We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco
Ranked #6 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Nokesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and a great location”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

When we first arrived at Don Taco after a long day of traveling and with the memory of the airport Hampton Inn, we were a little disappointed. But after two nights, we realized what a great value this place is. Our first morning, we had no hot water and after asking if we should have (I know some places don't) we were told yes, and moved to a nicer cabina. We didn't spend much time in the room so we didn't need more than the basics, which we had. The typical breakfast was good and the location is great - a five minute walk to Santa Elena, but as others said, the walk back is steep! The grounds are quite nice and the tile and murals decorating the outside are lovely. If you are on a budget and don't need luxury, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrhinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    44
    14
    7
    0
See reviews for
15
39
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oz
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Stayed here with Tucan Group tour. Nice stay. One little thing was to walk into town was about 10-15mins down hill. Walking back of a night you would usually be pretty tired, & have to walk up the hill. But overall a good place to crash.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onecountryatatime88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Don Taco in mid December '08 with another couple that we were travelling with. We booked it from San Jose after finding it in the Lonely Planet guide. The name was so outrageous we had to stay there. We rented a Cabina, the one on the far end. It was clean, comfortable and well priced for 4 people. From the hotel there are good views over the Gulf of Nicoya but ours was obscured by a tree. If possible when renting a Cabina, try not to get the far one if you want a good view.

Breakfast was included in the price and included typical food...gallo pinto, fresh fruit, toast, eggs and coffee. The breakfast was always good and fresh and the coffee was good. The hotel is located above town up a bit of a hill. Its less than a 5 minute walk into the center of town so its close to all services. The walk back is a bit steep but not too bad at all. You are on holidays remember so you can probably stand to walk off a bit of extra calories!! There was free internet for guests and plenty of hot water. If your looking for 5 star luxury this isnt your place. If your looking for moderately priced, clean, friendly accomodations I would reccomend this place.

The hotel itself is quiet but the town is not.....the whole country really isnt quiet though is it? Typical of Costa Rica are the sounds of motor bikes, car alarms, roosters and car alarms and motor bikes!!

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable with a decent breakfast.
  • Disliked — The town is pretty loud. The hotel is not loud but Santa Elana was while we were there.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 234chinook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2008

Hi,.

When we arrived to Monte Verde we looked for a nice and clean hotel, not too cheap and not too expensive.
We opened our Lonely Planet book and found this hotel, in the mid-range section.
At first glance it seems like a very nice hotel, it cost only 40$ a night,
the rooms are clean and big and you even get a nice breakfast ...
BUT when we left the hotel after staying there for 3 night ( btw: we were the only guest in the hotel, because October is the low season), we took our money from the hotel safety box and we found out that someone opened the purse that we left in the hotel safety box and stole 40$ out of it.
We counted the money again, just to be sure, and we were right,
somebody stole 40$ from our purse.

We told the owner about this and they said that we probably made a mistake, but we didn't make a mistake, because
before we put the money in the hotel safety box we counted our money carefully and wrote down the exact amount.

So, somebody probably the owner, who have an access to the safety box stole our money.

B E C A R E F U L ! ! ! !

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sagiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We still have great memories from our stay at Cabinas Don Taco, 3 1/2 years ago. The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to make our visit memorable. They arranged a zip line tour for us, as well as a ride to the Monteverde cloud forest and a trip to Arenal. We stayed in one of the cabinas, rather than a double room. The cabina was spacious and clean and we had a great view from our balcony. We didn't get the chance to try lunch or dinner at Don Taco, but the "typical breakfast" was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karoena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

Santa Elena can be noisy at night (ah, those motorcycles!), and Don Taco is located away from the main street, offering a quieter environment. It's up the road going up to the Sky Trek site, a 10 minutes walk from the main street (which can be steep!).

We were in a large cabina, with a view of the city down below and of the Cloud Forest too from our private balcony. The room was simple but confortable, with a fridge and small TV. The shower had hot water, which was really nice!! It gets cold at night up there, and the room wasn't heated but comfy blankets were provided and kept us warm. Confortable bed, with clean but old sheets - if you don't expect luxury, this will be a fine place to spend a few nights, at 40$ a night all included.

Breakfast was served from 6h30 AM, which we appreciated as you have to be an early bird in Monteverde to see the wildlife.

Jessica gave us good service at the reception, and it's easy to reserve activities or the jeep-boat-jeep pick-up right at the hotel.

We walked all over Sta Elena and used the shuttle going to Monteverde (1$) and didn't have any problem visiting the area.

  • Liked — quieter than downtown, good price, clean
  • Disliked — a little cold at night!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skulamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Trapp Family
Hotel Trapp Family
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.0 mi away
El Establo
El Establo
#11 of 20 in Monteverde
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco

Property: Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco
Address: A 300 metros N del Banco Nal. en el centro de Santa Elena, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing