We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great combination of value, service and ambiance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco
Ranked #7 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We traveled for 3 weeks in Costa Rica and stayed at a variety of locations and establishments. I have to say that for the money, Don Taco gets a high five. The very friendly, helpful and bilingual staff, really give this place an extra star. From the moment that we arrived until we left, we were treated like honored guests. The rooms are basic but very clean and roomy. The shower is awesome - meaning in Costa Rica - it has REALLY warm water (if you've traveled in Costa Rica, you know what I'm talking about!!). This was a real treat after 10 days of cold showers!! Another bonus: breakfast included AND dirty clothes laundered at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have a great view! Possible downside: no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbelle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed here for 1 night when we arrived late and didn't have a booking, we chose this place based on the LP review. Bad idea. The room was clean. The water was hot. Free wifi. About a 5 minute walk to central Santa Elena. $45/night. The bedspread was dirty and was quickly removed from the bed. Even though our room was on the 2nd floor, our back window was about 1 meter from the main road, making it loud all night with cars and motorbikes. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everybody coming and going. And when they peed and sneezed too. The main noise started up around 6:30am when the hotel decided it was the perfect time to restring some electrical wire outside of our bedroom. And what a perfect place to put a ladder but right by our window. After a good 5 minutes of them yelling and screaming and trying to fix the wires, I finally said something and they realized their timing wasn't great to do such maintenance tasks. We are going to find something a little more remote and surrounded by nature. After all, aren't we in a cloud forest?

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quesofundido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed one night with a small tour group. Rooms were nice, the view from the 2nd floor patio is lovely and relaxing. I really appreciated all the help the staff were to us, getting us bus tickets, calling a taxi and meeting us in town, allowing us to store luggage after checkout, and generally accomodating our multiple requests with a smile. Thanks for a great stay! Would return again next time.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enjoy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Room #15 was roomy, large deck with great view, large bathroom with plenty of hot water. Cute decor, satellite TV and minifridge. Quiet location, up the hill from Santa Elena, good breakfast, for $30 bucks a night (cash price). Friendly staff. (Walk up the hill from Santa Elena may be a little steep for some).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We were travelling through Costa Rica and were recommended by a guide we had to stay at Don Taco, Monteverde (Santa Elena). Whe we arrived we were really happy to find our cabin had an incredible view of the Gulf (Nioya) with large windows. The hotel and its cabins are also slightly up the hill out of the way from the main activity so it is nice and quiet, but then again less than a few minutes walk to everything.
The staff were super friendly, especially the owner and his daughter Jessica. They were very helpful, patient and sincere. The cabin includes a very good breakfast too and Internet wifi is available too. The cabin was large and clean. It is a very relaxing environment.
The area around has a lot to offer (two National Park reserves, horseback riding, Canopy Zip lines etc. We did a lot of the activities. We were very pleased with Don Taco. There are also many shops and restaurants close by.
The staff also helps you make any reservations you need with tours or other activities.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rengie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

When we first arrived at Don Taco after a long day of traveling and with the memory of the airport Hampton Inn, we were a little disappointed. But after two nights, we realized what a great value this place is. Our first morning, we had no hot water and after asking if we should have (I know some places don't) we were told yes, and moved to a nicer cabina. We didn't spend much time in the room so we didn't need more than the basics, which we had. The typical breakfast was good and the location is great - a five minute walk to Santa Elena, but as others said, the walk back is steep! The grounds are quite nice and the tile and murals decorating the outside are lovely. If you are on a budget and don't need luxury, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrhinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Stayed here with Tucan Group tour. Nice stay. One little thing was to walk into town was about 10-15mins down hill. Walking back of a night you would usually be pretty tired, & have to walk up the hill. But overall a good place to crash.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onecountryatatime88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.0 mi away
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 33 in Santa Elena
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco

Address: A 300 metros N del Banco Nal. en el centro de Santa Elena, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range: £41 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing