We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Tambor(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fidelito Ranch & Lodge(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alkamar(Paquera)
US$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Luna Llena Hotel(Montezuma)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Tajalin(Montezuma)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
140
18
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
18
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjuan carlosshrimp nachosscarlet macawsbirding tourcosta ricaguide nickyogurtbird watchingrooms are beautifulbird specieslos delfinesstaff were exceptionalamerican couplelocal woodguests stayingpura vida expeditionsnature trail
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

After hanging at the beach, we dropped in for dinner and drinks around the pool. The food was quite good and very pleasing service. The outdoor setting looking at the beach, with tall palms and other tropical plants is wonderful. Though we did not go into the rooms, the setup looked great. Plus, good location in Tambor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradFenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The rooms are large (incl. kitchen) and comfortable with attractive décor. The grounds add to the pleasant experience, I just enjoyed observing the birds and iguanas on site. This hotel fronts the beach and you will often see horses (even cattle) there.
My room was the closest to the bar, which is open to the public and can get a bit noisy. I was not particularly bothered by this, it was the low season and I think for 2 of my 3 day stay there, I was the only guest. I imagine though that it might be a different story in the high season. The plus was that I had a humming bird feeder just outside this room, loved just watching them.
Downside, no internet access in the room, had to step outside every time I wanted to use the Wi Fi.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room, you get the noise on the ground floor from above
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed at this hotel for one night! Tambor Tropical is like it own little world on the Nicoya Peninsula. The guest houses are just beautiful, with lots of room, kitchen, etc. The grounds are also beautiful, you feel like you are out in the jungle, and then you can walk right to the ocean. There were horses on the beach when we got up at sunrise.

We had a very nice dinner that evening in a beautiful setting. We plan to visit again but stay longer!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donjbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at Tambor Tropical the week of June 1 and absolutely feel in love! in all of our travels by far the people at this hotel was some of the most helpful and friendly we have ever meet. The room was so clean. The views was unbelievable! and if you want to go fishing this is a great place to do it, there is a little fishing village where you can charter someone to take you out for very reasonable prices. We are planning another trip back, hopefully by the end of the year.

Room Tip: I would splurge for the top floor the view is so worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

If you're looking for a beautiful relaxing place, then this is the place. Really fantastic!

The hotel is easy to find, located on the bay of Tambor. There is a paved room to the place and can be reached within 3.5 hours of any major airport.

They rooms are large and clean. The beds are very comfortable. Each room has a small kitchen and living space. All rooms face bay.

The food was traditional costa Rican, but they also had American breakfast/ meals.

I really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere by the pool while watching humming birds fly quickly by.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews