good and had sun loungers with parasols and there were hammocks along the beach. A good choice for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Tiki Suites are quiet and detached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The staff was excellent. They provided us with much useful information about tours and went out of their way to remember us and accommodate our needs. Food was great and the property is gorgeous. Straight out of a dream. The Tiki Suite did not disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeybee112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

An impressive drive up to the large pavilion check in, where we were greeted with cool towels and fresh fruit drinks. Thoughtful touch as it had been a long dry drive to get there. Our room was spacious, with blackout curtains and a large balcony to relax and view the pounding surf of the Pacific just outside the door. Three pools were placed on various levels and had ample chaise lounges with tables and umbrellas to assist those needed more shade. The pool bar was staffed with the most agreeable people, as you will find with all of the staff. Dinner was done up nicely every night though a bit pricey if you were to eat there every night. We went on a snorkeling tour with one other couple and it was ideal! The guide took us to Rainbow Arch and then we snorkeled around Tortuega Island which was awesome as there was no one else around, yet. By the time we had finished snorkeling all the other tour boats arrived we were ready to move on to a secluded beach and have lunch. The beach at Tango Mar must have had at least 25 hammocks in the shade for anyone to just relax and enjoy the sounds surrounding them. We took a walking trail just behind the pavilion and found the howler monkeys. The beach was beautiful but we were reluctant to get in the water as the waves seemed a bit intense. The room frig had no drinks provided. Beds were comfortable and the room was very clean and nicely decorated. Only bad thing is the heat pump for the room A/C was on the balcony and if you wanted to sit out there it was hot and noisey. So we would have to turn it off when we were sitting outside and the room would warm up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawno234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here 5 nights. If you want to see a great sunset take the 4:00pm ferry, although the drive to Tambor can be a bit sketchy at night- drive slow and let people pass you, watch out for animals on the road. You may think you passed it, keep going you'll see the signs soon! Upon arrival you will fall in love with this place. The waves are huge, get a room facing the ocean, up high if possible, you will be hypnotized by the sound of the waves. Lots of Iguanas; don't touch their tails as they can whip you causing serious injuries, but they usual flee before whipping you. Be sure to check out Montezuma a small surf town 20 minutes from tambor. There are lots of Howler Monkeys in this area, if you walk down the back roads you can hear/see them. There is a bar that plays nightly movies on a big screen 7pm in montezuma, El Sano Banano.
The restaurant at Tango Mar is wonderful, order the Caesar Salad, they make it with fresh dressing right in front of you at your table. Pool table is fun. Keep all food in the fridge, no wrappers left out, as a rule try not to eat in your room or you will have some uninvited guests! Great place all around, clean, safe, isolated, quiet, people keep to themselves mostly, just a quiet "hola" not much for night life besides dinner. Careful of the waves when swimming as they can be deceiving and there are no lifeguards; if you get caught in a riptide, swim parallel to the shore, most people drown due to exhaustion trying to swim back to shore. Great for a honeymoon! Partly because of this place we are getting MARRIED!

Room Tip: Top floor, facing the ocean, closest to the ocean so you can hear the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penthaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, null, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We had three extra days we had not planned and someone recommended taking the ferry over & staying at the resort - best advice the whole trip! An awesome place, awesome views beautiful, excellent customer service, we stayed in the new building so the ice machine is not installed, when I called to ask the location of the nearest one within two minutes so I was knocking my door with a bag of ice

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahamaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights after visiting other places in Costa Rica to see birds. It was exactly what we wanted - a relaxing beach hotel for the end of our holiday. The pool area is lovely, with good lunches in the bar area there.The main restaurant was also good with friendly staff.

Our room was a standard, ocean front room in the main block. The owner told us these rooms are due for an upgrade - this is needed as the bathroom shows signs of wear and tear. Our balcony was a good size and we sat out there a lot enjoying the view. I would not describe this hotel as deluxe or boutique (it lacks the soul/character that term implies) but it is good.

A highlight for me was relaxing in a hammock on the beach, suspended between coconut palms - just what a tropical beach should have!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank epicerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
24.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
2.3 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
24.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
11.8 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing