We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Charming, Highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
1 review
“Relaxing and Charming, Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Tambor Tropical is a great choice; and it is an even greater value. The accomodations are so relaxing, and the location is perfectly tropical and serene, with outstanding sunrises, sunsets, and beach strolling. The food at the on site restaurant is traditional, and is a great value. Would recommend taking a stroll to the fishing village for some nice fresh fish dining as well. You will want to return once you have visited Tambor, we have been twice, and will definitely choose to come back to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    17
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
92
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

You must experience Tambor Tropical; but let's keep it our little secret! The service is outstanding; but it is the location that will steal your heart. Paradise is the quiet serenity of watching the most beautiful sunrise over the bay; enjoying the tropical trees, birds, and weather while lying in a hammock or swimming in the beautiful pool; or it's the short walk through the charming fishing village to eat some freshly caught seafood. If it's activity you want they can arrange that too; from horseback riding, massage, kayaking, fishing trips, island tours, and volunteer opportunities in the community.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldascha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delemont, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2011

It was our fifth trip to Costa Rica during the "cold" period in Europe and it was the fourth stay in Tambor Tropical. There are lots of good place in Costa Rica but Tambor Tropical is our favorite destination. Because it's clean, friendly, very quiet, safe, not busy, good food, nice weather, good quality/price ratio, same staff... in resume... Pura Vida.
Jean-Paul & Claudine Switzerland

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2011

My boyfriend and I spent the first week of February at Tambor Tropical. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The resort itself is breath taking! They now offer Air Conditioning in some of the suites, which both my boyfriend and I highly suggest. I can't think of anything that wasn't wonderful about our stay. We are already planning another trip to Costa Rica and will for sure stay at Tambor Tropical!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wannarunbrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Tambor Tropical every year for the past five years. It is the ideal place to relax, have a swim in a gorgeous pool, enjoy a sunset cocktail and a nice meal, and catch your breath, especially if you've been traveling at breakneck speed on your vacation. The staff is very helpful and friendly, and the rooms are very spacious and clean. The view from every room is to the beautiful bay and the sunrise. No phones or TVs in the room, but wi-fi is free. Unwind here!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewalkinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We spent 8 nights at this small beautiful resort. Our room was large and beautifully appointed. We appreciated the kitchen to be able to prepare our meals, but also enjoyed the healthy and reasonably priced meals at the resort. The open air restaurant/bar was also a gathering place for locals. We enjoyed relaxing at the beautiful pool, but also exploring the area, visiting the two national parks, sea kayaking, and snorkeling. Tambor Tropical has connections with the best of the local guides. Our tours were fabulous. The staff at Tambor Tropical is friendly and welcoming. We never had the sense that we were in a "touristy" area. We also enjoyed getting to know the other guests at the hotel. We were amazed that Tambor Tropical looked better than the photos on their website.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7H2TVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambergris caye, belize
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My fiancee and I spent a long weekend here and really fell in love with the place. It is really charming and was what we needed, to both relax a lot and explore Costa Rica. It was my first trip the country and I was really blown away by how rocky and beautiful and lush the coastline was. where the resort is. The highlights for me at the resort were the privacy/spaciousness of the rooms, the amazing shower, the food at the restaurant, the pool, which was very big for a smaller resort, and the tropical landscaping everywhere. All the staff were super friendly as well, very helpful, easy going. For activities the zip lining thing was pretty special. It was very overcast on the day we did it so at times we'd be zip lining into a bit of unknown which I think added to the experience. I'd highly recommend this. Although, the group before us made a big deal about going upside down on one of the 10 or 12 lines, which we then did, which I thought was less fun (upside down, slightly nauseating) than being able to clearly see what was going on, jungle river below, beautiful canopy above. Different strokes I guess. Anyway, I think this place was great for our much needed romantic getaway, and allowed us to go back and forth between relaxing together and doing fun things in the jungle, which is right nearby. Will definitely come back. And don't forget to have a Pilsen!! Really good local beer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
2.3 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.2 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
10.8 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
#2 of 7 in Tambor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambor Tropical Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambor Tropical Beach Resort

Property: Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Address: | 100m East and 75m North from local public school, on beachfront, Tambor 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tambor Tropical Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambor Tropical is an intimate boutique beach resort on Costa Rica's beautiful Nicoya Peninsula. Nestled on the on the bay, our resort offers guests a private and luxurious vacation in the less traveled Playa Tambor. Relax in the comfort of one of our 12 spacious beachfront suites, swim in our gorgeous mosaic-tiled pool, indulge in massage treatments, enjoy the cuisine of our full-service restaurant or explore the nearby jungle via many guided adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Tambor Tropical Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambor Tropical Beach Hotel Playa Tambor
Tambor Tropical Playa
Tambor Tropical Hotel Playa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing