We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, recommendations, and lodging!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This was a great place to stay in Santa Elena. The rooms are clean and simple. Hot water was achievable with minimal effort, which is a bonus. We booked a private room for our group of four people that we found very comfortable and affordable. Free internet service is available and laundry service is available for $9/load. Also the hostel is a short walk from town and is next door to two excellent sodas.

The hostel is family-owned by Andres and Jose who speak excellent English and couldn't be nicer. Their aunt comes in every morning to cook a tremendously delicious breakfast. We were leaving one morning early, so the aunt came in especially early to cook for us. Amazing service - who does that!? Andres and Jose were extremely helpful in booking us tours around Monteverde. They know all the tours, guides, and prices and made very helpful recommendations to us. We really appreciated it and would recommend to anyone that they book a room here.

When not in your room, you can hang out on the back porch on some rocking chairs to look across the mountains. There also is a very nice and modern main kitchen area, where you can help yourself to free coffee and rock out to the VH1 Classics channel that Jose seems to prefer. We loved it. Why don't they have music videos in America any more?

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaluit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
There are newer reviews for Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Lovely hostel on a good location. Rooms are good and clean although can be warm. Service and tips of the owners is excellent, extremely gentle and helpful. Breakfast is good. Recommend people to go here.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youngcoupl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Great deal with a nice location. A bit of an uphill walk from town after a big meal but good training for awesome area excursions. nice , comfortable accommodations. Staff helpful even before my arrival with timely replies from e-mails with tips and suggestions of activities and arrangements. Excellent breakfast, nice, basic room, plenty of space. All that one needs.

Awesome to see ginger plants growing in the little front garden. Pretty surroundings. Awesome views with comfortable rockers on the back sun room to relax and plan the next adventure.

Would totally send my best friend here! A very pleasant part of my Costa Rica tour! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

the moment we got there jorje was ready with all the information. fast check in and recommendations on things. he really listened and planned the best for us. my husband and i traveled together so we got a room which was in their partner hotel. it was good and had good breakfast as well. we had meals next door at amistad recommended by them and they were so good too. would recommend staying here as they arrange for everything for you . free ipad use incase u need it.
friendly staff, clean rooms, great service and unbeatable price .. what else can you ask for

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank png_travelalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This is a great b&b - we stayed in a private room with bathroom and found it to be good value for money. The bathroom was large, bed is a double size so may be small for taller people but not too bad for the price. Location is great, only a few minutes walk from the supermarket where you can buy supplies to cook in the communal kitchen after midday. The kitchen can get busy so try to get in early. Breakfast selection is excellent with 4 options to choose from and each day was very tasty. Free coffee and tea all day a great addition also. The staff are great at helping to organize tours and transfers. Recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here, I hadnt ever stayed at a hostel before , so was a bit concerned since we are a couple in our early 50's but......we felt right at home. Andre is very good at what he does, his service is amazing. The other guests there were very friendly and fun. The rooms are very comfortable and Clean. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ikamazingadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This is a great place to stay in Santa Elena! Located on a small lane just few minutes walk from the centre of town. Jose was wonderful to deal with and help us book some great local tours. Rooms are clean and the ambience is super nice and relax. Make sure to have a few meals next door at Soda Armistad for delicious and cheap local food!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.7 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Address: 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range: £25 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing