We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel...great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco
Ranked #6 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little hotel...great value”
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Room #15 was roomy, large deck with great view, large bathroom with plenty of hot water. Cute decor, satellite TV and minifridge. Quiet location, up the hill from Santa Elena, good breakfast, for $30 bucks a night (cash price). Friendly staff. (Walk up the hill from Santa Elena may be a little steep for some).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    44
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
14
39
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We were travelling through Costa Rica and were recommended by a guide we had to stay at Don Taco, Monteverde (Santa Elena). Whe we arrived we were really happy to find our cabin had an incredible view of the Gulf (Nioya) with large windows. The hotel and its cabins are also slightly up the hill out of the way from the main activity so it is nice and quiet, but then again less than a few minutes walk to everything.
The staff were super friendly, especially the owner and his daughter Jessica. They were very helpful, patient and sincere. The cabin includes a very good breakfast too and Internet wifi is available too. The cabin was large and clean. It is a very relaxing environment.
The area around has a lot to offer (two National Park reserves, horseback riding, Canopy Zip lines etc. We did a lot of the activities. We were very pleased with Don Taco. There are also many shops and restaurants close by.
The staff also helps you make any reservations you need with tours or other activities.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rengie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

When we first arrived at Don Taco after a long day of traveling and with the memory of the airport Hampton Inn, we were a little disappointed. But after two nights, we realized what a great value this place is. Our first morning, we had no hot water and after asking if we should have (I know some places don't) we were told yes, and moved to a nicer cabina. We didn't spend much time in the room so we didn't need more than the basics, which we had. The typical breakfast was good and the location is great - a five minute walk to Santa Elena, but as others said, the walk back is steep! The grounds are quite nice and the tile and murals decorating the outside are lovely. If you are on a budget and don't need luxury, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrhinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oz
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Stayed here with Tucan Group tour. Nice stay. One little thing was to walk into town was about 10-15mins down hill. Walking back of a night you would usually be pretty tired, & have to walk up the hill. But overall a good place to crash.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onecountryatatime88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Don Taco in mid December '08 with another couple that we were travelling with. We booked it from San Jose after finding it in the Lonely Planet guide. The name was so outrageous we had to stay there. We rented a Cabina, the one on the far end. It was clean, comfortable and well priced for 4 people. From the hotel there are good views over the Gulf of Nicoya but ours was obscured by a tree. If possible when renting a Cabina, try not to get the far one if you want a good view.

Breakfast was included in the price and included typical food...gallo pinto, fresh fruit, toast, eggs and coffee. The breakfast was always good and fresh and the coffee was good. The hotel is located above town up a bit of a hill. Its less than a 5 minute walk into the center of town so its close to all services. The walk back is a bit steep but not too bad at all. You are on holidays remember so you can probably stand to walk off a bit of extra calories!! There was free internet for guests and plenty of hot water. If your looking for 5 star luxury this isnt your place. If your looking for moderately priced, clean, friendly accomodations I would reccomend this place.

The hotel itself is quiet but the town is not.....the whole country really isnt quiet though is it? Typical of Costa Rica are the sounds of motor bikes, car alarms, roosters and car alarms and motor bikes!!

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable with a decent breakfast.
  • Disliked — The town is pretty loud. The hotel is not loud but Santa Elana was while we were there.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 234chinook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2008

Hi,.

When we arrived to Monte Verde we looked for a nice and clean hotel, not too cheap and not too expensive.
We opened our Lonely Planet book and found this hotel, in the mid-range section.
At first glance it seems like a very nice hotel, it cost only 40$ a night,
the rooms are clean and big and you even get a nice breakfast ...
BUT when we left the hotel after staying there for 3 night ( btw: we were the only guest in the hotel, because October is the low season), we took our money from the hotel safety box and we found out that someone opened the purse that we left in the hotel safety box and stole 40$ out of it.
We counted the money again, just to be sure, and we were right,
somebody stole 40$ from our purse.

We told the owner about this and they said that we probably made a mistake, but we didn't make a mistake, because
before we put the money in the hotel safety box we counted our money carefully and wrote down the exact amount.

So, somebody probably the owner, who have an access to the safety box stole our money.

B E C A R E F U L ! ! ! !

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sagiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We still have great memories from our stay at Cabinas Don Taco, 3 1/2 years ago. The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to make our visit memorable. They arranged a zip line tour for us, as well as a ride to the Monteverde cloud forest and a trip to Arenal. We stayed in one of the cabinas, rather than a double room. The cabina was spacious and clean and we had a great view from our balcony. We didn't get the chance to try lunch or dinner at Don Taco, but the "typical breakfast" was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karoena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 21 in Monteverde
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.0 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco

Property: Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco
Address: A 300 metros N del Banco Nal. en el centro de Santa Elena, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing