We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Can't say enough good about this place. Great, friendly service. Owner escorted us to our clean cimfortable room. Had excellent recommendations for things to do as well as bus schedules. Included breakfast cooked to order. Would stay again in a minute!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainestate82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    230
    54
    14
    10
See reviews for
175
390
75
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The cabins were very cute. My sister in law and I had a room with a double bed and two bunk beds, and a private bathroom. We were the only adults over 50 there, and most were college kids on Christmas break, from the USA and Canada. We backpacked to there while waiting for some business meetings in San Jose (I am a Medical Travel consultant), and so we decided to go to Monteverde/Santa Elena area in the cloud forest and tour around and kill a bit of time. So this was a business trip/vacation combo trip for me. The one down side to Santa Elena/Monteverde is that the wind is really, really strong around Dec and Jan, and just plain strong other times. Everyone was coughing from the dust. Some roads were paved, and other roads were not. The road this hotel is on is not paved. I will say, though, that I loved the hostel hotel and would stay there again. It was just plain cute and creative with the use of recycled materials, and artwork and crafts, even in the rooms. They had a very large commons area with a very big screen TV and all the fresh coffee you can drink. They fix breakfast to order, and the fresh fruit and pancakes, eggs, toast, it was all good. They sell beer and wine (by the glass self serve) in the kitchen area, and there is a small convenience store right next to it. It is within walking distance to downtown Santa Elena, and that is tourist trap for sure. Shops, restaurants, hot dogs, burgers, Japanese, and of course the famous Tree House Restaurante. From the hotel, you can also skip all that and they will book tours for you. While some people find this service (sales pitch) annoying, I found that they seem connected to a very good nature guide, and I got him twice as a tour guide. He knew a lot of scientific names of plants, nature info, and was very informative. We could have done much worse by not booking through the hotel staff, so I considered this a service. Everything was clean, and young folks staying in the dorms got a great deal. Our room rate was very good also, with a private bath. The area is considered to be safe to walk around for couples, kids, seniors, and college students pretty much anytime.

Room Tip: We had the room next to the road. If there was traffic or noise at night, you would never hear it o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Andres greeted us as we pulled up to the B&B, offered a cup of coffee and was ready to discuss all the wonderful things to do in Monteverde. It is that kind of friendly service and welcoming atmosphere we really enjoyed. The rooms are simple and clean, the breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed the all the tours and recommended restaurants. We enjoyed a killer game of Jenga with the family in the evening in the common area. Overall great experience.

Room Tip: We had a room close to the road - a little noisy at times (not a big deal for us).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jafischer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SARATOGA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The facility is quaint. Our room was recently remodeled, so the materials and finishes are up to date. It didn't bother my husband too much, but I thought there was smell coming from the shower drain, probably from the old pipe not provisioned with proper trap. And hot water was slow as it was limited to the instant water heater that is the shower head. But for the price we paid, we were very happy with the stay. Breakfast was good and coffee/tea were available (free) all day. The facility is not the easiest to find once you are in town, but once you get there the short hike in to town is totally manageable. The young men that run the facility were very helpful and friendly. We bought tours through them and it made everything easy (van pick up included). The place has a nice, energetic vibe to it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our four days and three nights at Camino Verde were excellent. Andres and his family are kind and enthusiastic about ensuring their guests have a wonderful stay. The room was comfortable and cleaned daily. The water in the shower was hotter than anywhere else I stayed in Costa Rica, and the WiFi worked perfectly no matter where we were in the lodging (bedroom, common areas, cafeteria). Breakfast is very good, and there are five different options for guests with varying dietary needs and preferences. (Andres gave us recommendations on where to find vegetarian food in Santa Elena, and they were great as well.) We also enjoyed the company of the other guests at Camino Verde, who represented a wide range in age and nationality.

The location of Camino Verde is perfect. It's just a 5 minute walk from the center of Santa Elena -- I know because I timed it -- so you don't get the noise and dust from the traffic, but you're close to everything you need: restaurants, grocery store, shops, bus stops, etc.

I highly recommend that you book all tours and shuttles through Camino Verde -- which pick up and drop off at its front door. They offer competitive pricing, are accommodating and flexible, don't make you feel pressured, and are quick to react if something is amiss. For example, when one tour bus forgot to pick us up, we were in a taxi to our destination within five minutes -- at no charge.

The one complaint I have about Camino Verde is that the walls of the rooms are quite thin, and you can hear everything that's happening in the adjoining rooms. But honestly, this is not a good reason not to stay there, and I'd return any day.

In short, Camino Verde is an excellent model of what the tourist industry should look like -- anywhere in the world!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global_citizen_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

What a great stay I had, Andreas you rock! All the staff were friendly and personable. I'm sure they get their share of no espanol amigas .... They were patient and accommodating. The breakfast crew was awesome. The rooms were clean the showers hot. I always felt safe and well looked after. Looking forward to a return visit. Gracia Amigas

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank likeafishoutofwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights in Nov. It was a perfect place to stay. Jose had given me lots of help before we left home and then Andres booked our activities when we arrived. Everything went just great. It is a quick walk to town for dinner. It's just a homey kind of place to stay at. Monteverde is a wonderful place and we will definitely stay at the Camino Verde again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Property: Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Address: 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing