We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Nearby Hotels
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,091)
Filter reviews
1,091 results
Traveller rating
755
252
58
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
755
252
58
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bpancakescosta ricathe kitchendifferent optionsbreakfast optionsgreat breakfastgreat place to stayfruitcoffee and teaother travelerscloud forestthe ownerzip liningpura vidapollofive minute walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 1,091 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2012

As a frequent traveler i know first hand how hard a good hostel is to come by. However, in Monte Verde I not only found a good hostel but a great one full of friends and food. I woke each morning to an amazing breakfast of pancakes and fruit and some amazing Costa Rican coffee. I had the most amazing time there with the bungee and canopy tour which was all set up for my friends and I at the hostel. it was truly a Pura Vida weekend

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Just as we got off the bus in Monteverde, Andres, one of Camino Verde's awesome owners, greeted us and shuttled us off to the hostel free of charge while other travelers sought out taxis. Upon arrival, Andres walked us through all the attractions that Monteverde has to offer and we began to plan our weekend right off the bat. With the guidance of Andres, we were able to pack our weekend with nature hikes, zip-lining, and bungee jumping, all planned and organized to fit our needs and desires by Andres. The staff is super friendly and always willing to lend a helping hand to some adventure-seeking travelers. Definitely the best $12 a night I've ever spent to stay in a hostel.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all the rooms were good rooms. the best way to do it (and least expensive) is to get a larger room with a large group. We had 6 people and it ended up costing $12 a night each.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We were greeted upon arrival and were able to settle in before worrying about paying and all the details. The room was very clean, as was the rest of the hostel. The kitchen and utilities are great! The staff helped us decide what we wanted to do, and went out of their way to help us, they even came with us to the local climbing tree! They are very knowledgeable about all that there is to do in the area and can get you the best deals, and also know things to do for little money if you are a student like me! I was extremely satisfied with my stay and would recommend it to anyone. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: They are all great! If you want to pay a little extra, you can get a smaller, more private room. Still very affordable!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthewlswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was a great hostel. The rooms were comfortable and the common room was a great place to meet people from all over the world. The free breakfast was really great and Andres and Jose were very helpful booking a hiking tour and canopy zip line. (Do Extreme Canopy for the best adrenaline rush.) The only frustration was that we had to pay cash for all of the tours and beers at the end of the weekend. Wish we could have used credit cards.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

So glad we chose this bed & breakfast... we traveled to Monteverde on the bus from San Jose. We arrived at the Monteverde bus depot after dark and were worried about finding our hostel. To our surprise, someone from Camino Verde was waiting for us at the bus depot! After we got to the bed & breakfast, the owner gave us some very valuable knowledge re: traveling through CR.... our trip probably wouldn't have gone so smoothly if it wasn't for his help! Thank you Jose!! We got a private ensuite room... everything spotlessly clean. Some reviews on other traveling sites say the breakfast was bad... but i thought it was delicious! Fresh fruit, eggs, pancakes... all included in the low nightly charge. If you're looking for a place to stay in Monteverde, I highly recommend this bed & breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews