We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little friendly hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monteverde Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

We stay in the hostel for two nights. Our double room with bathroom was very comfortable and clean and the hot shower was amazing (especially after long walk in cloud forest)
Staff very friendly and helpful in booking any activities or just giving info about what to do in Monteverde

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corazoncita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

The good:
Hot showers 24/7. Free breakfast is more than enough to fill you up. Fantastic location that is within walking distance to many parks and attractions. Most of the staff were reasonably helpful. The kitchen is well stocked with tools and equipment. There is a supermarket right next door. Cute dog.

The bad:
Building is run down and in bad need of repairs and updating. Staff were friendly, but not overly attentive. Everything is very small, especially the kitchen. Right near the road, so it can get a little noisy due to the traffic.

Bottom line:
A good budget backpacking option due to the location, however, there are better hostels and cabinas for your money in the same area.

Room Tip: Privates have a better location in the building, and are only a few dollars more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

it is a super cool spot, great vibe. and a good place to meet other travelers. had a great time here, and I think it is the best value in monteverde after looking around and checking 10 other spots out. and have lots of info on things to do in the area, and short walk to stores and restaurants. there is a kitchen to use, and a basic breakfast was included. was a great spot.

Room Tip: if you can go for the top floor rooms, abit more quiet. but all seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelonmyown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I came for 1 night and ended up staying 4 nights in this relaxed hostel and met so many other interesting travellers. I stayed for 3 nights in a dorm and upgraded on the final night to a private room with bathroom. The dorm is very basic but clean and the private rooms are all timber with a quaint sloping roof and spotlessly clean bathroom and a fraction of the price of a hotel room. It was so easy to book reasonably priced and good tours such as night tours of the forest and ziplining through here and I could easily have stayed another week. The breakfast is fresh and included in the rates containing fruits such as bananas, water melon, papaya, and pinapple, breads and good costa rican coffee. Its right next door to a supermarket and has its own small kitchen, good after a few weeks on the road just to cook a home cooked meal. The manager's playful puppy "Marche" kept me entertained for hours.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerBlue111222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I came with my fiancé and three other travellers we'd met a few days ago. The five of us shared a 7 bed dorm with one other guy. The bunks were comfortable, and the room itself met our needs - place to sleep, place to put your things. We all shared one bathroom, and that worked fine. Our host was friendly and fun and has the cutest little dog I have ever seen, and I'm not much into dogs. Breakfast was simple - cereal, bananas, watermelon, bread, nutella, cake. There was a kitchen we could use. I absolutely loved the vibe of this place, and met other great people here as well. Close to town. Would absolutely recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Dorm was great. Private rooms looked nice also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

If you are looking for a place to kick back and enjoy the tranquility that is Monteverde, stay at the Monteverde backpackers.

Close enough to the centre of town to make trips and tours as easy as they come. Friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and a unique insight into life in the cloud forest.

Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickStClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I had a great staying in this place, it is really confortable, good music and i could meet people here, and i booked all the tours here and i got really good prices and they sent me to the must fun and extreme tours, Alonso was super nice, hi is the man, ask him anything about tours, how to get around, where to go, how to get, he knows everything, was nice to have breakfast include in the price and what i like alot what that the rooms were small, 4 person dorm room or 7 person dorm room for only $10 and the rooms has a private bathroom and lockers inside, was super clean and the best hot showers ever, and with some hammocks in the back part of the hostel, perfect to take a nap in the afternoon, so in general, the hostel was really confortable, clean, relax and excellent service, tips have with you warm clothing because is cold up there, especially at night time!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Elena hotels
0.1 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 34 in Santa Elena
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#9 of 34 in Santa Elena
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
#7 of 34 in Santa Elena
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
#10 of 34 in Santa Elena
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Backpackers

Address: 75 Meters From Supercompro | 75 meters Southwest of the main supermarket, Santa Elena 1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: £15 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Backpacker's is a very nice hostel, right new to down town, only 1 block away of the restaurants, bars and banks, will be a prefect places to enjoy of the cloud forest and all the activites in the area. We have dorms for $11 per person and Private rooms for $35 per night, all the rooms include internet and breakfast, all the rooms with private bathroom and also Kitchen, we also have a front desk, where you can also book all your tours for the diferent activites in the area and transportation to get out of Monteverde. Parking area, security guard all night and relaxing hammack area as well, and with some very nice and relax grill night, for sure the best choice to stay in Monteverde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monteverde Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Backpackers Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing