We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was Great and Would Recommend to Anyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Everything was Great and Would Recommend to Anyone!”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Our stay at Camino Verde B&B was perfect. Although the place was a little hard to find, once we did find it, the uphill location was quiet and beautiful. The B and B has cute, clean, rooms with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms and the breakfast and coffee is awesome (not to mention the fact that you have three choices and its made to order). The owners Andres and Evert were the nicest, most gracious accomodating hosts and helped us with everything from Cloud Forest Tours to booking our TransNica bus a week out. I can't say enough good things about the B&B and would definitely go back and stay there!! The only thing I would say is that if you are travelling alone and/or looking for a "party scene", stay at the Camino Verde Hostel part of the hotel that is located on the "main strip" of Santa Elena. The B&B was laid back, off the beaten path and quiet and we met a lot of great people but we weren't looking for a crazy scene so it suited us very well.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny82285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    220
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
161
368
74
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Andres, the manager, totally makes this bed and breakfast what it is - from the very moment we arrived until we left nothing was too much trouble. He is super friendly and helpful.
Our room was very basic but all we needed, with double bed, attached bathroom and a TV. It opened out onto a fantastic little lounging area with rocking chairs (!) and views (on a good day) down the valley and over the rest of Santa Elena. The free wifi was fast and the included breakfast very good.
Our organised tour to the Cloud Forest was amazing (Danilo our guide did everything he could to make sure we saw a quetzel) and the night tour very interesting (watch out for the tarantula!).
The restaurant that Andres' parents own is really good as well as the soda next door to the B&B.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank striped_tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andres86crc, Manager at Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
I'm so happy you had a good time, and that you were able to see a quetzal and the tarantulas! Thank' you for the comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We had a great stay here in Monteverde. The owner, Andres, was super helpful and friendly. The room was very nice with a fast wifi internet connection and a clean bathroom with good shower.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poffertjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Thomas, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Camino Verde was the first place we stayed once getting to Costa Rica, and I am so glad we found it. The people there are so friendly, and Andres and Jose (someone who helped fill while he was away) were both so helpful and friendly while booking tours and buses for our trip.

The rooms are clean, and it is a short 5 minute walk into town. The view is amazing and the common area is also quaint. I think my favorite thing was waking up to the most delicious breakfast every morning, and awesome coffee!

I have travelled through many countries and stayed at many hostels and this one is definitely one of my favorite. If you are in Santa Elena then definitely stay at the Camino Verde!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinC-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed at the Camino Verde for two nights on our trip to Santa Elana, and we were both pleasantly surprised. It may be true that it is not luxury, but it was still a great place! The room we stayed in had two double beds, a 13" TV and a private bathroom (hot water was hit or miss). The breakfast served in the morning was delicious and the cook was very accommodating to our needs. There is free WIFI for those who bring their laptops or smart phones, and they have one computer for anyone to use - it worked every day we were there. The B&B itself is maybe a five minute walk from the center of Santa Elana, and all of the restaurants/bars.

I'd definitely recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to Santa Elana / Monteverde. Andres, the manager, is very friendly and will do anything to ensure that your stay is a positive one and will also help arrange any tours that you are interested in!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PathoSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I stayed there on April 2011 and I would certainly recommend this place. Great service, very kind staff (and I really mean it) and good price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatheusMachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Camino Verde. Andres was such a good host. He helped us get our tours booked as soon as we arrived. He was always there with a smile on his face willing to chat and have fun with us. We even got to make our own souvenir cup! It was truly one of the highlights of our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious too. And it's only a short walk to the center of town so it's perfect if you want to be a bit away from all the noise. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 22 in Monteverde
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
1,054 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 22 in Monteverde
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Property: Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Address: | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing