We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 15 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights. We had booked a two bedroom with shared bathroom for the entirety of the stay, however for the first two nights we were given a free upgrade to a room with an ensuite bathroom. The first room was in the Hotel El Altardecer section and the second was in the Camino Verde section.

The first room was much nicer. It was spacious, as was the bathroom. It was cleaned quite thoroughly, had a little patio with rocking chairs, and the window overlooked a flower lined walkway. The only downsides were that the room was dimly lit and had very thin walls and ceiling so unfortunately we could hear people waking around above us late into the night and early in the morning. However, I would recommend staying in this section if you request a second floor room.

The second room was quite small. It had next to no room other than narrow walkways and as one of the beds wad a bunk bed it felt quite crowded. No windows opened and there was a strange smell in the room so it was difficult to air out. The walls were much thicker and there is only one floor though so my sleep itself was uninterrupted. Unfortunately there appeared to be a total of one restroom and one shower for the building. While there weren't a lot of rooms, this was worrisome when I was in a hurry, although I only had to wait once.

The breakfast was very good. The food was the same in both sides however the breakfast room at Camino Verde was much nicer, with smaller tables as opposed to banquet style, and the morning sun coming through nicely. The hours for breakfast are a bit early as they end at 8:30. However getting food cooked to order is great, and free coffee and tea all day was very nice.

I would say stay here, definitely. The staff is wonderful! They booked cheap activities for us any time we wanted and had great recommendations not to mention were nice as well as funny. The staff is the best part by far!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank katatatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel was super awesome. It was a little hotel run by this family and passed down for two generations.They collected different types of bottles and put the bottom half of it in patterns into cement. It added a bright and intriguing feel to the hotel. The bad thing about it was that it didn't have a parking lot near it.The parking lot was park of his grandmas house.

Wanna read more about this hotel, Costa Rica, or Monteverde come check out my Blog.

http://vacationswithaaron.blogspot.com/2014/02/in-tree-tops.html

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights here in the beginning of January 2014. Perfect location within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants within Santa Elena. We forgot breakfast was included so this was a nice surprise - yummy and prepared fresh daily. Love the design of this place, you can tell it was built with love (bottles in the concrete walls were really funky).

The staff were all extremely helpful with booking activities while in Monteverde area as well as plans for the next leg of our trip. Go check out the Climbing Tree on the map they give you at check in - it was so neat! Also the Soda right next door is the best! EAT HERE at least once during your stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kootenaytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Management is extremely friendly. We traveled with semi-large group of tourism professionals and were impressed. The price was amazing for the value and you cant beat the close walk to the best of what the town has to offer! Its super windy outside the compound but even the way it's laid out keeps most of the crazy wind at bay if you want to read on the porch and enjoy the great views and have a beer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the rooms. Clean and cozy. Service is great; it's like a 12 hour concierge. Breakfast was high quality and included in the cheap room price. You get your choice between pancakes, toast, scrambled eggs, fruit, and the ever present gallo pintos y huevos. Fair trade and delicious coffee is constantly brewed and available. Grounds are scenic and well kept. Location is close to the center of town and shuttle service is available for all
major attractions. We were always happy to return to Camino Verde after a day of exploring. They were also very patient with our young children.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flashpack05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

For you pay for this hotel, it is good value. The rooms were clean with a nice big shower. They are the level of summer camp cottages. Ours was all wood panelling inside, no tv, with 3 beds. The walls are paper thin - so you do hear your neighbours all night (pray for quiet ones!)

The breakfast that is included is homemade in front of you & was tasty. All the staff were very friendly & helpful. Andre recommended great places to eat (with free drinks using his business card) & fantastic tours.

BE AWARE: we drove up to Monteverde from Jaco (the North). Road 606 is awful. Worst road ever! It is unsafe & extremely scary. Go around & take the other road in. The road we took had 35km (or 1.5 hrs!) of single lane, gravel roads full of pot holes, constant switchbacks & 4000 m drop offs with NO guard railings. We thought we were going to die. Trust me - do NOT take this road!!!

Last, stay away from the soda next door. We got food poisoning from it.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MELANIE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This small B&B on the edge of an overlook is so welcoming. Andres, the owner is a natural host, warm and , ready sharer of information. He has created a common room where breakfast is served and people are able to cook their own meals for lunch and dinner. It is so comfortable that all types of people gravitate to it just to hang out, play games, chat. The rooms are small but clean with good mattresses. I would recommend this place to my friends in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alishungu04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Address: 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range: £34 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing